E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Changing triple turn signal blink count



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-21-2011, 12:39 AM   #1
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Changing triple turn signal blink count

I remember someone asking this a few weeks ago so I thought i'd give it a shot.

It's actually very easy. I've attached a screen shot of the HEX code that needs to be changed. The HEX file on the left is single blink and the HEX on the right is triple blink. Just change the highlighted characters to any value you want and reflash using the modified NETTODAT file. I changed mine to six blinks.


13 = 4 blinks
17 = 5 blinks
BB = 6 blinks
(thanks srwatters)
Attached Images
 
__________________

Last edited by Rotary Rasp; 12-22-2011 at 03:19 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 02:20 AM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,338
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

The value went from 27 to 2f

Whats the logic behind this the value changes by a count of 8 for
a 3 blink change . I guess I don't understand the bit mapping or weighting. What is the final value for a 6 blinks?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 02:38 AM   #3
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
Whats the logic behind this the value changes by a count of 8 for
a 3 blink change . I guess I don't understand the bit mapping or weighting. What is the final value for a 6 blinks?
BB = six blinks

I don't follow the logic either.... but it works.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 03:27 AM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,338
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Thanks

How did you zero in on that location at all ?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 08:53 AM   #5
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
103
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
I could have sworn you can do this through the BC menus.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 09:31 AM   #6
NiVeDh
Major General
NiVeDh's Avatar
United_States
158
Rep
8,014
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i, '99 E36 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ********* View Post
I could have sworn you can do this through the BC menus.
Using the BC stalk or iDrive, you can only activate or deactivate triple-blink, not change the number of blinks.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 09:47 AM   #7
wrickem
doesn't really care
wrickem's Avatar
25
Rep
2,302
Posts

 
Drives: what he wants to
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: lambertville nj

iTrader: (0)

Wow that's a lot of blinks for a lane change!
__________________
______________________________________________
'14 528-xdrive - daily driver/winter beater, '06 Boxster - for fun, '07 M6- for even more fun.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 09:51 AM   #8
fdriller9
Banned
United_States
103
Rep
7,090
Posts

 
Drives: '06 AW 330xi
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Jersey/Philly/NYC

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330xi  [3.22]
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
Using the BC stalk or iDrive, you can only activate or deactivate triple-blink, not change the number of blinks.
Ohhhh gotcha. I quickly skimmed this thread. My bad.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 11:21 AM   #9
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
How did you zero in on that location at all ?
The very scientific method of trial and error. I can't think of any other way until someone figures out the logic or tries all 255 possible combinations.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 01:22 PM   #10
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
7
Rep
584
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Thanks Rotary! I'm the one who was asking about increasing the blink count on the soft-touch turn signals! I haven't played with NETTODAT yet, will have to read up on making these modifications! Hopefully will have time tonight to play with it...
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 05:29 PM   #11
anerbe
Major
12
Rep
1,248
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 S4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: BH, MI

iTrader: (1)

in the BC or idrive, does it change the display to show 6 instead of 3?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 06:10 PM   #12
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by anerbe View Post
in the BC or idrive, does it change the display to show 6 instead of 3?
No. And if you change it on the BC or iDrive it will revert back to stock. So it's best not to mess with those functions.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 06:41 PM   #13
srwatters
Camera Man
United_States
0
Rep
56
Posts

 
Drives: '11 E90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Plano, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [5.00]
2008 BMW X5  [0.00]
This is only conjecture, but if you look at it in binary and mask off the least significant two bits (11) that aren't changing and ignore the top three bits, you see this:

0x27 = xxx0 01xx = 1
0x2f = xxx0 11xx = 3
0xbb = xxx1 10xx = 6

Did you try 0x3b or 0x1b? If that also gives you 6 blinks, then my hypothesis would hold. If it doesn't, then the top three bits might have other usage. I would also try 0x17 or 0x37 to see if that results in 5 blinks or 0x13 or 0x33 to get 4.

(I write embedded controller software for a living so this is sort of like a second language...)
__________________
Current - 11 E90 335i, 08 E70 X5 3.0i
Gone - 04 E46 330i, 95 E36 M3
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 07:29 PM   #14
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,338
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Is it a down counter or and actual value

If its a down counter timer then the values could be approximate.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 07:45 PM   #15
justa3series
Banned
1
Rep
161
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

iTrader: (1)

Use NCSDummy, find appriopriate value then change it. There is no trial and error if you do it right. Max value this takes is 7 and that's way too high. I set 4 just right and 5 is one too many.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 07:56 PM   #16
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srwatters View Post
This is only conjecture, but if you look at it in binary and mask off the least significant two bits (11) that aren't changing and ignore the top three bits, you see this:

0x27 = xxx0 01xx = 1
0x2f = xxx0 11xx = 3
0xbb = xxx1 10xx = 6

Did you try 0x3b or 0x1b? If that also gives you 6 blinks, then my hypothesis would hold. If it doesn't, then the top three bits might have other usage. I would also try 0x17 or 0x37 to see if that results in 5 blinks or 0x13 or 0x33 to get 4.

(I write embedded controller software for a living so this is sort of like a second language...)

I'll give it shot tonight.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2011, 03:17 AM   #17
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srwatters View Post
This is only conjecture, but if you look at it in binary and mask off the least significant two bits (11) that aren't changing and ignore the top three bits, you see this:

0x27 = xxx0 01xx = 1
0x2f = xxx0 11xx = 3
0xbb = xxx1 10xx = 6

Did you try 0x3b or 0x1b? If that also gives you 6 blinks, then my hypothesis would hold. If it doesn't, then the top three bits might have other usage. I would also try 0x17 or 0x37 to see if that results in 5 blinks or 0x13 or 0x33 to get 4.

(I write embedded controller software for a living so this is sort of like a second language...)
You are 100% correct 0x17 = 5 blinks and 0x13 = 4 blinks.

Now please explain the logic?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2011, 08:57 AM   #18
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
7
Rep
584
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srwatters View Post
(I write embedded controller software for a living...)
I never would've guessed.

Don't leave these forums, you could be useful to us. We'll buy a drink though.

Wonder what else is contained in the NETTODAT file.
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2011, 09:16 AM   #19
srwatters
Camera Man
United_States
0
Rep
56
Posts

 
Drives: '11 E90 335i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Plano, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [5.00]
2008 BMW X5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotary Rasp View Post
You are 100% correct 0x17 = 5 blinks and 0x13 = 4 blinks.

Now please explain the logic?
Firmware programmers are notoriously stingy with memory. Unlike application programmers who now have gigabytes of memory to use, embedded software engineers often pack as much as we can into very little space. So if all you need is three bits to control a feature, why use all 8 in a byte? It's also possible that the other bits at this location control or are status or settings for the similar features, like perhaps blink rate or duration. Again that's all just a guess without seeing some source code or design documents on the module.

Having said that, except for in extremely low cost systems, most current trends are to have far more resources than you need. The cost of megabytes now is what we once paid for bits. But if you're selling hundreds of thousands, even a few dimes can make a difference given the count of modules in every BMW.

And I'll stick around. I've only coded a few things that irked me on my two bimmers. Since they're both still under warranty, I'm not messing too much with them. Maybe I need a project car ;-)
__________________
Current - 11 E90 335i, 08 E70 X5 3.0i
Gone - 04 E46 330i, 95 E36 M3
Appreciate 0
      12-22-2011, 05:55 PM   #20
justa3series
Banned
1
Rep
161
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 328xi
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY

iTrader: (1)

You can use NCSdummy and see what eat bit and value is for the module to code via nettodat.
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2011, 02:51 AM   #21
Rotary Rasp
Lieutenant Colonel
Rotary Rasp's Avatar
39
Rep
1,631
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal - Torrance

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by srwatters View Post
Firmware programmers are notoriously stingy with memory. Unlike application programmers who now have gigabytes of memory to use, embedded software engineers often pack as much as we can into very little space. So if all you need is three bits to control a feature, why use all 8 in a byte? It's also possible that the other bits at this location control or are status or settings for the similar features, like perhaps blink rate or duration. Again that's all just a guess without seeing some source code or design documents on the module.

Having said that, except for in extremely low cost systems, most current trends are to have far more resources than you need. The cost of megabytes now is what we once paid for bits. But if you're selling hundreds of thousands, even a few dimes can make a difference given the count of modules in every BMW.

And I'll stick around. I've only coded a few things that irked me on my two bimmers. Since they're both still under warranty, I'm not messing too much with them. Maybe I need a project car ;-)

Good work. I'm impressed that you were able to figure that out. Now get to work on discovering new features to hack!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2011, 06:01 PM   #22
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
7
Rep
584
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

NCSDummy -- I'm sold. I searched the thing up, a lot of hard work went into that program. I hope it works well. I also see in the screenshot the one option I want and haven't figured out how to enable---auto lock the doors when driving off. (In e90's built before Sept 2005 this option is not in the OBC).

Sweet deal.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST