E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Dealer Programs



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-03-2011, 10:33 PM   #1
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Dealer Programs

What software are used at the dealers to diagnose, program cars, etc? I found a P0599 Thermostat Heater Control Circuit High error and want to get it fixed under warranty.

My SA is asking me where I'm seeing this error from if my check engine light is not on. I took it to AutoZone to see if they can pull the code. They're weren't able to detect anything. I wonder if I should tell him that I'm using INPA to see it. What do you think is the best way to handle this situation? Anyone know what's wrong w/ the thermostat and if it needs to be replaced?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-03-2011, 11:35 PM   #2
xpicer
New Member
 
Drives: 325XI
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

say that an indy shop scanned your vehicle with an autologic scanner, say that it was a pending code
xpicer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-03-2011, 11:37 PM   #3
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Thanks!!!!
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 07:27 AM   #4
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

What version of INPA is that friend?
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 11:13 AM   #5
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Hello, it's the version that I downloaded from FAQ #2 http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=480261.

I'll confirm the version number later today. Does the version number posted on the image help you identify it?
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 11:15 AM   #6
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Just wondering. How much is an Autologic scanner? I don't see the price on the web page. http://www.autologic-diagnostics.com...mw-diagnostics. I had previously contacted a distributor about it but never got a response.
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 06:16 PM   #7
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 2006 330i E90
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

Posts: 881
iTrader: (13)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutrino45 View Post
Just wondering. How much is an Autologic scanner? I don't see the price on the web page. http://www.autologic-diagnostics.com...mw-diagnostics. I had previously contacted a distributor about it but never got a response.
$10k for the base unit with one brand ( it supports multiple brands on one unit, like BMW/Mini, Porsche, etc). Then you have to pay roughly $1200 a year for support and updates, (required to purchase).

If you want to program on the MOST bus you'll need the optical module at about $1500.
Dracon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2011, 06:51 PM   #8
e90pilot
Freight Dawg
 
e90pilot's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oakland, CA

Posts: 2,095
iTrader: (3)

Or you can get the Bavarian technik scanner tool for $300. ($700 if you want to code)
__________________
--Marcelo
'06 Arctic Metallic 325i | Sport Package | 6MT | Dinan Stage III suspension | Dinan exhaust | 330i manifold swap! Click here! | Active Autowerke tune | 135i Brake Calipers | Deiselboost caliper brackets | E46 M3 front rotors
e90pilot is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2011, 02:18 AM   #9
Neutrino45
Major
 
Neutrino45's Avatar
 
Drives: XXX
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: milky way

Posts: 1,446
iTrader: (2)

Just want to give an update. On my invoice, it says they use ISTA.
ISTA TESTED FAULT 2EF8--DME:MAP THERMOSTAT ACTIVATION.
VERIFIED POWER AND GROUNDS ARE O.K. R&R THERMOSTAT.
TOPPED OFF COOLANT WITH 2 gal MIXED COOLANT. BLED SYSTEM.
DIAGCODE: D1150-B0000000-01-001
They replace my thermostat. The difference I've noticed is that my car doesn't sound like an airplane taking off all of the time. I'm glad that I was able to detect this error myself and have the thermostat replaced under extended warranty. It sucks that this error doesn't trigger a light.

justa3series, the version of INPA I have is 5.00.
__________________
Neutrino45 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST