E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Relocating the OEM radio to the trunk to retain CHIMES w/ an aftermarket headunit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-04-2010, 05:08 PM   #45
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,320
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazed792 View Post
From this picture, I'd say this sure looks to be it. On the original pictures one of them made it look like it was all the way on the other side of the steering column, so that had me confused. Anyway, yeah... Nothing in pin 3, although from what I can see of the A149a, there is a metal connector for everything, whether there is a pin in the X13376 or not.
Yeah. PM me your address and I'll mail you out a pin.


Rich
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-15-2010, 10:00 AM   #46
crazed792
Captain
 
crazed792's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SL,UT

Posts: 618
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2007 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
Yeah. PM me your address and I'll mail you out a pin.


Rich
I sent you a PM the day you sent this (the 4th) but never received a response or part...

EDIT. I now have the part, got it installed. Works like a charm! So even if you're missing anything where pin 3 should be, with a pin you should be good to go!
__________________

Last edited by crazed792; 08-05-2010 at 07:16 PM.
crazed792 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2010, 10:19 AM   #47
notabmw
Registered
 
Drives: 04 gd2
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: VA

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
Not exactly but you can order a MOST optical cable (61120142318). It's about $30 and 20' long. It has male connectors on both ends but you can order a female connector (61136901846) to replace one of the male connectors.

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...78&hg=61&fg=15
how do you replace the male connectors on the end?? just pull them off?
notabmw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2010, 02:18 PM   #48
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,320
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by notabmw View Post
how do you replace the male connectors on the end?? just pull them off?
They're glued on. If you can pull them off then go for it. I just just cut them off and put the other connector on. That worked fine for me. Just make a clean 90 deg cut.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-07-2010, 03:37 PM   #49
notabmw
Registered
 
Drives: 04 gd2
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: VA

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

once an sos error comes up, will it have to get reset somehow or will it automatically go away when everything is fixed?

Last edited by notabmw; 12-07-2010 at 04:03 PM.
notabmw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-08-2010, 10:32 AM   #50
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,320
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by notabmw View Post
once an sos error comes up, will it have to get reset somehow or will it automatically go away when everything is fixed?
it goes away as soon as the problem is resolved.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2011, 01:24 AM   #51
320beemer
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 320I M Sport Manual
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Newcastle NSW

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

I wish to use the connector in the vehicles harness to connect the Dynavin HU.
This thread suggests to move the OEM Head unit to the trunk to maintain functionality of the vehicles warning sounds by basically extending the wiring harness, along with still giving access to the vehicle computer for software upgrades that would be installed by the BMW workshop.
Does anybody know if I attach the harness to the Dynavin HU, can I also patch into the canbus CB HI and CB LO wires with both units?
320beemer is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      07-07-2011, 10:51 AM   #52
HellsBells
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

Posts: 185
iTrader: (1)

MOST Cables

This doesn’t really explain how to hook up the MOST cables…so here is what you do:

(I just want to preface that I had Logic 7 and I didn't care about chimes, I just want to be able to have software updated and to get rid of the SOS error.)

Here is what I did:

1. Purchased 2 Fiber Optic MOST cable (part #61120142318) and 2 fiber Optic cable connector (part #61136901846) from getBMWparts.com.
2. Purchased 1 Metra 71-9003 from Sonixelectronics. You do not need 70-9003 if you are are installing a Dynavin and are just moving to the trunk for the software updates and removing the SOS error.
3. Removed the Optical cables from the harness coming from the car (this is circled below on the 71-9003 harness).
4. Connected the fiber optic cables coming from the car with the 2 connectors. These will be connected to the 2 fiber optic cables that you purchased. You will have to strip the wire a bit to make sure that you get a full connection. I used a super glue product made for gluing plastic to metal. Add a bit of glue to keep the connector on the cable. I then taped it up with electrical tape.
5. You are going to have to reuse the insert from the Metra 71-9003 that is coming from the car. This is not pictured (it will be in the area circled), it is what you are going to use to plug the MOST cables into the harness.
6. Plug the MOST cables into your new harness
7. Plug the harness in the factory HU. You want to make sure that you have the cables hooked up correctly before you run them to the trunk.
8. I unplugged the harness and ran the cables to the trunk.
9. Ran a 12v to battery and ground line.
10. SOS error deleted.
Attached Images
 
HellsBells is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2011, 03:43 AM   #53
ksharpe1
New Member
 
Drives: 325d Sports Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: U.K.

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Question Metra 71 9003 Radio Connector

Hi,
Any idea where I can locate one of these radio connectors (or equivalent) in the UK ??

Cheers
ksharpe1 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2011, 09:00 AM   #54
HellsBells
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

Posts: 185
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksharpe1 View Post
Hi,
Any idea where I can locate one of these radio connectors (or equivalent) in the UK ??

Cheers
If you are talking about the most cables and connectors, you should be able to order at a BMW dealership.
HellsBells is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2011, 04:18 PM   #55
dukeandtheland
Private
 
Drives: F10 550i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California - Chino Hills

Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)

I think I did everything described above (didn't end up using metra 70-9003). So at the end, Metra 71-9003 has only two wires, one is the 12v positive and the other one is the ground. I actually spliced from the technic harness that's dealing with the JBL MS-8 for 12v power. So I did not get the 12v from the battery because I don't really connect this OEM HU all the time, but just to know that I have the capability to do so, if ever needed. The OEM HU will end up in my basement.

After powering up, the radio powers up, one red light comes up from one of the holes for MOST cables.

So I plug in both fiber optic cables. There is no response by pressing "Menu" on the OEM radio. Does that mean something went wrong? Obviously I did not connect CAN High and CAN Low but if the the MOST cable loop is complete, does that mean it satifies the need for "software updates"?

Or do I have to connect CAN High and CAN low? If so, how do I do that?

Then,, how do I know that the MOST cables actually are working? Is there a way to test it?

Thanks for any inputs.

Last edited by dukeandtheland; 07-11-2011 at 10:10 PM.
dukeandtheland is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2011, 10:38 AM   #56
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,320
iTrader: (8)

I don't see why there is so much confusion. You are simply extending the connection between the oem radio and the harness in the dash (which would normally be plugged into the oem radio).

Pins 9, 11, 15, 12 and the fiber optic cables need to be extended. it's as simple as that.

One metra harness connects to the oem radio and the other to the oem harness in the dash. So you don't have to cut into any factory wiring. Simple as that.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2011, 04:31 PM   #57
dukeandtheland
Private
 
Drives: F10 550i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California - Chino Hills

Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)

Really the confusion is that the instruction / picture says if just for fiber optic cables, the other parts is not needed.

Now as you said, both parts are needed to reolocate the OEM HU. So which one is right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
I don't see why there is so much confusion. You are simply extending the connection between the oem radio and the harness in the dash (which would normally be plugged into the oem radio).

Pins 9, 11, 15, 12 and the fiber optic cables need to be extended. it's as simple as that.

One metra harness connects to the oem radio and the other to the oem harness in the dash. So you don't have to cut into any factory wiring. Simple as that.
dukeandtheland is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2011, 05:13 PM   #58
HellsBells
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

Posts: 185
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukeandtheland View Post
Really the confusion is that the instruction / picture says if just for fiber optic cables, the other parts is not needed.

Now as you said, both parts are needed to reolocate the OEM HU. So which one is right?
Srcstc is correct, if you just want to get rid of the SOS error, you don't need the can low and hi, but if you want to power the radio and use it for software updates, you do...
HellsBells is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2011, 05:18 PM   #59
dukeandtheland
Private
 
Drives: F10 550i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California - Chino Hills

Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)

That is my original question because I did not do can low and can high. I did not use the other metra parts.

But that "menu" button did not work, is that normal?

and how do I know if my fiber optic cables made a good loop?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HellsBells View Post
Srcstc is correct, if you just want to get rid of the SOS error, you don't need the can low and hi, but if you want to power the radio and use it for software updates, you do...
dukeandtheland is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2011, 05:38 PM   #60
HellsBells
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

Posts: 185
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dukeandtheland View Post
That is my original question because I did not do can low and can high. I did not use the other metra parts.

But that "menu" button did not work, is that normal?

and how do I know if my fiber optic cables made a good loop?
If you have a good loop you wont get the SOS error. And yes, is you didn't hook up the can low and hi, then the menu button won't work
HellsBells is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2011, 05:42 PM   #61
dukeandtheland
Private
 
Drives: F10 550i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California - Chino Hills

Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)

I don't have BMW assit and I don't have SOS error.

So that doesnt' really prove anything.


Quote:
Originally Posted by HellsBells View Post
If you have a good loop you wont get the SOS error. And yes, is you didn't hook up the can low and hi, then the menu button won't work
dukeandtheland is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-13-2011, 07:36 PM   #62
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,320
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HellsBells View Post
Srcstc is correct, if you just want to get rid of the SOS error, you don't need the can low and hi, but if you want to power the radio and use it for software updates, you do...


Well I'm glad it's clear now.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-14-2011, 05:28 AM   #63
dukeandtheland
Private
 
Drives: F10 550i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California - Chino Hills

Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)

Thanks. I will try to see check again if the fiber optic cables are connected without any issue. But seems like it's all set and done.

I am going ot replace the defect Dynavin anyway so another check on the wiring is not a problem.
dukeandtheland is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2011, 10:26 AM   #64
Thrasher
New Member
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

So, is PIN 15 a 12v constant or not? I see it scratched out in the diagram.
Thrasher is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2011, 05:56 PM   #65
srcstc
Major
 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

Posts: 1,320
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrasher View Post
So, is PIN 15 a 12v constant or not? I see it scratched out in the diagram.
No, there is no constant. You have to get it from the battery.
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
srcstc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2011, 03:41 PM   #66
dukeandtheland
Private
 
Drives: F10 550i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California - Chino Hills

Posts: 64
iTrader: (0)

I checked the fiber optic cables behind the dash and all are fine. At this point I am not going to worry about it anymore because I first don't have SOS anyway, second I am not sure the so called 'software updates' need will come any time soon.

I left the metra harness and the fiber optic cables in the trunk but the OEM HU disconnected and put away.

For those setting needs such as service interval etc. I do have a Autoenginuity to do all the clearing and setting.

BTW, I am very glad that aweful chime is gone for good!
dukeandtheland is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST