E90Post
 


Evolve Automotive
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Recoding for Alpine Retrofit into my '10 E90?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-11-2011, 04:12 PM   #1
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Talking Recoding for Alpine Retrofit into my '10 E90?

4/10/12 Edit!

BMW states that it does NOT need to be coded in post 03/09 cars. If you don't code it, the sound EQ is still horribly compressed, the subs are overdriven, and the gong's are WAY too loud (even at min volume).

If you do code it with ISTA/P (or NCSExpert), the gongs/BT voice/PDC/Nav instructions will be WAY too quiet... but the fix is rather simple!

Don't follow the instructions, and especially don't follow the labels on the Crossover... just plug in like-for-like colors on the crossover. They are labeled wrong- so plug your tweeter into the yellow wire out of the crossover, and your mid to the blue wire, matching up the factory wiring colors.

With this, your BT/gong/PDC volumes will be correct!

Last edited by Exwoodchuck; 04-10-2012 at 05:17 PM. Reason: Because I'm happy again.
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2011, 10:24 PM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,939
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck View Post
I'm looking at getting the European Alpine Retrofit kit for my Base Audio-equipped '10 E90. The PN on the kit is 65412163268 and as per the instructions, it says that the car needs to be recoded.

Here's the txt in question-
...Encode/Program retrofit with ISSS via the path -Conversion-
...Perform quick test
...Perform function test

From what I've read, its coding the radio from Base to Hi-fi, which would get rid of the EQ settings.

My questions are--
1) Since this is a European kit, would a US dealer balk at recoding it per the instructions? My Indy has the full ISSS setup if it came to that. But can this coding even be accomplished on a US car?

2) Is it possible to code it via NCSExpert? If so, how? I'm familiar with NCSExpert having used it on my E38.

Any help would be appreciated!!
Just code the OEM HU to output HiFi using NCS Expert.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: September 2011 ED
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 03:38 PM   #3
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Since I've got SA609, I assume that I need to set it to Hifi in the CIC module?

Just tried my cable that worked great on my E38-- it's not loving the E90 ... ugh. INPA doesn't see the Ignition.

Time for a new cable I guess.
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2011, 05:43 PM   #4
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

You need PIN 8. Just get the adapter.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-13-2011, 07:30 AM   #5
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Any idea where I can find said adapter? My cable is a serial cable.

What's strange is that it sees battery and ignition in my v3.xx INPA but the v5.xx doesn't see ignition.
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-13-2011, 10:24 PM   #6
token419
New Member
 
Drives: 325XI
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Portland

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

i think pin 7 and 8 are swapped, i could be wrong though. ill try to dig up a thread i found with the info.

* EDIT *
Found this article detailing the building of a cable:
http://www.new-sweden.com/forum/showthread.php?t=959

It appears pin 7/8 are bridged.

I have mine on order still for my 06 325xi so i haven't got to test yet

Last edited by token419; 09-13-2011 at 10:53 PM.
token419 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2011, 08:52 AM   #7
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

I've got the latest VAGCOM cable, but I can't modify it-- still need it to keep the Other Half's Audi A3 going!
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-15-2011, 11:33 AM   #8
montr
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 335d
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 266
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck View Post
I've got the latest VAGCOM cable, but I can't modify it-- still need it to keep the Other Half's Audi A3 going!
Let us know if you have success recoding the radio. I would like to do the same.
Thanks
montr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2011, 09:55 AM   #9
PrMaX
New Member
 
PrMaX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 M-packet
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Warsaw

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck View Post
My questions are--

2) Is it possible to code it via NCSExpert? If so, how? I'm familiar with NCSExpert having used it on my E38.

Any help would be appreciated!!
You can code it via NCSExpert. You just need to add +SZMFA to your VO key.
Coding your system to hi-fi is not recomended becouse you will lose your rear speakers.

+SZMFA means Alpine Retrofit kit

Greetings
__________________
E90 LCI M-pakiet 320d '09 iDrive CiC
PrMaX is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2011, 11:18 AM   #10
montr
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 335d
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 266
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMaX View Post
You can code it via NCSExpert. You just need to add +SZMFA to your VO key.
Coding your system to hi-fi is not recomended becouse you will lose your rear speakers.

+SZMFA means Alpine Retrofit kit

Greetings
Great info. I was looking for this for a long time and no success.
Thanks
montr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 09:23 PM   #11
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMaX View Post
You can code it via NCSExpert. You just need to add +SZMFA to your VO key.
Coding your system to hi-fi is not recomended becouse you will lose your rear speakers.

+SZMFA means Alpine Retrofit kit

Greetings
Thanks! Do you know what the VO change accomplishes or modifies?
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 09:36 PM   #12
montr
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 335d
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 266
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imperator View Post
Thanks! Do you know what the VO change accomplishes or modifies?
I am not the one that posted this answer but I hope to find out myself soon. I did order the cable last Monday and I have NCSExpert. When I receive the cable and after figuring out how to change the VO, I will take a new set of frequency response for the front and rear speaker. I already have the Alpine retrofit installed and I did extensive measurements of levels and frequency responses of the current system.
montr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-25-2011, 09:46 PM   #13
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (7)

I recall your first sets of measurements when you installed the kit. I assume the coding change *SHOULD* apply some EQ normalization but I haven't been able to successfully apply the VO addition yet.

Edit: apparently +SZMFA is not a valid option to the E89 VO list so forget about it.

Last edited by Imperator; 09-25-2011 at 11:24 PM.
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2011, 07:03 AM   #14
montr
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 335d
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 266
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imperator View Post
I recall your first sets of measurements when you installed the kit. I assume the coding change *SHOULD* apply some EQ normalization but I haven't been able to successfully apply the VO addition yet.

Edit: apparently +SZMFA is not a valid option to the E89 VO list so forget about it.
I am still hoping that +SZMFA is the magic bullet. If that does not work, I am back to square one! I will continue keep my ears and eye open for a solution to disable the EQ in the HU. According the Alpine kit instructions, there is a recoding for the Alpine kit. I have read that the BMW dealers in NA do not know how to code this option. If +SZFMA does not work today, I hope that one day I will find a solution.
montr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-26-2011, 05:47 PM   #15
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

I've found out that US BMW dealers *should* be able to code this retrofit, but you'd have to bring the instructions for the retrofit to them, as this kit is very 'new' to them.

btw- the 268 kit is out of stock globally right now.
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-27-2011, 08:46 AM   #16
montr
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 335d
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 266
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exwoodchuck View Post
I've found out that US BMW dealers *should* be able to code this retrofit, but you'd have to bring the instructions for the retrofit to them, as this kit is very 'new' to them.

btw- the 268 kit is out of stock globally right now.
Any idea how much the dealer charge for this?
montr is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-27-2011, 09:59 AM   #17
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by montr View Post
Any idea how much the dealer charge for this?
This is what I got from my Indy who uses the same programming tools a dealer uses-
"You're probably going to be in the two to three hour window, as long as things go well"

So depending on the hourly rate, you're looking at $200-??? to get this done.
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2012, 03:33 AM   #18
wibble69
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 E91 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southampton, UK

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

Got these fitting instructions from the BMW dealer which says that no recoding is needed. I recoding was needed on a post 3/09 car (mines 2011)?
Attached Images
File Type: pdf alpine.pdf (1.75 MB, 578 views)
wibble69 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2012, 03:41 PM   #19
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Good timing on this one -- I just had my car (10/09 build) coded for the Alpine upgrade today. I would say that it sounds *very* different now that it's coded-- and the gong is now correct once again.

I see that the date on those instructions are 7/11 -- my 3/10 instructions for the same kit DO say it requires coding - and my car certainly did. My CIC was replaced a few weeks ago (due to failure), so it had the most current SW on it.

Its pretty clear to my old ears that the coding removed the equalization on the HU and it seems to have made the bass a lot less 'muddy'. It now sounds 99% of the H-K system. And it only cost me $150 to get it coded.
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-05-2012, 04:16 PM   #20
Imperator
Major
 
Imperator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E92 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plano, Texas

Posts: 1,129
iTrader: (7)

Chuck, I'm also in TX and with a 12/09 build car. I'd like to see a copy of your work order, if a dealership performed the coding. Would you mind sending a PM with a scan of the work order or copy me on the exact coding work they performed?
Imperator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2012, 02:51 PM   #21
Exwoodchuck
Private
 
Drives: Yes
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hometown, US

Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imperator View Post
Chuck, I'm also in TX and with a 12/09 build car. I'd like to see a copy of your work order, if a dealership performed the coding. Would you mind sending a PM with a scan of the work order or copy me on the exact coding work they performed?
I had it done at an Indy that had BMW-spec equipment-- they used ISTA/P to encode it. My WO reads- "Encode and Program for Hi-Fi Alpine conversion. Programmed vehicle for Hi-Fi Alpine stereo conversion."
Exwoodchuck is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-02-2012, 10:10 PM   #22
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
did you measure the results of the conversion? (i.e. HU signal)?
__________________
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST