E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Which fuse should I tap in my e92?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-20-2011, 03:42 PM   #1
ModQuench
Captain
 
ModQuench's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i Space Grey
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Florida

Posts: 777
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 E92 335i  [4.38]
Which fuse should I tap in my e92?

I am installing a rear camera and I need a constant +12V and ground. can anybody recommend which to tap? I am going to buy a Fuse Tap at advance auto parts. Camera only uses .05A, and I was told to use a 5A fuse.

If anybody has a link to a DIY thread where this was already done I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Elie
ModQuench is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2011, 08:32 AM   #2
pkirk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by eliemman View Post
I am installing a rear camera and I need a constant +12V and ground. can anybody recommend which to tap? I am going to buy a Fuse Tap at advance auto parts. Camera only uses .05A, and I was told to use a 5A fuse.

If anybody has a link to a DIY thread where this was already done I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Elie
Just connected mine to the fuse box last week. In my case i chose to connect to an empty location. Used a spade on the end of an inline fuse assembly and routed to the trunk. Use a meter to confirm voltage - should have multiple locations to choose from.
pkirk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2011, 09:17 AM   #3
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
I would tap the wire going to the reverse lights so it's triggered to go on only when you're in reverse.

Otherwise, it's going to stay on whenever your car is on.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2011, 09:31 AM   #4
pkirk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
I would tap the wire going to the reverse lights so it's triggered to go on only when you're in reverse.

Otherwise, it's going to stay on whenever your car is on.
In my experience, and apparently others', the reverse light power is not consistent enough for powering the camera. Refer to this post for alternate wiring: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=425343

I pulled the relay trigger from my reverse light and camera power from fuse box. I didn't want constant power to be in the camera as you mention.
pkirk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2011, 09:53 AM   #5
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkirk View Post
In my experience, and apparently others', the reverse light power is not consistent enough for powering the camera. Refer to this post for alternate wiring: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=425343

I pulled the relay trigger from my reverse light and camera power from fuse box. I didn't want constant power to be in the camera as you mention.
Gotcha. Have you tried coding? And raising voltage? Or maybe a boost converter?

EDIT: I'm not sure how much current your camera draws but something like this will step up the 11.7v to up to 14v....and anywhere in between. You set the output voltage with the pot on the side of the unit. Input voltage can be anywhere from 2.6V - 14V and the output voltage will remain the same....no dropout. I think this is better than running a wire from your fuse panel to your trunk. I know you need to run an RCA anyway for the video feed but it would cut down on wiring.

If you've never soldered before or don't want to, they sell a breakout board with screw terminals.

http://www.dimensionengineering.com/AnyVoltMicro.htm

Last edited by fdriller9; 12-21-2011 at 10:08 AM.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2011, 10:53 AM   #6
pkirk
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 328XI
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Manchester, NH

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
Gotcha. Have you tried coding? And raising voltage? Or maybe a boost converter?

EDIT: I'm not sure how much current your camera draws but something like this will step up the 11.7v to up to 14v....and anywhere in between. You set the output voltage with the pot on the side of the unit. Input voltage can be anywhere from 2.6V - 14V and the output voltage will remain the same....no dropout. I think this is better than running a wire from your fuse panel to your trunk. I know you need to run an RCA anyway for the video feed but it would cut down on wiring.

If you've never soldered before or don't want to, they sell a breakout board with screw terminals.

http://www.dimensionengineering.com/AnyVoltMicro.htm
Wow, this is great, thanks! Unfortunately too late for my benefit.

I got a wireless transmitter/receiver for my camera, so no RCA cable routing required. The only wire I ran through the vehicle ended up being the single power wire, but I did that in less than 1 hour (including pulling the trunk liner and rewiring the system with relay circuit).
pkirk is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-21-2011, 10:56 AM   #7
fdriller9
Banned
 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

Posts: 7,090
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkirk View Post
Wow, this is great, thanks! Unfortunately too late for my benefit.

I got a wireless transmitter/receiver for my camera, so no RCA cable routing required. The only wire I ran through the vehicle ended up being the single power wire, but I did that in less than 1 hour (including pulling the trunk liner and rewiring the system with relay circuit).
To add, I would put a zener diode on the power wire going into the converter rated for 14v so there is no chance of a spike in voltage blowing it out.
fdriller9 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST