E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-25-2011, 01:11 PM   #3235
dzenno
Banned
Canada
114
Rep
5,883
Posts

 
Drives:
Join Date: Feb 2006

iTrader: (1)

Ya you're right, I was just in a bit of a rush this morning so I just tried turning them all off...its easy to revert back the others
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2011, 07:25 PM   #3236
viper4321
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

 
Drives: e46 M3
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: maryland

iTrader: (0)

hi all, just starting with this stuff, i've read alot of this thread but not all so please forgive me if this has been addressed before. though now i'm afraid i got the wrong cable i my cable is clear, not black in color. i got it from a seller in canada, it was linked at this website http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=480261 under the cable to purchase. that link is now dead for some reason, i just bought this a couple weeks back. this is the cable and seller http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...m=220824037679 anyway on to the issue, i followed the setup on the first few pages. inpa works somewhat, i can few the engine live data and stuff, though thats the only module that works, the airbag test fails. ncs fails every time with a coapi-2020 error. any ideas? depsite that i'm afraid i'll have to buy another cable. thanks oh car is a 2003 M3, so little older then most in this thread. may have something to do with it?
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2011, 07:35 PM   #3237
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,467
Posts

 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper4321 View Post
hi all, just starting with this stuff, i've read alot of this thread but not all so please forgive me if this has been addressed before. though now i'm afraid i got the wrong cable i my cable is clear, not black in color. i got it from a seller in canada, it was linked at this website http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=480261 under the cable to purchase. that link is now dead for some reason, i just bought this a couple weeks back. this is the cable and seller http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...m=220824037679 anyway on to the issue, i followed the setup on the first few pages. inpa works somewhat, i can few the engine live data and stuff, though thats the only module that works, the airbag test fails. ncs fails every time with a coapi-2020 error. any ideas? depsite that i'm afraid i'll have to buy another cable. thanks oh car is a 2003 M3, so little older then most in this thread. may have something to do with it?
Try using the latest daten files EXCEPT the files in the ECU folder. I've found that some modules on my car are only readable when using the ECU folder from the most recent daten, and some are only readable when using the original ECU folder that came with the NCS Expert package I downloaded.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2011, 05:01 PM   #3238
Ron1n
Speed Demon
Ron1n's Avatar
United_States
58
Rep
3,248
Posts

 
Drives: '10 335d E90
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The 858

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2010 335d  [5.00]
Is there anyone in the SD area that's willing to do some coding for me, cuz I'm so lazy? :P The only thing I really want is the digital speed on cluster option....I'm also curious if you can code the instant MPG, as well.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2011, 08:26 AM   #3239
justa3series
Banned
1
Rep
161
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

iTrader: (1)

Both can be coded very easily.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2011, 12:29 PM   #3240
E92Ghost
New Member
E92Ghost's Avatar
0
Rep
29
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Error in cabd! coapi 1043. I get this message when I try to activate SONDERTASTE_PANIKALARM
What does this means? CAS3.C06 corrupted or outdated?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2011, 09:09 PM   #3241
LinxuS
First Lieutenant
LinxuS's Avatar
11
Rep
389
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 328i e90  [4.64]
So I successfully coded out my errors from installing DEPO Xenons a few weeks back. I did not get any errors for like 2 weeks, and not I'm getting errors about half the time my car starts up... Sometimes it will disappear after a few minutes, sometimes it wont. Any ideas??
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2011, 04:56 PM   #3242
Jebus335
Private First Class
1
Rep
149
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ca

iTrader: (3)

Thanks to all on here who have contributed, I was able to successfully code my car this past weekend. The only hiccup was getting the new Daten files (42).
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2011, 07:34 PM   #3243
tahoerdr
Private
tahoerdr's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
94
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (3)

Will this work? Feb 2008 build

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-K...item3a6738100b
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2011, 07:44 PM   #3244
///M Leardo
Youngin
6
Rep
389
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 e92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Miami

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Coding Problems

Question for you guys... when i go to read my win and use NCS or try to read codes i get this error...





Any help would be appreciated, thanks guys
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2011, 07:47 PM   #3245
rage
New Member
1
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wisconsin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335nightrider View Post
Question for you guys... when i go to read my win and use NCS or try to read codes i get this error...





Any help would be appreciated, thanks guys
From what I have read, and correct me if I'm wrong, but you need to turn up down the transfer rate under Device Manager>Ports>Serial Cable from 16 to 1
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2011, 07:51 PM   #3246
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,467
Posts

 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoerdr View Post
This must have been asked 50 times in this thread. The supported and recommended cable from the recommended seller, in addition to being posted LESS THAN 20 POSTS ABOVE YOURS, is here: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-I...item25667c576d

If you want to risk failure on a cheaper cable, then go ahead, but your mileage may vary. How should we know whether a given random cable will work? Most if not all of us on here just bought what was recommended because we wanted this to work. Seriously, given the time and shipping costs involved with getting the cable and then potentially having to return it only to pay for and wait AGAIN for the right cable, why not just go with what's confirmed to work rather than risk getting a bunch of error messages and having to fret that they might be caused by you not getting what everyone has said you should get just to save a few bucks??
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder

Last edited by jphughan; 08-30-2011 at 08:05 PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2011, 07:53 PM   #3247
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,467
Posts

 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rage View Post
From what I have read, and correct me if I'm wrong, but you need to turn up down the transfer rate under Device Manager>Ports>Serial Cable from 16 to 1
You need to drop Latency to 1. If you still get that error, it means either you have a bogus cable (please tell me you got the one that's been recommended over and over and not some random other one to save a few bucks) or you need to remove Pin 8. If your car was produced March 09 or later and you still have Pin 8 active that's your issue.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2011, 09:38 PM   #3248
rage
New Member
1
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi E90
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wisconsin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
You need to drop Latency to 1.
Thanks that's what I meant but couldn't quite remember what the setting was off the top of my head.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2011, 10:17 PM   #3249
topcat87
Banned
No_Country
9
Rep
357
Posts

 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Here

iTrader: (3)

how come the FSW_PSW.TRC or rather the WORK folder from the rar file is not empty? ive read that the FSW_PSW.TRC file should be emtpy when starting out.

im totally new to this and i want to get everything sure before i actully code my car
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2011, 01:10 PM   #3250
BRAISKI
Colonel
BRAISKI's Avatar
Spain
54
Rep
2,392
Posts

 
Drives: '11 335xi e92 M-Pak
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA/KW, Canada

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Finally got the 2 "black dots" to my 2011 e92. Using Windows 7 Pro 32bit.

Just need to do some testing this weekend... Hopefully I will not encounter some issues...
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2011, 03:20 PM   #3251
._.
Colonel
._.'s Avatar
33
Rep
2,357
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Miami

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by topcat87 View Post
how come the FSW_PSW.TRC or rather the WORK folder from the rar file is not empty? ive read that the FSW_PSW.TRC file should be emtpy when starting out.

im totally new to this and i want to get everything sure before i actully code my car
The package you downloaded was not the 'traditional' way to install the suite. It was a zipped up program file from the OP, thus the Work folder has files from that user.
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2011, 09:22 PM   #3252
irfan
Private First Class
United_States
1
Rep
108
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe 6M
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tahoerdr View Post
worked for me.. had to desolder pin 8 for my 2011. worked fine for a 2008 as well.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2011, 09:23 AM   #3253
Boostin FD
Lieutenant Colonel
Boostin FD's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,562
Posts

 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (2)

newbie question... I coded my car last night using my laptop at home.. I messed something up with kombi and now need latest daten files... If i use another laptop today, thus going through initial process etc... i assume everything i did last night will get erased?

any way around this?
thanks
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2011, 09:33 AM   #3254
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,467
Posts

 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostin FD View Post
newbie question... I coded my car last night using my laptop at home.. I messed something up with kombi and now need latest daten files... If i use another laptop today, thus going through initial process etc... i assume everything i did last night will get erased?

any way around this?
thanks
Can't really think of a way to screw up that would cause the latest daten files to be required unless you inadvertently updated your car.... but in any case starting with a brand new laptop is NOT likely to wipe out all the settings, despite what the DIY says.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2011, 09:37 AM   #3255
Boostin FD
Lieutenant Colonel
Boostin FD's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,562
Posts

 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

iTrader: (2)

Well what happened is that when i coded the KOMBI module for the digital speedometer, after doing it, now i get a message on the screen saying :Speedometer malfunction and none of my gauges work.

Reading online it said i need to update to V41 DATEN files... so i'm downloading those as we speak and will use another laptop (since i'm at work) to do this...

I would have to follow the DIY from the begining to get the Man file etc... Any tips on how to do this?

Thanks
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2011, 09:42 AM   #3256
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,467
Posts

 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostin FD View Post
Well what happened is that when i coded the KOMBI module for the digital speedometer, after doing it, now i get a message on the screen saying :Speedometer malfunction and none of my gauges work.

Reading online it said i need to update to V41 DATEN files... so i'm downloading those as we speak and will use another laptop (since i'm at work) to do this...

I would have to follow the DIY from the begining to get the Man file etc... Any tips on how to do this?

Thanks
You should still follow the DIY from the beginning (if you have the newer cable drivers, replace the FIFO buffers step with changing the Latency setting to 1) and then you should be able to just read the KOMBI module in its current state and code it back.

Coding with a blank MAN file doesn't seem to reset everything to defaults, only SOME things, not sure about digital speedo. Anyway, good luck!
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST