E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > BMW CODING success



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-08-2011, 09:44 AM   #3257
Boostin FD
15
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Boostin FD's Avatar
 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

Posts: 1,527
iTrader: (2)

Okay. So, should i still create the MAN file or use the Expertmode and then code the KOMBI?
__________________
Boostin FD is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2011, 09:45 AM   #3258
jphughan
34
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostin FD View Post
Okay. So, should i still create the MAN file or use the Expertmode and then code the KOMBI?
You should recreate the FSW PSW MAN file in NCS as outlined in the DIY, then use that profile to read KOMBI, which will generate a TRC file. Copy that TRC file into the MAN file, make the changes you want, and code away. Basically just follow the DIY exactly as written except for possibly the FIFO buffers step depending on the driver you're running.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2011, 10:42 AM   #3259
BRAISKI
23
Colonel
 
BRAISKI's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 335xi e92 M-Pak
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA/KW, Canada

Posts: 2,390
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Can someone update line 99 and put a "x" mark for the 2011. It worked on my car...
BRAISKI is offline   Spain
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2011, 01:14 PM   #3260
Boostin FD
15
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Boostin FD's Avatar
 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

Posts: 1,527
iTrader: (2)

Great! Thanks a lot bud.
__________________
Boostin FD is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2011, 01:28 PM   #3261
Elliott@DetailAddict
44
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
You should recreate the FSW PSW MAN file in NCS as outlined in the DIY, then use that profile to read KOMBI, which will generate a TRC file. Copy that TRC file into the MAN file, make the changes you want, and code away. Basically just follow the DIY exactly as written except for possibly the FIFO buffers step depending on the driver you're running.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostin FD View Post
Great! Thanks a lot bud.
But PLEASE do not use a blank man file to return to stock settings. It is absolutely the wrong way to work. Use the expert profile to code car back to OEM specs outlined in the VO. Or turn off manipulate in the profile settings temporarily.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2011, 03:00 PM   #3262
Boostin FD
15
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Boostin FD's Avatar
 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

Posts: 1,527
iTrader: (2)

To tell you the truth, i'm not even sure how updating the car with Blank Man file would work...

I'm happy with the coding i've done so far, minus the whole KOMBI issue... After i update the Daten file, i'll try just reading it and writing it back again... I hope it'll fix the issue i'm having right now.
__________________
Boostin FD is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2011, 04:43 PM   #3263
Danrad
0
Registered
 
Drives: Bmw740
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Is

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Hi
i am new at this forum, i need your help peopal.
please if can anyone help me with my problem.
i have new E71, came from USA, my problem is that the frequency is 88.1 and when i tried to change, it go to 88.3.
i need to coded to europe frequency, so that i can change it to 88.0 or 88.2
please i need your help, which code i can find to change it?
many thanks
Dan
Danrad is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-08-2011, 06:51 PM   #3264
Boostin FD
15
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Boostin FD's Avatar
 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

Posts: 1,527
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphughan View Post
You should recreate the FSW PSW MAN file in NCS as outlined in the DIY, then use that profile to read KOMBI, which will generate a TRC file. Copy that TRC file into the MAN file, make the changes you want, and code away. Basically just follow the DIY exactly as written except for possibly the FIFO buffers step depending on the driver you're running.
Well, this fixed my speedometer display malfunction error... But I still can't open CIC on my 09 m3. It gives me some error about wrong... Something. Should have written it down.
__________________
Boostin FD is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2011, 02:23 PM   #3265
gilatpr
0
New Member
 
Drives: e90 330i 2006
Join Date: Jan 2011

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

I have a question? I have a E90 330i and I was trying to code the AE DRL's, but not successful. My headlights are Xenon with Adaptive system. I do not have DRL's and the inside light or halogen lights do not come on but only when the car is off the flash to pass works but when the car is on the flash to pass is only the Xenon. How can I get the halogens to come on when the high beam is on?
I have researched and with the help of this forum I have been able to code some stuff on my car but this in particular has me stumped.
gilatpr is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2011, 03:33 PM   #3266
Randall41
1
Private First Class
 
Randall41's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i Alpine White
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DreamLand

Posts: 121
iTrader: (1)

Hello everyone. I'm having a bit of a problem with NCSEXPERT. When I attempt to open the following message pops up..."One of the library files needed to run C:\Docs\NCSExper\Bin\NCSExper.EXE cannot
load in the 16-bit Windows subsystem because it is a Win32DLL"

I have no clue where to start.
INPA connects perfectly and I am ready to get rid of that Geared Circle thing and begin recoding.
Thanks much.
Randall41 is offline   Mexico
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2011, 03:54 PM   #3267
justa3series
1
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

Boostin - Glad to hear all is working. Please give error when reading CIC. You might need to make sure you copied all files correctly.

Randall41 - What OS are you running it on. You should download BMW Standard tools found on internet to ensure installation. It will not run on x64 bit OS
justa3series is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-09-2011, 06:26 PM   #3268
Randall41
1
Private First Class
 
Randall41's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 135i Alpine White
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DreamLand

Posts: 121
iTrader: (1)

NCSEXPERT & BMW STD Tools

Thanks much for the response. My OS is Windows Vista 32 bit.
Where do I find Standard Tools? First I have heard mention of this program
Randall41 is offline   Mexico
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2011, 09:31 AM   #3269
SpeedFried
0
New Member
 
Drives: 08' 335xi Jet Black
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NEPA

Posts: 15
iTrader: (1)

I tried connecting to my 08 E90 with the proper cable and nothing. I connected via USB to the compter. Com port 1 is configured properly and I double checked all the steps.

Do we need to use a USB to serial connector instead? Any help is appreciated.
SpeedFried is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2011, 08:03 AM   #3270
justa3series
1
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

Not sure what is problem Speedfried? If it's USB then download drivers and you'll be good to go.
justa3series is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 12:01 PM   #3271
SpeedFried
0
New Member
 
Drives: 08' 335xi Jet Black
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NEPA

Posts: 15
iTrader: (1)

I still can't figure out what the problem is. When I plug in the USB it is communications port 9 so I thought maybe that was the problem since we configured communications port 1.
SpeedFried is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 12:09 PM   #3272
hiter202
7
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CT

Posts: 724
iTrader: (6)

hey guys, was just wondering if its possible to have the angel eyes NOT dim when the headlights turn on? I have a 2011 LCI E92 with the stock HIDs in the Angel Eyes like all 2011 LCI
hiter202 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 12:11 PM   #3273
jphughan
34
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedFried View Post
I still can't figure out what the problem is. When I plug in the USB it is communications port 9 so I thought maybe that was the problem since we configured communications port 1.
The cable needs to be COM1 unless you mess with some INI file(s). I've heard it's possible but I've never tried it.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 12:16 PM   #3274
HaZe_X
2
Second Lieutenant
 
HaZe_X's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 252
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedFried View Post
I tried connecting to my 08 E90 with the proper cable and nothing. I connected via USB to the compter. Com port 1 is configured properly and I double checked all the steps.

Do we need to use a USB to serial connector instead? Any help is appreciated.
I have the drivers I used if you need them, PM me. Also ensure cable is set to Com 1, and buffer set to 2 or 8, I can't remember, but it has to be the lowest setting.
__________________
2011 335is Le Mans Blue l Black Interior l Convenience Package l iDrive l Heated Seats l Manual Trans l PROcede V5 l BMS DCI l ETS ChargePipe l Synapse BOV l
Order Date: 4/12/11
Delivery: 5/30/11
HaZe_X is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 12:18 PM   #3275
justa3series
1
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

Buffer has to be 1.

I set RX/TX to 1024
justa3series is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 01:39 PM   #3276
spiike32
10
Major
 
spiike32's Avatar
 
Drives: Monaco Blue E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: shy-town

Posts: 1,060
iTrader: (8)

After reading 150 bloody pages my eyeballs are about to fall out. So just to confirm:

If you have an FRM1 module as in the early 2007 models, you need to buy the FRM2/3 for coding to work.

This is the cable to use for 2007-2008. 2009-2011 will use a different cable. All the pages and scattered responses actually make it a bit confusing to a new reader.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-I...item25667c576d

Coding LCI tails can completely be done via NCIS tool, and autologic isn't required.

I'll create a nice full blown DIY tutorial once everything is confirmed and done just so everything is in one place for those that want to do this from start to finish.
__________________

Retired: FBO 335i and 318ti Current: C7 Stingray
spiike32 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 01:43 PM   #3277
jphughan
34
Brigadier General
 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiike32 View Post
This is the cable to use for 2007-2008. 2009-2011 will use a different cable. All the pages and scattered responses actually make it a bit confusing to a new reader.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/BMW-I...item25667c576d
The cable you linked to will do everything from 3/2006 production onward, and can even do earlier stuff with the included adapter that restores Pin 8. I'm not sure about the rest, so hopefully someone else can chime in. The cables that are "different" for newer cars are the ones that still have Pin 8 active, and the one you linked to does not so you're good to go.

Congrats on reading the thread!!
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
jphughan is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 05:27 PM   #3278
SpeedFried
0
New Member
 
Drives: 08' 335xi Jet Black
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NEPA

Posts: 15
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaZe_X View Post
I have the drivers I used if you need them, PM me. Also ensure cable is set to Com 1, and buffer set to 2 or 8, I can't remember, but it has to be the lowest setting.
Thanks, I sent you a PM with my email address. I need to figure out how to change the device from COM 9 to COM 1. It says COM 1 is in use.
SpeedFried is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST