E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Ipod playback with new CIC software



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-28-2011, 08:52 AM   #45
Shakal
Private First Class
 
Shakal's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Europe

Posts: 189
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
I don't think that any errors will show in this particular case, that could be the reason that BMW keeps coding the wrong VO into the CIC worldwide right now.

By the way, the BMW Factory rep can fix for any customer this if the dealrship just call him/her up. After all, he/she uses NCSExpert...
Tommorow I will suggest my dealer to read a faults first and code CIC (not program). If iDrive still won't be fixed, I will ask them to call BMW Factory Representative. This time Im much more prepared than I was last week Can you tell me a full word of VO please?
Shakal is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2011, 10:05 AM   #46
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,910
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakal View Post
Tommorow I will suggest my dealer to read a faults first and code CIC (not program). If iDrive still won't be fixed, I will ask them to call BMW Factory Representative. This time Im much more prepared than I was last week Can you tell me a full word of VO please?
Vehicle Order. The CIC is being coded for 6VC (Combox = iPod/USB adapter and Assist/Bluetooth) when the VO has instead 6FL (MULF - iPod/USB adapter) and/or 639 (TCU - Assist/Bluetooth)
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2011, 12:19 PM   #47
Shakal
Private First Class
 
Shakal's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Europe

Posts: 189
iTrader: (0)

Thanx a lot

I will post results tommorow.
Shakal is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2011, 06:43 AM   #48
Shakal
Private First Class
 
Shakal's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Europe

Posts: 189
iTrader: (0)

Good news Today I left my car at my dealer. There was other technician who worked on my car today. I wanted to say to him what Juiced46 and Tehnic wrote here, but he immediately knew where the problem is and how to fix it - that somehow I have software for a car with Combox and they need to code CiC for a hw I got. If it won't work, they will call main BMW importer for our country to renew VO codes. One hour later they called me and told that issue is fixed and I can pick a car.. Everything now works like before

Thanx everyone, especially Juiced46 and Tehnic for all your help
Shakal is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2011, 06:37 PM   #49
Juiced46
Major
 
Drives: 03 Turbo Cobra, 2011 335xi
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wallingford CT

Posts: 1,026
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakal View Post
Good news Today I left my car at my dealer. There was other technician who worked on my car today. I wanted to say to him what Juiced46 and Tehnic wrote here, but he immediately knew where the problem is and how to fix it - that somehow I have software for a car with Combox and they need to code CiC for a hw I got. If it won't work, they will call main BMW importer for our country to renew VO codes. One hour later they called me and told that issue is fixed and I can pick a car.. Everything now works like before

Thanx everyone, especially Juiced46 and Tehnic for all your help
No problem! Glad they got it sorted out for you.
Juiced46 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2011, 10:42 PM   #50
themyst
Major General
 
themyst's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,601
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Vehicle Order. The CIC is being coded for 6VC (Combox = iPod/USB adapter and Assist/Bluetooth) when the VO has instead 6FL (MULF - iPod/USB adapter) and/or 639 (TCU - Assist/Bluetooth)
We tried to recode my car using NCSExpert. The problem we ran into was that it refused to read the CIC module saying the expected file is not present. The coder said we have to wait for an update of some sort for NCSExpert. I guess it has something to do with the software update not being able to be read by the currently available NCSExpert files.

I could be wrong.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
themyst is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2011, 09:02 PM   #51
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,910
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by themyst View Post
We tried to recode my car using NCSExpert. The problem we ran into was that it refused to read the CIC module saying the expected file is not present. The coder said we have to wait for an update of some sort for NCSExpert. I guess it has something to do with the software update not being able to be read by the currently available NCSExpert files.

I could be wrong.
The DATEN files are outdated, the NCS version is ok.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-08-2011, 10:34 AM   #52
spazticrecords
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 E90 328 XI
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yorktown Heights, NY.

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

I wonder if I retrofit combox the dealer cant "update" my software with the newest COMBOx revision instead of me having to code it.
spazticrecords is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-08-2011, 04:46 PM   #53
ano0oj
Private First Class
 
Drives: '10 6MT 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: houston

Posts: 191
iTrader: (4)

the dealership has my car currently, I'll call them and let them know of this! thanks
ano0oj is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-09-2011, 05:12 AM   #54
adistoe82
Private
 
adistoe82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Michigan

Posts: 90
iTrader: (3)

Hi,
I had the HPFP recall done at my 09 335I X-drive and I have the same problems now with my I-Drive plus the oil level sensor error. I can't read the oil level in the I-Drive menu. I have attached a few pictures to explain better what is going on. Now under "Vehicle status" I have two icons to check oil level instead of one.When I press the first one, warm engine, I have the "Engine oil level measurement only possible when ..... " and that's it, after a few minutes it remains the same, I don't have the MIN-MAX bar anymore. When I go to the second icon to start the exact measurement I have an error message coming saying that I could have a bad oil level sensor but in the cluster display the oil level function works and it is at max where I knew it was before I had the software upgrade.
I took my car back at the dealer and they had no idea why I have two oil level measurement icons and they said as long as I don't have any lights or error messages on the cluster or I-drive I should wait for my next oil change to have the system checked. First they thought I have a bad oil level sensor but after I showed them that the cluster oil level work they didn't know what to say.

I want to go back but I don't know what exactly to ask them to do. I am afraid they will send me on my way again saying that there is nothing major otherwise I would have the check engine light or some warning message on my I-Drive, but that is not my problem, I want to have the system working properly.

Any advice is appreciated
Thank you
Attached Images
    
adistoe82 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2011, 07:40 AM   #55
09Monaco335i
Private
 
Drives: Monaco 335i xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posts: 97
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335i  [0.00]
I have this same problem after the dealer did a software update to my car. I assume this is some type of error related to how the software was installed/coded for my car, and not a sensor hardware problem. Can someone else confirm?

Quote:
Originally Posted by adistoe82 View Post
Hi,
I had the HPFP recall done at my 09 335I X-drive and I have the same problems now with my I-Drive plus the oil level sensor error. I can't read the oil level in the I-Drive menu. I have attached a few pictures to explain better what is going on. Now under "Vehicle status" I have two icons to check oil level instead of one.When I press the first one, warm engine, I have the "Engine oil level measurement only possible when ..... " and that's it, after a few minutes it remains the same, I don't have the MIN-MAX bar anymore. When I go to the second icon to start the exact measurement I have an error message coming saying that I could have a bad oil level sensor but in the cluster display the oil level function works and it is at max where I knew it was before I had the software upgrade.
I took my car back at the dealer and they had no idea why I have two oil level measurement icons and they said as long as I don't have any lights or error messages on the cluster or I-drive I should wait for my next oil change to have the system checked. First they thought I have a bad oil level sensor but after I showed them that the cluster oil level work they didn't know what to say.

I want to go back but I don't know what exactly to ask them to do. I am afraid they will send me on my way again saying that there is nothing major otherwise I would have the check engine light or some warning message on my I-Drive, but that is not my problem, I want to have the system working properly.

Any advice is appreciated
Thank you
__________________
2009 E90 335i xDrive / Monaco Blue / Beige / 6-speed Manual / Premium / Sport / Cold / iDrive / iPod
09Monaco335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2011, 07:41 PM   #56
Nightfly
Private
 
Nightfly's Avatar
 
Drives: 09' E93
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan

Posts: 97
iTrader: (0)

Just a quick note of thanks to all the thread contributors (especially Technic) for covering this issue so well.

I, like others ran into the problems after going through the HPFP campaign. I did my homework here, called my SA and presented him a copy of the thread. I like my guy a lot and while "on the record" he said he couldn't use it as source material for diagnostics, "off the record" he asked to keep the printouts.

Apparently mine was the first vehicle they've had that needed the recoding (again, off the record, he suspects there are others but the owners just don't know it) Since I was the 'beta' test for the shop, it took a little longer to complete the work, but once done, everything is back to normal. (BTW - I do like having the music collection 'random' checkbox now able to be set as a softkey selection)

A little social engineering hint for anyone getting blowback from their dealer on covering the repair: Let them know you're not blaming them for the problem, it was BMWNA's poor roll out and procedure implementation. Make it clear you appreciate their efforts to clean up BMWNA's mess.

Thanks again e90post'ers !
Nightfly is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2011, 05:03 PM   #57
ano0oj
Private First Class
 
Drives: '10 6MT 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: houston

Posts: 191
iTrader: (4)

I BRING GOOD NEWS!!!! After getting on bmw's ass a few times they finally put their thinking hats on and solved it!

ano0oj is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2011, 10:00 PM   #58
chuzo
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: X5 3.0d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Republic of Panama

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andycam View Post
Today it changed to display Unknown in the box on top here (the track that is currently playing):



As you can see the tracknames are displayed below, but not in the currently playing box. Very strange..!

Another view:



Apart from that it works fine!
hi,

can someone tell me how to switch these screens on the idrive?
chuzo is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 12:36 AM   #59
ukraini9mofo
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 AW e92
Join Date: May 2011
Location: MD

Posts: 183
iTrader: (1)

Hey I know its an older thread, but I just bought 09 e92 and am having the same issue with UNKNOWN ARTIST for my ipod and usb and also the error of reading the oil level in idrive.

I will be stopping by the dealership tomorrow, was just wondering what is the best thing to say to maybe help them out in fixing this issue, if they are completely clueless as some said they might be?

Thanks !
ukraini9mofo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST