E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Adding Powered kicker 10" sub to stock logic 7



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-21-2011, 04:24 PM   #1
jmscard
Private
 
jmscard's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 E90 330i Dinan S1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont

Posts: 81
iTrader: (0)

Adding Powered kicker 10" sub to stock logic 7

Hello...

I have one of the new 10" kicker powered subwoofers...

My question is (and I am sure its been asked before)

My powered sub has both low level and high level inputs... can I just tap into the rear window speakers to get a signal? I don't want to run wires all over if I can help it... I know many say to use a LOC from the under seat woofers but If my amp has high level input ability does that mean I can just use the rear speakers... and will it sound as good? thanks in advance any help is GREATLY appreciated...
jmscard is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 04:59 PM   #2
DrivinMissDaisy
Lieutenant
 
DrivinMissDaisy's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 Kia Soul !
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tehachapi, CA

Posts: 492
iTrader: (3)

Tap the high level connections right off the amp in the trunk. There is a DIY on how to do it.
DrivinMissDaisy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 05:04 PM   #3
kaigoss69
Colonel
 
kaigoss69's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

Posts: 2,981
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrivinMissDaisy View Post
Tap the high level connections right off the amp in the trunk. There is a DIY on how to do it.
That's a recipe for disaster. Most amps cannot accept such high voltage inputs. You'll probably need a line output converter to convert the signal to pre-amp levels.
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > JL Audio HD600/4 > (3) Hybrid Audio L3SE & (2) Rainbow Cal25; JL Audio HD900/5 > (2) Morel HCW-10 & (1) IDMax 15
kaigoss69 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 05:25 PM   #4
jmscard
Private
 
jmscard's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 E90 330i Dinan S1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont

Posts: 81
iTrader: (0)

well does anyone have a link to the DIY thread... and my amp has both high and low level inputs... do you still think It cant take that high of a level?
jmscard is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 05:32 PM   #5
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,978
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmscard View Post
Hello...

I have one of the new 10" kicker powered subwoofers...

My question is (and I am sure its been asked before)

My powered sub has both low level and high level inputs... can I just tap into the rear window speakers to get a signal? I don't want to run wires all over if I can help it... I know many say to use a LOC from the under seat woofers but If my amp has high level input ability does that mean I can just use the rear speakers... and will it sound as good? thanks in advance any help is GREATLY appreciated...
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=581166

That harness/LOC is on backorder until the week of Dec 8.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: September 2011 ED
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 05:45 PM   #6
jmscard
Private
 
jmscard's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 E90 330i Dinan S1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont

Posts: 81
iTrader: (0)

That looks very nice, and easy! I want one!!! wonder if anyone has one for sale or I will need to wait til the 8th? guess I will post a WTB thread.. THANKYOU!
jmscard is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 05:49 PM   #7
cole92
Second Lieutenant
 
cole92's Avatar
 
Drives: too much
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SoFlo / Tri-state / Mid-Atlantic

Posts: 270
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to cole92
If you solely want to save money and get some bass out of it, you can hit a high level input from the L7 amp.

Or buy the pnp harness technic mentioned and run a set of rca's with your remote wire.
cole92 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 05:53 PM   #8
jmscard
Private
 
jmscard's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 E90 330i Dinan S1
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont

Posts: 81
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cole92 View Post
If you solely want to save money and get some bass out of it, you can hit a high level input from the L7 amp.

Or buy the pnp harness technic mentioned and run a set of rca's with your remote wire.
my powered sub can use the high level wires and when I turn on the car that will also turn on my box with no need to even run a remote wire... its one of the newest kicker powered boxes... used it for a short time in my e46.... where can I find the high level wires on the amp? I don't wanna just dig around for em'

Thanks for the help from all of you.... MUCH APPRECIATED!!
jmscard is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 06:07 PM   #9
BLKLYZ
Colonel
 
BLKLYZ's Avatar
 
Drives: BSM 335i E92
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: FT. Bragg, NC.

Posts: 2,271
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2007 335i  [4.50]
Great info!
__________________
OSS AE's/LCI Tails/R1 Concepts C/D Rotors/ER CP/UR CAI/Vossen CV3's/H&R Sports/Koni Yellows/M3 bits
BLKLYZ is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-21-2011, 06:44 PM   #10
cole92
Second Lieutenant
 
cole92's Avatar
 
Drives: too much
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SoFlo / Tri-state / Mid-Atlantic

Posts: 270
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to cole92
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmscard View Post
my powered sub can use the high level wires and when I turn on the car that will also turn on my box with no need to even run a remote wire... its one of the newest kicker powered boxes... used it for a short time in my e46.... where can I find the high level wires on the amp? I don't wanna just dig around for em'

Thanks for the help from all of you.... MUCH APPRECIATED!!
Normally they are twisted in pairs coming off the amp. It might be listed here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=601485 but always double check.
cole92 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-22-2011, 09:04 AM   #11
nemiahm
New Member
 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alabama

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Technic, How can I order the harness? I have a 2008 335I with Logic 7
nemiahm is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-22-2011, 09:16 AM   #12
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,978
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nemiahm View Post
Technic, How can I order the harness? I have a 2008 335I with Logic 7
Use PM, please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post

That harness/LOC is on backorder until the week of Dec 8.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: September 2011 ED
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST