E90Post
 


PYSPEED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Shiv, I need your help ( PROcede installation )



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-10-2007, 02:42 PM   #1
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Shiv, I need your help ( PROcede installation )

Hi Shiv, please help.

http://www.vishnutuningforum.com/for...read.php?t=173

AM I THE FIRST e93 335i PROCEDE USER ?

Thank you in advance.

Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .

Last edited by e.n335; 06-10-2007 at 03:46 PM.
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 04:14 PM   #2
lawdude
Colonel
 
lawdude's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i ZPP ZSP TiAg MT
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Georgia

Posts: 2,259
iTrader: (1)

Shiv and Calvin need to clear their PM accounts. I sent you an email.
lawdude is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 04:34 PM   #3
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawdude View Post
Shiv and Calvin need to clear their PM accounts. I sent you an email.
Hi Mike

Thank you. Replied.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 04:42 PM   #4
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,491
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Wow, knowing that Eugen knows the PROcede and its install and harness inside and out, makes me think something serious is going on here. Hopefully its just maybe the wires/pins in the wrong place on the black/gray connectors...

So even after full removal its still not drivable? Wow... you have had your car 2 days now, right?

Good luck man!
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 04:46 PM   #5
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Wow, knowing that Eugen knows the PROcede and its install and harness inside and out, makes me think something serious is going on here. Hopefully its just maybe the wires/pins in the wrong place on the black/gray connectors...

So even after full removal its still not drivable? Wow... you have had your car 2 days now, right?

Good luck man!
BMW cleared the error codes immediately the car is running fine again (stock).
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 04:49 PM   #6
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,491
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
BMW cleared the error codes immediately the car is running fine again.
good to hear! when you say "bmw cleared the error codes".. do you mean that the dealer had to do it?
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 04:50 PM   #7
hotrod2448
grand poobah
 
hotrod2448's Avatar
 
Drives: E70 X5 SG, F10 535i
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC

Posts: 2,015
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Cue the shit stirrers and nay sayers.

I hope you get your issue worked out. Have you tried resetting the ECU to clear the codes since disconnecting the Procede?

edit: I see you got the codes cleared already.
hotrod2448 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 04:50 PM   #8
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
good to hear! when you say "bmw cleared the error codes".. do you mean that the dealer had to do it?
Service car.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 04:55 PM   #9
RiXst3r
 
RiXst3r's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

Posts: 6,491
iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Let us know if you get the install all figured out... We dont have service cars here in the US... we just get tow trucks to take us to the dealer...
RiXst3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 05:00 PM   #10
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiXst3r View Post
Let us know if you get the install all figured out... We dont have service cars here in the US... we just get tow trucks to take us to the dealer...
I expect a harness problem. I'll let you know.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2007, 06:30 PM   #11
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Eugen-- Just emailed ya.

shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2007, 03:53 PM   #12
Revlis
Now With 33% MORE Sarcasm Free!
 
Revlis's Avatar
 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle Area, WA

Posts: 3,446
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotrod2448 View Post
Cue the shit stirrers and nay sayers.

I hope you get your issue worked out. Have you tried resetting the ECU to clear the codes since disconnecting the Procede?

edit: I see you got the codes cleared already.
Well the Shit stirrers are given Ammo Via Shiv's lack of response to this in either forum. Just an "E-mailed ya" sounds like someone who is ducking and covering hoping to fix things quietly...

At least that is how it looks.
__________________

'13 TiAg over Coral, 335is | DCT | Prem | L7 | Nav/Idrive | CA | 19" "-------"

A BMW is Just a Car, it doesn't make you smart, handsome, cool, or wealthy. Get over it.
Revlis is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2007, 04:10 PM   #13
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revlis View Post
Well the Shit stirrers are given Ammo Via Shiv's lack of response to this in either forum. Just an "E-mailed ya" sounds like someone who is ducking and covering hoping to fix things quietly...

At least that is how it looks.
If you really must know, I emailed Eugen pictures of a harness pinout to ensure that his harness (which was made back when we were building them by hand) looks the same. I'm sorry that it took me a few hours to respond to his post. It was on Sunday afterall.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2007, 05:43 PM   #14
scottp999
Brigadier General
 
scottp999's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - E92 - 6MT & 4runner SR5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 4,629
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335  [4.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revlis View Post
Well the Shit stirrers are given Ammo Via Shiv's lack of response to this in either forum. Just an "E-mailed ya" sounds like someone who is ducking and covering hoping to fix things quietly...

At least that is how it looks.
Give the guy a break. I had a little issue installing mine and he was around to discuss on the forums on a Saturday afternoon.

They are more than willing to help out and get the problems fixed. Most install issues seem to be fixed very quickly.

Of course it does give you some piece of mind going into your ecu if you have another vehicle available just in case, but not everyone does.

If vishnu would put out a customer satifsfaction survey it would be nice. Also, it might be comforting to know what percentage of people get the install done with no issues the first attempt, and if there are issues, what percent are solved within 24,48, and 72 hours. I think that might be comforting to potential customers.

I for one am very happy with the products performance and the support level.
__________________
Rob Beck Turbos, PROcede Rev. 3, Procede Fueling Flash (via OpenFlash Tablet), PPS Methanol System (Devil's Own 12 GPH Nozzle/Aquamist Flow Sensor/Labonte VC25), DCI, Quaife LSD, BMW Performance Suspension, Autobahn Exotics Exhaust, Helix FMIC, AR Design Downpipes, BSH Catch Can, Forge Diverter Valves, P3cars Vent Boost Gauge, Alufelgen CSL Reps, Lux 5.1 H8 Angel Eyes, HPB HID Fogs, LTBMW M3 Side Skirts, BMW M3 Rear Spoiler, BMW Front Aero Lip, BMW Pedal Kit, BMW M Shift Knob, Autotecknic Matte Black Grilles.
scottp999 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2007, 09:23 AM   #15
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Hi,

I solved my PROcede installation problem and everything is fine now.

What happened ? At my first approach including the installation-test with the bypass plugs everything was ok.

As soon as I connected the PROcede ( including the PROcede power connection ) I got a lot of codes, even some which cannot be related to the PROcede and ended up in removing everything and going back to stock. The car was not drivable, after a BMW service car cleared the errors it was ok again, but stock.

Shiv helped that I could check the harness, it has been ok. He sent a special map to me so that I could re-assign a signal to a different input / output. But in advance to reassign something I liked to give me a second, slightly different try.

Preparation:

- I loaded the v1.45 Steptronic map into the PROcede
- I soldered every contact of the harness except the connectors on the ECU side
- I drove the car to a dealership to clear all errors eventually stored in the ECU memory ( there have been 2 the service car did not clear due to an elder software release )

Installation:

- I waited until the ignition was off and disconnected the car's battery
- I did the complete install without any intermediate checks
- I reconnected the battery, the car started and was fine without any problem or code

Post Installation:

- I drove the car to a dealership again to see if I have got any error codes after the install. I had none.

So far I did about 60 miles with the PROcede installed. Everything is working like expected, the next days will show if I really have a problem-free environment. In my opinion the removal of the 40 or 50 amp. fuse without disconnecting the battery can generate error codes like DSC, etc. I also learned that even when you installed everything right and you do have errors stored in the ECU the engine can behave strange. The Creader tool does not clear all errors stored in the ECU.

So if you have troubles let the errors clear at a dealership and see if that helps. Also disconnecting the battery during the install might be a good idea.

Cheers
Eugen

( happy now )
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2007, 09:50 AM   #16
stefano7171
Lieutenant
 
stefano7171's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW e93 335i Msport
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: torino, Italy

Posts: 467
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
Hi,

So if you have troubles let the errors clear at a dealership and see if that helps. Also disconnecting the battery during the install might be a good idea.

Cheers
Eugen

( happy now )
Shiv, for the benefit of all future "Procede Installers", can you confirm the battery disconnecting procedure followed by Eugen is ok too and has is risk-free?
Thanks
__________________
Current: e93 335 Msport, black sapphire on sanbeige, MT, 19" rims 225m, satnav, usb, CA, voice control, HBA, windstop, heated seats.
stefano7171 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2007, 10:03 AM   #17
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Stefano,

It cannot be wrong. If a dealership changes the battery, they have to do the same. You have to set the date / time after that and the onboard computer resets it's speed and milage memory. In the convertible it's a PITA to get to the battery ( but not really an issue ).

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2007, 10:08 AM   #18
stefano7171
Lieutenant
 
stefano7171's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW e93 335i Msport
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: torino, Italy

Posts: 467
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
Stefano,

It cannot be wrong. If a dealership changes the battery, they have to do the same. You have to set the date / time after that and the onboard computer resets it's speed and milage memory. In the convertible it's a PITA to get to the battery ( but not really an issue ).

Cheers
Eugen
Thanks Eugen, I was worried of the problems in the install phase, would like to avoid errors code and the like, obviously.
How does the car feel? not having read any comments on "proceded" e93s...
Cosmetic Suggestions: paint the front grills space grey (I can send you photos of mine, if you haven't seen it yet) they look fantastic, and maybe replace your stock 18" with M6 reps 19"!

Regards,

Stefano
__________________
Current: e93 335 Msport, black sapphire on sanbeige, MT, 19" rims 225m, satnav, usb, CA, voice control, HBA, windstop, heated seats.
stefano7171 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2007, 10:23 AM   #19
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Stefano

I would do it exactly as I did. So the car is completely off when you install sensor wires. Thus the Procede is invisible to the ECU ( when correctly installed ), there will be no change recognized from any device. Just be very careful when installing and verify the wire-numbers if you counted correctly. Do it loom by loom, nothing parallel. I used shrink-tape to isolate and fix the connectors.

It feels smoother than stock, more responsive, more powerful. I cannot say too much, I am breaking in the car ( 360 km now ). I am very happy about the PROcede. Even if v2 would not be on the horizon, it's a great tuning. But v2 will come ...

Yes, pls. send the pictures

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2007, 10:30 AM   #20
stefano7171
Lieutenant
 
stefano7171's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW e93 335i Msport
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: torino, Italy

Posts: 467
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
Stefano

I would do it exactly as I did. So the car is completely off when you install sensor wires. Thus the Procede is invisible to the ECU ( when correctly installed ), there will be no change recognized from any device. Just be very careful when installing and verify the wire-numbers if you counted correctly. Do it loom by loom, nothing parallel. I used shrink-tape to isolate and fix the connectors.

It feels smoother than stock, more responsive, more powerful. I cannot say too much, I am breaking in the car ( 360 km now ). I am very happy about the PROcede. Even if v2 would not be on the horizon, it's a great tuning. But v2 will come ...

Yes, pls. send the pictures

Cheers
Eugen
Yes, V2 is going to be amazing! I sent you some PM in the past, you did not reply so I post the shot of the grills below, apologizes to all the other readers for the off-topic.... enjoy your ride Eugen and please let us know how the car will feel when you will have completed the break-in!
Ciao!
Attached Images
 
__________________
Current: e93 335 Msport, black sapphire on sanbeige, MT, 19" rims 225m, satnav, usb, CA, voice control, HBA, windstop, heated seats.
stefano7171 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2007, 10:48 AM   #21
e.n335
Moderator
 
e.n335's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

Posts: 4,480
iTrader: (0)

Thank you, looks great ! BTW, I replied to your PM's. My current rim's are for the winter-tires, at the end. I like the M6-replicas. Where did you buy them ? **********s ships to Europe as well, their quality seems to be good. I am just concerned due to the missing TUV/ABE certification. The Morr VS7 wheels look exciting.

Sorry for offtopic !
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
e.n335 is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2007, 11:01 AM   #22
stefano7171
Lieutenant
 
stefano7171's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW e93 335i Msport
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: torino, Italy

Posts: 467
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
Thank you, looks great ! BTW, I replied to your PM's. My current rim's are for the winter-tires, at the end. I like the M6-replicas. Where did you buy them ? **********s ships to Europe as well, their quality seems to be good. I am just concerned due to the missing TUV/ABE certification. The Morr VS7 wheels look exciting.

Sorry for offtopic !
I never got any reply from you! strange! i send you another PM with my email. Anyway I do not have M6 reps, but OEM Style 225m 19"(the ones offered as option on the Msport pack). If I could chose freely I would pick those or the M6 reps, I am not sure. There are lot of M6 reps on ebay for example, but unfortunately I cannot advise you about where is best to buy.

Ciao!
__________________
Current: e93 335 Msport, black sapphire on sanbeige, MT, 19" rims 225m, satnav, usb, CA, voice control, HBA, windstop, heated seats.
stefano7171 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST