E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > Problem with my car after resetting adaptations in INPA



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-26-2011, 04:14 PM   #1
axis
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 Steel Gray C 300
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida

Posts: 343
iTrader: (2)

Problem with my car after resetting adaptations in INPA

OK This is going to be a long post, but I'd like to try and provide as much detail on the issue I'm having as possible from the getgo.

So I decided I wanted to reset all the engine adaptation values on my car to let it start fresh. I reset them using INPA with the engine off, ignition on. When I started my car back up, I got the orange half engine error on my cluster but the engine seemed to be running fine. Thinking that maybe I just needed to clear an error, I looked and sure enough there were two stored errors related to the DME/DDE. I cleared the codes, and the light went away. I shut down the car, and started it back up to see if the problem was gone. Unfortunately, the same error popped up again on the display.

After that, I thought well maybe the car just needs to drive around a little to relearn a value and that will fix it. I drove around the block and everything seemed fine. If the engine had reduced power, I wasn't really able to tell. I did notice that the exhaust note seemed more audible in the car though. I got back home and shut it down.

About 10 minutes later, I went out to start my car because I needed to go pick up my gf and the same error popped up but this time the engine was revving up and down on its own over and over and pressing the gas pedal did nothing at all. I shut it down, restarted, same thing. I checked the codes again and there were 3 errors in the DME/DDE section again. I cleared them once more, shut down, and this time the engine did start and ran smoothly but the half engine light was still there.

I decided I would try resetting the adaptation values again, this time with the eigine running, just to see if that made a difference. The problem was, now INPA wasn't able to reset the values. I got an error ERROR_ECU_CONDITIONS_NOT_CORRECT_OR_REQUEST_SEQUEN CE_ERROR

I thought maybe i had a bad connection or something so I shut down INPA, restarted, and tried again and got the same result. I then tried it with the engine off, same result. Now I have no idea what to do to fix this. The car was working fine before clearing the adaptations, and I didn't think it was possible to do any damage to the car by resetting them. Any ideas? Right now I have the battery negative cable disconnected in hopes that it will reset the ECU and fix it but I don't know if it is going to work or not. Any help would be greately appreciated. Thanks!
axis is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 04:39 PM   #2
axis
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 Steel Gray C 300
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida

Posts: 343
iTrader: (2)

Just reconnected my battery and the time needed to be reset but I still can't access the DME/DDE for the adaptations and still getting the half engine when starting. I checked the codes and have attached a screenshot of what it thinks is wrong.
Attached Images
 
axis is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 05:31 PM   #3
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Sounds like you need to check out your throttle valve potentiometers.

Unplug the connectors near the throttle body (I'm assuming they are there, not sure) and clean them and apply stabilant 22a to the contact pins.

Also try cleaning your MAF sensor, located on the intake tube. Take the 2 torx screws out and wiggle the sensor out. Get MAF cleaner and spray the wires as per the instructions on the can and WAIT FOR THE UNIT TO DRY COMPLETELY! Also clean the connector and apply stabilant 22a.

Your idle actuator could also be bad. But I don't think that's the case if you just reset the adaptations.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 06:03 PM   #4
axis
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 Steel Gray C 300
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida

Posts: 343
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
Sounds like you need to check out your throttle valve potentiometers.

Unplug the connectors near the throttle body (I'm assuming they are there, not sure) and clean them and apply stabilant 22a to the contact pins.

Also try cleaning your MAF sensor, located on the intake tube. Take the 2 torx screws out and wiggle the sensor out. Get MAF cleaner and spray the wires as per the instructions on the can and WAIT FOR THE UNIT TO DRY COMPLETELY! Also clean the connector and apply stabilant 22a.

Your idle actuator could also be bad. But I don't think that's the case if you just reset the adaptations.
Thanks for the reply. I'll check the throttle body to see if there's anything around there that looks like it could be what you describe. The MAF should be fine, I just cleaned it probably a couple weeks back. Is stabilant 22a available at an auto parts store such as advance auto or autozone? I've never heard of it.. guess a google search is in order.

Also, I'd still like to find out why the heck I can't access the adaptations in the DME/DDE anymore, that worries me more than anything else.

Last edited by axis; 08-26-2011 at 06:08 PM.
axis is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-26-2011, 06:13 PM   #5
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by axis View Post
Thanks for the reply. I'll check the throttle body to see if there's anything around there that looks like it could be what you describe. The MAF should be fine, I just cleaned it probably a couple weeks back. Is stabilant 22a available at an auto parts store such as advance auto or autozone? I've never heard of it.. guess a google search is in order.

Also, I'd still like to find out why the heck I can't access the adaptations in the DME/DDE anymore, that worries me more than anything else.
Try leaving your hazards on when you connect to INPA.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-27-2011, 07:19 AM   #6
axis
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 Steel Gray C 300
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida

Posts: 343
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
Try leaving your hazards on when you connect to INPA.
Tried that last night, no change. I looked in the section in INPA where you can monitor all the sensors in realtime and the values of the two things that keep throwing codes at every startup were well within spec so it's like the problem is happening immediately when I start the car. If I clear the codes with the engine running, the reduce power message goes away and does not return until the next time I shut the car off and restart it. If you look at the second error in the screenshot I uploaded above it looks like the code was triggered when the engine was only at 96 RPM, which would have to be during ignition. Also there's definitely a change in the engine sound when it is in reduced power mode. The exhaust resonates inside the car more, even at idle.
axis is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-28-2011, 08:41 AM   #7
axis
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 Steel Gray C 300
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida

Posts: 343
iTrader: (2)

Update on the half engine light.. It seems to be gone now. The way I got it to go away, however, was pure luck. What I did was put the key in dash, and pressed the start button without holding the brake to turn on the ignition. Then I pressed and held the gas pedal down for about 30 seconds, released it, then pressed the brake down and pressed start again to turn the car on. The light didn't come on. I turned it off, then restarted it again and still the light did not return. My reasoning for trying that was because I thought maybe since I reset the adaptation that the car didn't know what the limits of the throttle pedal were anymore. Not sure if that's what it was or what but the light hasn't come back since. I still can't access the DME/DDE for clearing adaptations anymore but for now I'm just not going to worry about it.
axis is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2011, 11:16 AM   #8
bazz780
First Lieutenant
 
bazz780's Avatar
 
Drives: Looking for 330d m sport
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london

Posts: 375
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by axis View Post
Update on the half engine light.. It seems to be gone now. The way I got it to go away, however, was pure luck. What I did was put the key in dash, and pressed the start button without holding the brake to turn on the ignition. Then I pressed and held the gas pedal down for about 30 seconds, released it, then pressed the brake down and pressed start again to turn the car on. The light didn't come on. I turned it off, then restarted it again and still the light did not return. My reasoning for trying that was because I thought maybe since I reset the adaptation that the car didn't know what the limits of the throttle pedal were anymore. Not sure if that's what it was or what but the light hasn't come back since. I still can't access the DME/DDE for clearing adaptations anymore but for now I'm just not going to worry about it.
what you did here is also a way to reset the throttle adaptation (apparently)

so might have done the trick
bazz780 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2011, 09:27 PM   #9
bimmerlike
New Member
 
Drives: 2006 Z4 roadster
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

really long post~~haha~~~
bimmerlike is offline   Hong Kong
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 03:30 PM   #10
axis
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 Steel Gray C 300
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida

Posts: 343
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerlike View Post
really long post~~haha~~~
I like to try and provide as much information as possible in my posts. If people actually take the time to read it, then there should be less confusion as to what is going on.
axis is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-08-2012, 03:43 AM   #11
iczz
Lieutenant Colonel
 
iczz's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SF Bay Area

Posts: 1,752
iTrader: (23)

having similar problem now....will try to use your method tomorrow

============
It didn't work for me. my problem still exists.

Last edited by iczz; 07-09-2012 at 12:30 AM.
iczz is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2013, 09:34 AM   #12
evssss1
New Member
 
Drives: E90 325i TiAg Pre-LCI
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: HK

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the post! Just solved the engine light issue after inpa DME throttle reset!
evssss1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2013, 10:03 PM   #13
index1489
Lieutenant Colonel
 
index1489's Avatar
 
Drives: Out of warranty BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chino, CA

Posts: 1,909
iTrader: (6)

I had this exact problem when I cleared all my adaptations, I solved it by just driving the car and repeatedly clearing those 2 codes. It finally stopped comming back and my car left limp mode.

Next time I'll skip that specific reset or try holding the pedal down.
__________________
Gotta pay to play.
index1489 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2013, 04:31 AM   #14
spacemonkey1112
Captain
 
spacemonkey1112's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i AW
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: 818, CA

Posts: 960
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to spacemonkey1112
quick questions, why would you want to clear your car's adaptations?
__________________
2006 E90 325i | Sports Package | 6MT | 3IM | PE | AA |
spacemonkey1112 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2013, 11:38 AM   #15
evssss1
New Member
 
Drives: E90 325i TiAg Pre-LCI
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: HK

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

I changed the intake thus I cleared off those adaptation and let the computer relearn
evssss1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST