E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Trying to change car to European spec



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-14-2011, 03:54 PM   #1
BDMBimmer
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 3 series
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posts: 319
iTrader: (1)

Trying to change car to European spec

Hi was wondering if someone could explain how to change a US spec car to a European one.

What I tried was to delete the *DU93 in the FA and add *DU91 but I get an error everytime when I hit F6. Is there another way?
Thanks
BDMBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2011, 04:46 PM   #2
jasonn
JDM Slut
 
jasonn's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 e90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CA

Posts: 4,234
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BDMBimmer View Post
Hi was wondering if someone could explain how to change a US spec car to a European one.

What I tried was to delete the *DU93 in the FA and add *DU91 but I get an error everytime when I hit F6. Is there another way?
Thanks
Careful you may end up with a vehicle thinking it's RHD.
__________________

2013 991 (mod diary)
2007 335i (sold)
2004 745i (sold)
jasonn is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2011, 06:35 PM   #3
BDMBimmer
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 3 series
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posts: 319
iTrader: (1)

I'm just trying to write to the light module, I know it has been done for this car but I can't seem to find and info on how exactly.
BDMBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2011, 06:41 PM   #4
jasonn
JDM Slut
 
jasonn's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 e90 335i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CA

Posts: 4,234
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
Are you using Expert Mode in NCSExpert?
__________________

2013 991 (mod diary)
2007 335i (sold)
2004 745i (sold)
jasonn is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2011, 09:05 AM   #5
BDMBimmer
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 3 series
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posts: 319
iTrader: (1)

Yes, is this the way to do it?
I have add values to the VO before, is this the same process? Just delete the US and add the Euro value?
BDMBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2011, 10:56 AM   #6
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

What do you want to do? Why do you want to chnage car to EURO spec?
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2011, 04:01 PM   #7
BDMBimmer
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 3 series
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posts: 319
iTrader: (1)

It's for the headlights, in a Euro car the ambers never go on. On the Z4 it really gives it a clean look. The turn signals still work.
I have coded it so that the ambers only go on when the headlights are on and disabled the lowbeam DRLs. Now if I coded it to a Euro car it does all this and deletes the ambers.
BDMBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2011, 06:34 PM   #8
Zasquatch
Captain
 
Zasquatch's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 BMW 335i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: CT

Posts: 622
iTrader: (15)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Oh nice.... If you get it working I'd like to try that too. Since it's only the light module there are no other side effects?
Zasquatch is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2011, 08:16 PM   #9
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BDMBimmer View Post
It's for the headlights, in a Euro car the ambers never go on. On the Z4 it really gives it a clean look. The turn signals still work.
I have coded it so that the ambers only go on when the headlights are on and disabled the lowbeam DRLs. Now if I coded it to a Euro car it does all this and deletes the ambers.
Dude...you can get rid of the corner delete by looking for this line in your FRM module.



SIDEMARKER_US

Change that to nicht_aktiv.

This will turn off the corner lights (amber) and come on only with hazards or turn signals.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2011, 09:19 PM   #10
BDMBimmer
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 3 series
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada

Posts: 319
iTrader: (1)

The SIDEMARKER_US value on the 06 Z4 only turns off the middle amber light under the headlights.

PO_ALS_DRL set to nicht_aktiv will turn all three amber lights off as well as the rear side markers.
The ambers still come on when the headlights are on, either on automatic or when switched to on. I'm trying to keep them off all the time.

DAUERFAHRLICHT_US set to nicht_aktiv will disable the lowbeam DRLs and the angel eyes will will still stay on as the DRLs. Or you can remove 838 and 896 from the VO and write to the AKMB and ALSZ.

These are in the ALSZ module.
BDMBimmer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-16-2011, 10:34 AM   #11
justa3series
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

Posts: 161
iTrader: (1)

You shouldn't need to change spec, but should only need to change value. All changing car to EURO changes FSW's if I'm not mistaken.
justa3series is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST