E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Relocating the OEM radio to the trunk to retain CHIMES w/ an aftermarket headunit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-14-2011, 08:51 AM   #67
Chedman13
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325XI Alpine White
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

iTrader: (0)

Glad I found this thread. Ordered the parts though ECS tuning, cheapest I've found with no handling fees. Dealership wanted $60+ for one cable.
http://www.ecstuning.com/Search/61120142318/
http://www.ecstuning.com/Search/61136901846/

Going to have this done to my 2006 BMW 325XI "basic" without logic7, etc... I have a kenwood headunit and the only problem I've had is the SOS error. The SOS does work, I pressed the button and did get someone on the other line and they could hear me just fine.

Any reason this is all the way in the trunk? I'll probably stash it in the glove box or something.

Will a constant power line from the battery cause an issue? I know my BMW is sensitive to parasitic power loss and then in return causes a check engine light error.

I'd rather find an auxiliary accessory line so the power cycles off with the car when it turns off, instead of a constant power source, thoughts?
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2011, 11:38 AM   #68
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,322
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

One guy hung it under the glove box

There was a picture on here somewhere , it didn't look like and elegant
solution.
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2011, 10:42 AM   #69
HellsBells
Private First Class
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
There was a picture on here somewhere , it didn't look like and elegant
solution.
Agreed, there is no good place to put this. I ran it to the trunk to get it out of the way.
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2011, 10:51 AM   #70
HellsBells
Private First Class
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

I have attached the parts catalog diagram from BMW.

I just wanted to give an update on this as I couldn't get the right connection for a software upgrade.

I actually had to use parts 1, 2, 3, 4 in the diagram to get a good optical connection. Two of the cables (1 in diagram) part #61120142318, Two of the pin contact (2 in diagram) part #61136901847, Two of the pin contact (3 in diagram) part #61136901846 and one connector housing (4 in diagram) part #61136906535.

Hope this helps anyone else with BMW Assist going down this path.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-21-2011, 06:41 PM   #71
pkirk
Private First Class
2
Rep
149
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone else successfully relocated the OEM HU into the trunk or even glove compartment? I'm interested in seeing others photos.
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2011, 03:30 PM   #72
pkirk
Private First Class
2
Rep
149
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

iTrader: (0)

I just ran wires for connecting my OEM HU, but chose to run only the 4 necessary for programming requirements. These are in my glovebox with a 4 pin molex connector. This way I don't have a bunch of wires in my glove box, didn't need to run wires into my trunk, and don't need to leave the OEM HU conected at all times. Plugged it in to test it - worked great!

Here's a photo of the HU side of the system.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      12-09-2011, 04:34 PM   #73
srcstc
Major
United_States
27
Rep
1,322
Posts

 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkirk View Post
I just ran wires for connecting my OEM HU, but chose to run only the 4 necessary for programming requirements. These are in my glovebox with a 4 pin molex connector. This way I don't have a bunch of wires in my glove box, didn't need to run wires into my trunk, and don't need to leave the OEM HU conected at all times. Plugged it in to test it - worked great!

Here's a photo of the HU side of the system.

__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2011, 10:07 PM   #74
Nr!qUe
Captain
Nr!qUe's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
974
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 LCI 328i 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via MSN to Nr!qUe Send a message via Skype™ to Nr!qUe
I have to get my car fixed next week and i really want to do the aftermarket headunit install. i already have everything. Im just reluctant to do it because i have some airbag alarms that have to be reset so i dont know if i should wait until then to do the install??

Its not like they're going to reprogram my car..

is it??
__________________
2009 BMW E90 328i | Xenons | MT | Space Gray | Beige-ette | CF Fabric Trim | iPod/USB | 20% Tints | Euro-Plate | Rear Fog Switch Lego Mod | Painted Reflectors | Performance Short-shift Kit | Style 197 Wheels | OEM Sport Suspension | OEM Trunk Spoiler | Pioneer AVH4400BH -DVD
Appreciate 0
      12-27-2011, 09:13 PM   #75
Titanium3Series
Second Lieutenant
Titanium3Series's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
231
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc View Post
No, there is no constant. You have to get it from the battery.
i am doing this in a couple weeks once my amps come in, I have been reading about this and this thread and am pretty solid on doing it.

Someone has already asked before but i did not find a defined answer. On PIN 15, does this need constant power 24/7 from the battery, or can this be hooked up to come on with ignition?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 320beemer View Post
I wish to use the connector in the vehicles harness to connect the Dynavin HU.

Does anybody know if I attach the harness to the Dynavin HU, can I also patch into the canbus CB HI and CB LO wires with both units?
i also have this question as well......will this cause any difference in signal?
__________________

Last edited by Titanium3Series; 01-18-2012 at 04:28 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2012, 01:10 AM   #76
krnet2dboi
Captain
United_States
25
Rep
912
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i Base
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New YOrk

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkirk View Post
I just ran wires for connecting my OEM HU, but chose to run only the 4 necessary for programming requirements. These are in my glovebox with a 4 pin molex connector. This way I don't have a bunch of wires in my glove box, didn't need to run wires into my trunk, and don't need to leave the OEM HU conected at all times. Plugged it in to test it - worked great!

Here's a photo of the HU side of the system.
I know this thread is old but, can you describe which wires/harness to purchase to do a relocation like your pic? thanks alot.
__________________
There are only two types of cars in the world; BMW and the Rest
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2012, 08:49 AM   #77
srcstc
Major
United_States
27
Rep
1,322
Posts

 
Drives: 09 TiAg E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by krnet2dboi View Post
I know this thread is old but, can you describe which wires/harness to purchase to do a relocation like your pic? thanks alot.
It's all in the very first post. Did you not look at it?
__________________
2009 E92 335i M-Sport TiAg|Black|Aluminum -ZMP|ZPP|NAV|CA|Heated Seats|6MT
BMW Performance Exhaust|Rear Fogs|OEM Black Grills|Cobb AP|ETS 5" FMIC|DCI
Installer for BimmerTech

Pioneer AVIC-Z110BT:
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2012, 12:35 PM   #78
krnet2dboi
Captain
United_States
25
Rep
912
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i Base
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New YOrk

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srcstc
Quote:
Originally Posted by krnet2dboi View Post
I know this thread is old but, can you describe which wires/harness to purchase to do a relocation like your pic? thanks alot.
It's all in the very first post. Did you not look at it?
It doesn't look the same as the pic
__________________
There are only two types of cars in the world; BMW and the Rest
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2012, 09:54 PM   #79
jerrys
New Member
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: bmw se
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: us

iTrader: (0)

Need to get my car fixed a few weeks and i really wish to accomplish the aftermarket in car dvd. This thread suggests go the OEM Head unit on the trunk to maintain functionality on the vehicles warning sounds through basically extending the wires harness, coupled with still giving access towards the vehicle computer for software upgrades that may be installed by that BMW workshop.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2012, 09:38 AM   #80
pkirk
Private First Class
2
Rep
149
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by krnet2dboi View Post
It doesn't look the same as the pic
Other than the equipment and wiring that SRCSTC presented I puschased a 4-pin molex style connector from Radio Shack. This is what I use for the glove box connection.

I ran the can bus wires from spliced connections behind my HU and got power and ground from my fuse box. Those 4 wires went to the molex connector. The other half is connected to the harness that plugs into the OEM HU. Had my alarm programmed after getting this all setup and was flawless!

No need to go through trouble of wiring to trunk - can hook up OEM HU any time it is needed.
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2012, 09:54 AM   #81
Chedman13
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325XI Alpine White
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

iTrader: (0)

I have had the SOS error ever since my Kenwood KVT-516 install. The SOS error comes up sometimes, sometimes not, but the triangle with ! always shows up -- which indicates an error.

My SOS still works as I tried it and got someone on the other line and had a conversation.

I then had the OEM head unit relocated to the trunk, where a spare tire would go (have run flats). CAN bus, Fiber Optic cables etc... are connected as described.

I can see light so it appears no kinks and it is making a loop.

The power for the headunit is a constant as someone described, so that was done.

Long story short, this didn't work for me. Not sure what went wrong, I still have the SOS error.

The headunit is connected so can do updates if needed.

Also, there is a fiber optic cable in the trunk area too with some other hardware. Can we grab the fiber optic from there and loop that to the head unit?

Any way, I've given up and can live with the little warning light for a HD radio, bluetooth, Navigation, rear view camera, iPhone etc.. Kenwood unit.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2012, 08:30 PM   #82
firefox
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 750i, 2004 G35 (beater)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

I wanted document a step by step for what I did for the optical cables. I got two optical cables #61120142318 and two connector housings #61136906535.

Take out the optical out of the OEM connector shown on the upper right of the connector.

Once you have the optical plug out of the OEM connector, there is a blue tab holding the the optical cable to the plug. Push the blue tab through and free the cable from the plug.
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2012, 08:32 PM   #83
firefox
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 750i, 2004 G35 (beater)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

using the connector housing #61136906535 connect the OEM cables (green/green with black plastic cover) to the new cables (orange).

This is a picture of the housing and how it is connected to the cables.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2012, 08:34 PM   #84
firefox
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 750i, 2004 G35 (beater)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Route your new cables to the trunk.

Remember the optical plug that you took off at the beginning. I reused it and put it on other end of the orange cables.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2012, 08:39 PM   #85
firefox
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 750i, 2004 G35 (beater)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Finally take your new Metra harness, 71-9003 and plug the optical plug into the new harness. Be sure you have the right optical cable in the right place (if it is wrong just swap the position).

Route the other wires as well, CAN, power, ground, speaker (if you choose).

Plug your new harness into the OEM radio.

The SOS error should now be gone.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2012, 06:40 PM   #86
hungo
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: bmw e90 320d m sport saloon
Join Date: May 2012
Location: london

iTrader: (0)

help

hi I would like to know the stereo system wiring for my bmw e90 320d trying to install my old pioneer avic-x1bt thx
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2012, 08:40 PM   #87
09135ijh
Private
1
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 09 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Framingham MA

iTrader: (0)

is there a better in depth DIY to relocate HU to trunk, ive been using search and havent gotten much
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2012, 10:53 PM   #88
09135ijh
Private
1
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 09 135i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Framingham MA

iTrader: (0)

Sorry didn't expand is it just simply extending all wires to trunk?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST