E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-10-2011, 03:47 PM   #3169
irfan
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe 6M
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio

Posts: 108
iTrader: (0)

question: i enabled the digital speedo and the accurate mode.. that all works well.

is there a way to get the digital cruise control readout to be accurate as well?

Right now if I set my cruise at 70mph, my analog will usually read 71 or 72 and the V speed is around 68. thats 3 different speeds showing at once, and its quite irritating.
irfan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-10-2011, 04:03 PM   #3170
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Nope. Can't adjust that, unfortunately. Sorry bud
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-10-2011, 07:04 PM   #3171
irfan
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe 6M
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio

Posts: 108
iTrader: (0)

well damn. dont suppose theres a way to get the Vspeed permanently shown like on the minis? i noticed the OP had his speed a little smaller than mine, with the gear shown above. all of my digits on the lower DIC seem larger. a vspeed shown in small above the other info like mpg would be pretty nice
irfan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-10-2011, 08:04 PM   #3172
LinxuS
First Lieutenant
 
LinxuS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 389
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i e90  [4.64]
OBD Cable finally got in today, and got the car successfully coded!! Had a few problems with not having all the files in NCS and EDIABAS, but once I got it figured out, it worked like a champ!!

Car is a 10/06 2007 328i.

Got V Speed, Windows and Mirrors roll up with key fob, disabled high beam DRL, disabled door gong. Will be disabling all the bulb checks to stop the error from the DEPOs from fishcake, and then i'm all set!!

Thanks for all the information everyone!
LinxuS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-10-2011, 09:59 PM   #3173
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

Still having problems seeing cappl module on some cars even with v41. Any ideas
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-10-2011, 10:02 PM   #3174
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

Seems to be with business nav
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 06:12 AM   #3175
irfan
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe 6M
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio

Posts: 108
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LinxuS View Post
OBD Cable finally got in today, and got the car successfully coded!! Had a few problems with not having all the files in NCS and EDIABAS, but once I got it figured out, it worked like a champ!!

Car is a 10/06 2007 328i.

Got V Speed, Windows and Mirrors roll up with key fob, disabled high beam DRL, disabled door gong. Will be disabling all the bulb checks to stop the error from the DEPOs from fishcake, and then i'm all set!!

Thanks for all the information everyone!
I think we need to get post #1 updated with new info like a proper how-to.

It should include something about disabling/removing pin#8 from the silver cables, updating EDIABAS to 7.2 and keeping the old .ini file for some people (i had to do this to get NFRM to work), and updating Daten files.

Those things would have saved me a huge huge headache... searching for a couple hours on 3 different message boards and I finally got things working well.

People complain about the same questions being asked, but if everything was updated in the first post I think a lot of the issues would be solved quicker.
irfan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 06:15 AM   #3176
irfan
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe 6M
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio

Posts: 108
iTrader: (0)

I know there are welcome light codes, and Im at the office so I cant test right now but is there a way to code them so welcome lights come on with the headlight switch set to off (position 0)? Currently they only work in position 3 (auto) or 2 (on) I believe. I like to leave my lights on 0 since the automatic lights are too sensitive, but i still want the welcome lighting.
irfan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 08:11 AM   #3177
bumere90
Grozniy
 
Drives: Carless
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: FL

Posts: 2,588
iTrader: (12)

irfan, please provide me with more instructions on pin8, why do we have to solder it out?
__________________
-fatman
bumere90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 03:28 PM   #3178
irfan
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe 6M
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio

Posts: 108
iTrader: (0)

i dont remember what years it applies to, i think 09+? Pin 8 in the car is for an ethernet connection, if the pin is left in the plug-in adapter then it triggers faults. By removing the pin you keep anything from being plugged into the ethernet connection and avoid any faults.

if you bought a cable with pin 8 still in it:

(im using the silver ebay cable i have as an example)- unscrew the 4 allen screws (2.5mm i believe) then open the casing. Pin 8 will be marked. Heat up the solder with a soldering iron and once the solder starts to flow pull the pin out the plug end with needlenose pliers (i used locking surgical hemostats since i was in my office, and an extra person is helpful so you can keep the soldering gun on it) you want to remove the whole pin while still touching the solder or else it will harden and freeze into place again. screw everything back together, pretty simple if youve ever used a soldering iron/gun.
irfan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 03:31 PM   #3179
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by irfan View Post
I know there are welcome light codes, and Im at the office so I cant test right now but is there a way to code them so welcome lights come on with the headlight switch set to off (position 0)? Currently they only work in position 3 (auto) or 2 (on) I believe. I like to leave my lights on 0 since the automatic lights are too sensitive, but i still want the welcome lighting.
If you think they are too sensitive code on the menu to adjust their sensitivity.
Problem solved, as there isnt a code to enable Welcome Lights in the Off position.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 03:32 PM   #3180
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bumere90 View Post
irfan, please provide me with more instructions on pin8, why do we have to solder it out?
Quote:
Originally Posted by irfan View Post
i dont remember what years it applies to, i think 09+? Pin 8 in the car is for an ethernet connection, if the pin is left in the plug-in adapter then it triggers faults. By removing the pin you keep anything from being plugged into the ethernet connection and avoid any faults.

if you bought a cable with pin 8 still in it:

(im using the silver ebay cable i have as an example)- unscrew the 4 allen screws (2.5mm i believe) then open the casing. Pin 8 will be marked. Heat up the solder with a soldering iron and once the solder starts to flow pull the pin out the plug end with needlenose pliers (i used locking surgical hemostats since i was in my office, and an extra person is helpful so you can keep the soldering gun on it) you want to remove the whole pin while still touching the solder or else it will harden and freeze into place again. screw everything back together, pretty simple if youve ever used a soldering iron/gun.
Just buy the adapter. The reseller should have it.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 03:33 PM   #3181
irfan
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe 6M
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio

Posts: 108
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
If you think they are too sensitive code on the menu to adjust their sensitivity.
Problem solved, as there isnt a code to enable Welcome Lights in the Off position.
i didnt think the sensitivity adjustment was available for CIC? i thought it was just CCC
irfan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 03:54 PM   #3182
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

oh my apologies didn't look at your car year.
go through the dump of your CIC maybe theres one in there that we havent openly found yet
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 06:14 PM   #3183
89hatcher
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: honolulu, hawaii

Posts: 31
iTrader: (1)

my ALC went out last night on my drivers headlight. Can i just buy a new ALC uncoded and code them to work?
89hatcher is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 07:12 PM   #3184
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

If they are virgin it will need to be activated. Better to buy used and plug and play.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 07:22 PM   #3185
89hatcher
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: honolulu, hawaii

Posts: 31
iTrader: (1)

how would i activate them? would i need to go to the dealer?
89hatcher is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 09:25 PM   #3186
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

Irfan, Can you share more info on the comment about keeping the old .ini
Why is this required and what will it allow you to do that the new ini wont
Thank You
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 09:33 PM   #3187
irfan
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe 6M
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio

Posts: 108
iTrader: (0)

i dont do real coding, i just follow directions, but i think keeping the ini file will let the EDIABAS keep the proper configuration settings so it will connect properly?

I got the tip from Novawhitex5m on the ********* site.
irfan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 09:41 PM   #3188
Power Hungry
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '07 328i E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tri Cities, WA

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Ive posted this a couple times and gotten no answer. I dont know if its because nobody knows or if it just got overlooked. I tried registering my battery in my 2007 328i using toolset32. The options are in german and i couldnt find anything that exactly translated to "run job." The closest i could find was something like "job to run again" or something like that. I tried that option, but i dont know if it did anything. Is there a way to tell that it worked?
Power Hungry is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2011, 11:45 PM   #3189
mrtanz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 2008 325i upgrade
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 445
iTrader: (0)

Just did a 2010 320d. Previosuly was not able to access the CIC module using any daten files
So reupdated my daten files to the latest and instead of seeing CIC i went into MCIC in the module.
So read that and it successfuly had the option for legal disclaimer. Is that a mistake in the spreadsheet where it should be MCIC instead of CIC?
mrtanz is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      08-12-2011, 08:36 AM   #3190
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

Debuted in September 2008 with F01/F02 7-Series. CIC stands for Car Infotainment Computer and is manufactured by Becker, utilizing the QNX operating system. It is available on the following cars as an option

1-Series E81/E82/E87/E88 manufactured from September 2008
3-Series E90/E91/E92/E93 manufactured from September 2008
5-Series F07/F10/F11 manufactured from September 2009 (E60/61 manufactured from January 2009 in Europe)
6-Series E63/E64 manufactured from September 2009
7-Series F01/F02 manufactured from September 2008
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST