Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


TireRack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > Fooling the TPMS System - Having Issues



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-27-2011, 11:06 AM   #1
DC441
Private
DC441's Avatar
0
Rep
67
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E92 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Homer Glen, IL

iTrader: (3)

Fooling the TPMS System - Having Issues

Hello, all this is my first post on the forum. I bought my 07 e92 335i about 5 months ago, and just put winter tires on. I plan on buying different wheels in the spring so i had them leave the TPMS sensors out. I put them all in a PVC pipe, capped both ends, and drilled a hole and put in a valve stem i got from the tire shop. I filled it up to 33 psi, and reset my system. Once i reset it the Low Pressure light goes off but once i drive for like 3 minutes the TPMS "INACTIVE" light comes on and im back to square one. Anyone know why putting them in this pressurized tube instead of the wheels wouldnt work? Im trying to save myself a couple hundred bucks on a second set.

This isn't mine, but one I saw online. Its basically the exact same.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 12:36 PM   #2
chromisdesigns
Lieutenant Colonel
21
Rep
1,754
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i sedan
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (0)

Unless the sensors require a pressure differential to function(in which case, putting them in a pressure can will never work), where are you keeping the container? The car antennas that communicate with the sensors are located near the wheels, IIRC. Maybe they aren't talkiing to the car.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2011, 12:38 PM   #3
IancoleTX
Dillo boxers
IancoleTX's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
3,041
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA

iTrader: (13)

inactive means no signal at all, so start with that. Good luck!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST