E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Shiv, I need your help ( PROcede installation )



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-12-2007, 11:06 AM   #23
judec
born to be turbocharged
judec's Avatar
Slovakia
15
Rep
1,347
Posts

 
Drives: Not a bimmer yet
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to judec Send a message via Skype™ to judec
eugen, what did the dealer say about the reasons for your ECU full of error codes? did U tell him what have U done?
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2007, 11:15 AM   #24
stefano7171
Lieutenant
stefano7171's Avatar
8
Rep
467
Posts

 
Drives: BMW e93 335i Msport
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: torino, Italy

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
Thank you, looks great ! BTW, I replied to your PM's. My current rim's are for the winter-tires, at the end. I like the M6-replicas. Where did you buy them ? **********s ships to Europe as well, their quality seems to be good. I am just concerned due to the missing TUV/ABE certification. The Morr VS7 wheels look exciting.

Sorry for offtopic !
Eugen: in my opinion very few non OEM wheels that are not original/replicas of original BMW wheels do look good on a stylish car like ours.
Also you could wait for some manufacturer to introduce a replica of the e92 M3 style 220 19" rims, they are simply gorgeous!
__________________
Current: e93 335 Msport, black sapphire on sanbeige, MT, 19" rims 225m, satnav, usb, CA, voice control, HBA, windstop, heated seats.
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2007, 11:17 AM   #25
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Glad to hear the problem is solved. FWIW, anytime you want to plug/unplug the PROcede or bypass plugs, wait for 10 seconds after turning off the ignition until the power to the factory ECU turns off. If you unplug the PROcede or bypass plugs during this powered-on time, the ECU will throw all sorts of codes.

-shiv
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2007, 11:21 AM   #26
Terry335
Banned
United_States
42
Rep
2,587
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Socal

iTrader: (0)

The ECU seems to power on with the doors open also, and comes on ~ 10 minuites after turning the car off for a few seconds.
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2007, 11:29 AM   #27
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

That explains a lot, I had the door open all the time during my first PROcede install. Anyway, when I see how the ECU behaves I highly recommend to disconnect the battery during PROcede install.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2007, 11:31 AM   #28
RiXst3r
RiXst3r's Avatar
153
Rep
6,509
Posts

 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (14)

Send a message via AIM to RiXst3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen.niederreiter View Post
That explains a lot, I had the door open all the time on my first PROcede install. Anyway, when I see how the ECU behaves I highly recommend to disconnect the battery during PROcede install.
also, with comfort access, walking near the car with the key turns up the juice... definatly disconnect the battery!
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2007, 11:31 AM   #29
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

No need to disconnect the battery. Just make sure all interior lights are off. Door closed, ignition fully off, keep your key (if you have remote access) far away, etc,.

-shiv
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2007, 11:36 AM   #30
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by judec View Post
eugen, what did the dealer say about the reasons for your ECU full of error codes? did U tell him what have U done?
I said I have problems with the car and asked him about his professional mind. True. The 2nd and 3rd time I wanted to know about possible ECU errors I paid ~ $40 / each, incl. clearing ( the 2nd time ).
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2007, 11:42 AM   #31
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
No need to disconnect the battery. Just make sure all interior lights are off. Door closed, ignition fully off, keep your key (if you have remote access) far away, etc,.

-shiv
Shiv,

This would be worth to point it out somewhere in your support forum. Maybe it is but I did not get it.

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2007, 12:02 PM   #32
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Creader

I also fully understand that even when BMW service computers need updates to be able to clear all the errors that a Creader can't. But people should be aware about this.

Overall the PROcede is a great device with a great tune. It seems to me that the engine runs smoother, much better than stock. I use 93 (US) octane gas. The operating temps did not change in my case. I am very happy that I decided to go with Vishnu months ago.

My compliments to you, Shiv.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2007, 01:35 AM   #33
stefano7171
Lieutenant
stefano7171's Avatar
8
Rep
467
Posts

 
Drives: BMW e93 335i Msport
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: torino, Italy

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
No need to disconnect the battery. Just make sure all interior lights are off. Door closed, ignition fully off, keep your key (if you have remote access) far away, etc,.

-shiv
Thanks Shiv and thanks Eugen!
__________________
Current: e93 335 Msport, black sapphire on sanbeige, MT, 19" rims 225m, satnav, usb, CA, voice control, HBA, windstop, heated seats.
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2007, 03:07 AM   #34
j|rz44
Lieutenant Colonel
22
Rep
1,685
Posts

 
Drives: 335i|E92
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lost

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
07 335i  [0.00]
I just installed mine this evening...
everything went well!
i have a steptronic, is it important that i load the step. 1.45 map?
i may need a lesson in map swapping

Congrats Eugen...

GJ Vishnu--- Looking forward to 2.0
__________________
Life is Good
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2007, 11:25 AM   #35
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmramos44 View Post
I just installed mine this evening...
everything went well!
i have a steptronic, is it important that i load the step. 1.45 map?
i may need a lesson in map swapping

Congrats Eugen...

GJ Vishnu--- Looking forward to 2.0
First of all, congratulations to you and enjoy the PROcede as I do. I loaded the v1.45 steptronic map and have no reference to v1.5 or previous v1.4, v1.3, ... maps. What people report is that the v1.45 map is working best with bone stock cars. Since you have a steptronic too, there will be nothing wrong to use the v1.45 steptronic map as well.

The PROcede is my first non ECU-flash software tuning on a BMW. I had a couple of ECU-flashes on my previous BMW's and thought, a piggyback ECU will be a compromise. The ECU-flash on my last BMW has been overwritten from the dealership 3 times in 1 1/2 years, so I wanted to use a different concept.

Now to the PROcede: What a great implementation. I could not say in which way a ECU-flash would be better. The car runs smoother than stock, the operating temperatures did not increase. It feels very responsive and strong. Thus I am still breaking in the car, I have no experience with pushing it to the limits. But I don't expect any problems, some PROcede customers drive like they stole it and there are no, zero reliability issues. Shiv's car is dynoed frequently and fine as well. The Bathurst race proved and showed what our cars are capable to do.

I am really very happy to go with the PROcede and have no more reliability concerns since I drove it by myself. Looking forward to V2 now ...

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .

Last edited by e.n335; 06-13-2007 at 11:49 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2007, 11:52 AM   #36
Revlis
Now With 33% MORE Sarcasm Free!
Revlis's Avatar
United_States
60
Rep
3,446
Posts

 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle Area, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottp999 View Post
Give the guy a break. I had a little issue installing mine and he was around to discuss on the forums on a Saturday afternoon.

They are more than willing to help out and get the problems fixed. Most install issues seem to be fixed very quickly.

Of course it does give you some piece of mind going into your ecu if you have another vehicle available just in case, but not everyone does.

If vishnu would put out a customer satifsfaction survey it would be nice. Also, it might be comforting to know what percentage of people get the install done with no issues the first attempt, and if there are issues, what percent are solved within 24,48, and 72 hours. I think that might be comforting to potential customers.

I for one am very happy with the products performance and the support level.
Not Busting balls, not trying to hammer anyone, but I follow these threads trying to decide if I want to take the Proceed plunge or not. So being skeptical, or at least watching with a critical eye some things stand out to me.

Not busting on anyone NOT camping out waiting for customer contacts on a Sunday Afternoon, Screw that.

It was just that the only initial response was off line and that can give the impression that there are bigger issues behind the scenes. Make sense? In a Public forum where perception is truly reality this kind of thing can make folks go hmmm....

Not a big deal though.
__________________

'13 TiAg over Coral, 335is | DCT | Prem | L7 | Nav/Idrive | CA | 19" "-------"

A BMW is Just a Car, it doesn't make you smart, handsome, cool, or wealthy. Get over it.
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2007, 12:09 PM   #37
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revlis View Post
Not Busting balls, not trying to hammer anyone, but I follow these threads trying to decide if I want to take the Proceed plunge or not. So being skeptical, or at least watching with a critical eye some things stand out to me.

Not busting on anyone NOT camping out waiting for customer contacts on a Sunday Afternoon, Screw that.

It was just that the only initial response was off line and that can give the impression that there are bigger issues behind the scenes. Make sense? In a Public forum where perception is truly reality this kind of thing can make folks go hmmm....

Not a big deal though.
Buy it, install it, love it
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST