E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > halogen to xenon



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-03-2011, 03:00 AM   #1
JinLee09
Second Lieutenant
 
JinLee09's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: DFW

Posts: 277
iTrader: (0)

halogen to xenon

hello guys i need help!!!
so i bought me a pair of adaptive xenon headlight with ballast and module.
when i hook the headlights only halo works but not hids!! is this normal? i mean do i have to do some coding?? (i do have dcan cable so i can do some coding) if yes can anyone help me with coding like what i need to do? thank you!
JinLee09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2011, 06:05 PM   #2
Trevendous03
photographer // designer
 
Trevendous03's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i E90 SG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Posts: 380
iTrader: (1)

There's a DIY on this forum if you search for it. I wrote my own DIY for someone recently that's kind of an amendment to the other DIY, but you have to use it together with the other one, so it's not confusing, because I did leave out some steps in mine that were explained better in the other...

Anyway, there's two things you'll need to do.

1. Code the car for xenon first "Changing the Vehicle Order (VO)" by adding $522 to the FA string in the VO.

2. Code out all bulb checks within the headlight, including turn signal and parking lamp and of course high beam and low beam.

Here's some of my tutorial for Step #1. First, please review the Change Vehicle Order PDF that's in the coding section of this forum. Then proceed to review my process. Otherwise, you won't have a clue what I'm talking about.

Here's what you want to do:

1. Install the headlights and enjoy the xenon.
2. Adjust the aim of your headlights using the adjustment arms that require a Philips screwdriver.
3. Connect the coding cable normally, and open NCSExpert with your profile as normal.
4. After you click CAS module in the beginning, you'll get to the screen where you see the Chassis, the FG (VIN), the FA string with all the $ signs and hash marks and numbers, and the "Get Coded" at the bottom with every module listed.
5. Click Process ECU and select CAS from the submodules.
6. Click Read ECU.
7. Once it is read, open your TRC file in notepad, clear it out blank, and save it as your MAN file.
8. Do the coapiRead and SG_CODIEREN stuff like normal. This will set the CAS submodule back to stock.
9. Click the F1 button which will allow you to change the ECU.
10. Select your chassis again (if it makes you do that) then select NFRM from the submodule listing.
11. Repeat steps 6-8 to set the NFRM submodule back to stock.
12. Back out with the F6 button Zur/Back, and you should see the window I talked about in step 4.
13. Press F1 VIN/ZCS/FA
14. Press F2 Enter FA
15. Choose the chassis E89
16. The VIN should auto-fill in the field... make sure Calculate checksum is NOT CHECKED and click OK.
17. Type $522 in the Attribute field and click "Add"
18. Scroll down the list to make sure it was added.
19. Click OK
20. Press F6 Back
21. Press F4 Process ECU and select CAS submodule.
22. Press F2 Change Job and select FA_WRITE
23. Execute Job
24. Once job has ended, press F2 Change Job and select SG_CODIEREN and Execute Job.
25. Once job has ended, you should be able to select F1 to change the ECU and select NFRM.
25. Repeat steps 13-20.
26. Press F4 Process ECU and select NFRM submodule.
27. Repeat steps 22-24.

That should change the VO for you and give you the proper codes when you go back in and Read the NFRM from the new VO.

After you have done your normal read of the NFRM ECU submodule. Open your TRC, save it as MAN like normal, and do this:

Search for the self leveling line of code AUTO_LWR_ENABLE and change to nicht_aktiv

To enable inner halogen light as high beam and essentially reactivate the bixenon...

Search for
PWM_ANST_FL_BIXENON
wert_02
wert_03

Change it to
PWM_ANST_FL_BIXENON
wert_01
wert_01

Coding for xenon is complete. You can now go back and add all your cool features again and disable all the bulb checks, etc.

Step #2
Please Review this post I wrote http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...1&postcount=83
Trevendous03 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2011, 10:58 PM   #3
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

There is a few things you must do to get the OEM Lights to work. Coding is one part, but you need to do some modifications to the OEM headlights (small wiring)

1) Wiring Modifications:

Wiring needs to be done because the negative pin used on the xenon lights, is not in the same spot as the halogen headlight.

Your Lowbeam xenons are not turning on because there is no complete circuit (aftermarket headlights don't have this issue cause the lights are built usign the same pin configuration for a halogen setup. Either way, the mod is soo simple to do and worth it with OEM lights.

Some members have done a great job setting up a DIY for this part. All credit goes to them for getting all the wiring information:

There is 2 ways of doing this part. The first way is doing the modifications outside of the headlights.
Take a look at this DIY: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...non+conversion

The second was is to mod the wires internally in the headlight (the way I wanted to do it so it keeps things hidden and clean).

I lost my DIY pm (with pictures) for this part, but I can explain it.
-Look in the headlight.
- Look for the yellow and black wire that leads to the ballast
-locate the brown wire that located on your high beam.
-Using a butt connector, connect the black and brown wire together (be sure to connect them closest to the headlight connector so you have some slack when you need to replace the bulbs

That is pretty much it. If you want to get yout xenon highbeam working, please follow the link above and read the section of enabling the bi-xenon feature. Make sure your halogen high beam is not set to DRL mode (code it off or change it to your AE).

That is what is required for wiring modifications.

2) Coding Car
Install the xenon headlights and then proceed with coding your car.

Here is another DIY if you need it:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ht=desi4life10

If you do decide to do the bi-xenon feature (xenon high beam), make sure you code the PWM_ANST_FL_BIXENON lines according to the DIY.

This will allow you to get your highbeams back when you do the conversion.

Last edited by DESI4life10; 12-17-2011 at 11:04 PM.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2011, 11:04 PM   #4
JinLee09
Second Lieutenant
 
JinLee09's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: DFW

Posts: 277
iTrader: (0)

Thank You Sooo Much Trev And Desi!!!!
JinLee09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2011, 11:06 PM   #5
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Coding is one part but not the only thing for OEM light conversion.

Make sure you do part 1 in order to get the xenons to turn on. You can test this without the need to code first by plugging the connector to the headlight (for testing purpose). In case you wanted to make sure they work first before taking the bumper off etc.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2011, 11:44 PM   #6
JinLee09
Second Lieutenant
 
JinLee09's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: DFW

Posts: 277
iTrader: (0)

so after coding will i see any error(s)?
JinLee09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-17-2011, 11:57 PM   #7
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Nope. You will be good to go.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2011, 12:34 PM   #8
Trevendous03
photographer // designer
 
Trevendous03's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i E90 SG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Posts: 380
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
Nope. You will be good to go.
Desi is right about the wiring. Coding will get rid of all your errors, but to get the lights to function properly, the wiring must be done first and done right. I bought my lights pre-wired for bixenon, angel eyes, etc., so all I had to do was code.
Trevendous03 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2011, 12:35 PM   #9
JinLee09
Second Lieutenant
 
JinLee09's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: DFW

Posts: 277
iTrader: (0)

so i was doing some research last night and found out about auto leveling???
i know since i wont have adaptive feature where it moves right and left. will i at least have auto leveling? thanks
JinLee09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2011, 01:41 PM   #10
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Auto leveling requires you to retrofit the module on the fron and rear lower control arm. You then need to route the wires into your fRM (light) module etc. Basically it requires more work and you need to confirm if you frm module as slos reserved for this module retrofit.

I decided to disable the self levelling lines as I didn't want to go through the hassle.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2011, 01:57 PM   #11
JinLee09
Second Lieutenant
 
JinLee09's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: DFW

Posts: 277
iTrader: (0)

gotcha! thank you once again!
JinLee09 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 08:40 PM   #12
Virterm
Private First Class
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ottawa, canada

Posts: 137
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
If you want to get yout xenon highbeam working, please follow the link above and read the section of enabling the bi-xenon feature. Make sure your halogen high beam is not set to DRL mode (code it off or change it to your AE).


If you do decide to do the bi-xenon feature (xenon high beam), make sure you code the PWM_ANST_FL_BIXENON lines according to the DIY.

This will allow you to get your highbeams back when you do the conversion.
I will be retrofitting non-adaptive lights, so I will not have any halogen bulbs there, just bi-xenon. I understand that wiring changes for bi-xenon is required, but do I still need to make changes to PWM_ANST_FL_BIXENON ???
Also, if I make sure that high beam is not set to DRL mode, will I have a problem with xenon stutter not working properly at 6V? Or should I be ok, since high beam will operate at normal voltage (12V)?
Virterm is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 08:51 PM   #13
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Virterm View Post
I will be retrofitting non-adaptive lights, so I will not have any halogen bulbs there, just bi-xenon. I understand that wiring changes for bi-xenon is required, but do I still need to make changes to PWM_ANST_FL_BIXENON ???
Also, if I make sure that high beam is not set to DRL mode, will I have a problem with xenon stutter not working properly at 6V? Or should I be ok, since high beam will operate at normal voltage (12V)?
Yes you still need to make the changes to the line as you will use lose your highbeam.

And by not shutting the drl off, you will hear a humming noise from the shutter and it will turn off once you flash the high beam. It will happen at every startup until you flash it or if you turn the DRL off.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 09:12 PM   #14
Virterm
Private First Class
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ottawa, canada

Posts: 137
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
Yes you still need to make the changes to the line as you will use lose your highbeam.

And by not shutting the drl off, you will hear a humming noise from the shutter and it will turn off once you flash the high beam. It will happen at every startup until you flash it or if you turn the DRL off.
Thank you,
Do you have any suggestions about 3 little LEDs (pin 7 I believe)? Should I just wire them to run together with AE (pin 1)? Or perhaps I should just keep them off? Also, what is the best method to make wiring changes inside the housing? Can I get the actual socket (for wiring harness) out of the housing, so soldering could be done, or should I just splice actual wires?
Virterm is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 11:50 PM   #15
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: canada

Posts: 216
iTrader: (1)

i have a lil problem with my shutter once in while it doesnt wanna open up fully seems like too much power or not enough power anyone know how to fix this problem. I did change this line but still no luck..i have the lci non adaptive lights. And i did all the wiring and installed the self leveling but cant seems to get that working..when i coded the car with $522 i never got the self leveling error so i'm guessing i mite need a different frm maybe frm3 right now i have frm2 the car came with halogen.
This is the line i changed to get the shutter working.
PWM_ANST_FL_BIXENON
wert_01
wert_01
charles.soori is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 04:25 AM   #16
Virterm
Private First Class
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ottawa, canada

Posts: 137
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles.soori View Post
i have a lil problem with my shutter once in while it doesnt wanna open up fully seems like too much power or not enough power anyone know how to fix this problem. I did change this line but still no luck..i have the lci non adaptive lights. And i did all the wiring and installed the self leveling but cant seems to get that working..when i coded the car with $522 i never got the self leveling error so i'm guessing i mite need a different frm maybe frm3 right now i have frm2 the car came with halogen.
This is the line i changed to get the shutter working.
PWM_ANST_FL_BIXENON
wert_01
wert_01
I believe you just need to make sure that your high beam (bi-xenon setup) is not configured to be part of AE? With Halo AE, you get high beam dimmed by powering the bulb at lower voltage (6V???), in case of a shutter; you have a problem as shutter struggles to operate at low voltage. If you disable high beams as AE, you will always provide full 12V to your high beam, thus most likely your problem will be eliminated. I am still waiting for my lux, so can not really test it, plus I need to modify the wiring before changing my lights.

Last edited by Virterm; 05-18-2012 at 04:33 AM.
Virterm is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2012, 01:27 PM   #17
O YAH EH
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 323i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: guelph

Posts: 122
iTrader: (0)

i did the wiring mod, and thank you so much. but, i turn the headlights on with the car not running, all is well. i start the car, the xenons stay on for a few seconds, then flicker, and shut off. is this because i have not had the car coded yet? before i go ripping off my bumper to install, i'd like to know if i am doing anything wrong. any help would be appreciated. thanx
O YAH EH is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-07-2012, 05:58 AM   #18
O YAH EH
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 323i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: guelph

Posts: 122
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DESI4life10 View Post
There is a few things you must do to get the OEM Lights to work. Coding is one part, but you need to do some modifications to the OEM headlights (small wiring)

1) Wiring Modifications:

Wiring needs to be done because the negative pin used on the xenon lights, is not in the same spot as the halogen headlight.

Your Lowbeam xenons are not turning on because there is no complete circuit (aftermarket headlights don't have this issue cause the lights are built usign the same pin configuration for a halogen setup. Either way, the mod is soo simple to do and worth it with OEM lights.

Some members have done a great job setting up a DIY for this part. All credit goes to them for getting all the wiring information:

There is 2 ways of doing this part. The first way is doing the modifications outside of the headlights.
Take a look at this DIY: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...non+conversion

The second was is to mod the wires internally in the headlight (the way I wanted to do it so it keeps things hidden and clean).

I lost my DIY pm (with pictures) for this part, but I can explain it.
-Look in the headlight.
- Look for the yellow and black wire that leads to the ballast
-locate the brown wire that located on your high beam.
-Using a butt connector, connect the black and brown wire together (be sure to connect them closest to the headlight connector so you have some slack when you need to replace the bulbs

That is pretty much it. If you want to get yout xenon highbeam working, please follow the link above and read the section of enabling the bi-xenon feature. Make sure your halogen high beam is not set to DRL mode (code it off or change it to your AE).

That is what is required for wiring modifications.

2) Coding Car
Install the xenon headlights and then proceed with coding your car.

Here is another DIY if you need it:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ht=desi4life10

If you do decide to do the bi-xenon feature (xenon high beam), make sure you code the PWM_ANST_FL_BIXENON lines according to the DIY.

This will allow you to get your highbeams back when you do the conversion.
massive help! cheers
O YAH EH is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-20-2012, 12:03 PM   #19
teaston
Brigadier General
 
teaston's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norwich, UK

Posts: 4,104
iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know if the MANUAL leveling will work? i.e. the adjuster wheel next to the light switch?

It's strange i can't find a single mention of this despite searching for hours!

Any information on this will be greatly appreciated!
teaston is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST