E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > My Sub Upgrade



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-20-2011, 09:58 PM   #1
naamanf
Private First Class
1
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 11' 335d '10 MDX '79 TA OH-58D
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Austin

iTrader: (0)

My Sub Upgrade

Upgraded the EPS system in my d with a pair of Jehnerts under the seats and a Morel Ultimo SC 10" in a homemade epoxy glass enclosure in the trunk. Powered by a JL XD 400/4. I was planning on getting some (better) matching carpet but just got tired of looking at 'glass. Definitely improves the low end but the EPS system still needs a bit more EQ work which I plan to do with a MiniDSP. A Zapco DC amp would have worked better but I already had the JL sitting around without a home.

Big thanks to Don Amann (6spdcoupe) of Unexpected Creations and Technic for his kick ass harnesses and support he provides to the community .

__________________

335d M-Sport/Everything + Individual, 550i M-Sport ED APR 2014
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2011, 10:41 PM   #2
THE TECH
Lieutenant General
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts

 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Very nice.

Here's mine:

__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 08:52 AM   #3
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
7
Rep
584
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Very nice, clean install.
I'm looking to do something similar with a Zapco as well.

I'm assuming you have a Logic 7 stereo, and the subs under the seats were just a straight swap? How much difference do the Jehnerts make as a direct swap?
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 11:06 AM   #4
naamanf
Private First Class
1
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 11' 335d '10 MDX '79 TA OH-58D
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Austin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZZZ View Post
Very nice, clean install.
I'm looking to do something similar with a Zapco as well.

I'm assuming you have a Logic 7 stereo, and the subs under the seats were just a straight swap? How much difference do the Jehnerts make as a direct swap?
I have the EPS stereo, but it was a straight swap. I never tried them with the stock amp, but with the JL I thought it definitely improved the lower end. I still felt a bit more was needed, I'm not a base head, just felt it was missing a bit. It also needs some eq work but I imagine it would be a bit different with the Logic 7.
__________________

335d M-Sport/Everything + Individual, 550i M-Sport ED APR 2014
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 11:36 AM   #5
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
7
Rep
584
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by naamanf View Post
I have the EPS stereo, but it was a straight swap. I never tried them with the stock amp, but with the JL I thought it definitely improved the lower end. I still felt a bit more was needed, I'm not a base head, just felt it was missing a bit. It also needs some eq work but I imagine it would be a bit different with the Logic 7.
I'd love to swap my amp out for something else, but doing so with the Logic 7 system is a lot more difficult as I would lose my center speaker, and the connection from the head unit to the amp is fiber optic and already split for 7 channel audio. The amp powers the subs as well as the midbass/mids/highs.

I don't know the specs of the stock Logic7 amp and which subwoofers would pair well with it.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 11:38 AM   #6
THE TECH
Lieutenant General
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts

 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZZZ View Post
I'd love to swap my amp out for something else, but doing so with the Logic 7 system is a lot more difficult as I would lose my center speaker, and the connection from the head unit to the amp is fiber optic and already split for 7 channel audio. The amp powers the subs as well as the midbass/mids/highs.

I don't know the specs of the stock Logic7 amp and which subwoofers would pair well with it.
Why not just add an amp for a sub? Check out www.musicarnw.com It's who I used. You won't lose any of the stock functionality.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 01:20 PM   #7
ZZZZ
Lieutenant
7
Rep
584
Posts

 
Drives: Z4 3.0i winterbeater
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
Why not just add an amp for a sub? Check out www.musicarnw.com It's who I used. You won't lose any of the stock functionality.
Thanks, that is useful. I emailed them. I have 3x JL Audio 10W6's sitting in my e36 that I'd like to repurpose for my e90. (only 1 of them). So I need some way of getting that digital subwoofer signal from the Logic7 and into another amp for the 10W6. I can build my own enclosure for it. Hopefully they have a solution for me.
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 01:22 PM   #8
THE TECH
Lieutenant General
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts

 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZZZ View Post
Thanks, that is useful. I emailed them. I have 3x JL Audio 10W6's sitting in my e36 that I'd like to repurpose for my e90. (only 1 of them). So I need some way of getting that digital subwoofer signal from the Logic7 and into another amp for the 10W6. I can build my own enclosure for it. Hopefully they have a solution for me.
Yeah, not sure if they use the same item for the Logic 7 since I have Enhanced Premium, but I have the LC2i which takes care of the signal business end of things.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-21-2011, 04:07 PM   #9
naamanf
Private First Class
1
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 11' 335d '10 MDX '79 TA OH-58D
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Austin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZZZ View Post
Thanks, that is useful. I emailed them. I have 3x JL Audio 10W6's sitting in my e36 that I'd like to repurpose for my e90. (only 1 of them). So I need some way of getting that digital subwoofer signal from the Logic7 and into another amp for the 10W6. I can build my own enclosure for it. Hopefully they have a solution for me.
PM Technic, he provides harnesses that allow you to add a sub amp.
__________________

335d M-Sport/Everything + Individual, 550i M-Sport ED APR 2014
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2011, 04:01 PM   #10
Thrasher
New Member
Canada
0
Rep
28
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Why did you choose to put the sub on the right covering the battery and tools instead of putting it on the left where there's more room?
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2011, 04:09 PM   #11
THE TECH
Lieutenant General
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts

 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
In regards to mine, Musicarnw only makes the setup one way.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2011, 04:29 PM   #12
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
VP Electricity's Avatar
United_States
70
Rep
3,181
Posts

 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrasher View Post
Why did you choose to put the sub on the right covering the battery and tools instead of putting it on the left where there's more room?
If your amp is under the tray in the stock amp location, tuning the system is a huge PITA.

Putting it IN the battery door lets you keep 100% of the trunk floor area.

The woofer the OP used doesn't need more room.
__________________
Musicar Northwest - TOP 12 Retailer 2014
OE-Look Enclosures for F30/F80, F32/F82, and more!
Ask about our bolt-in audio upgrades for BMW.
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2011, 05:39 PM   #13
naamanf
Private First Class
1
Rep
143
Posts

 
Drives: 11' 335d '10 MDX '79 TA OH-58D
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Austin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrasher View Post
Why did you choose to put the sub on the right covering the battery and tools instead of putting it on the left where there's more room?
Pretty much what VP said, but I have the amp on the left hand side under the CD changer trunk trim. I have a d with very little room under the middle trunk trim.

The only tool my car came with is for the sunroof. Don't plan on using that anytime soon or do I regularly need access to the battery. On that off chance I do the sub easily comes out with one bolt.
__________________

335d M-Sport/Everything + Individual, 550i M-Sport ED APR 2014
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2011, 09:15 PM   #14
Dozhdbog
Lieutenant Colonel
Dozhdbog's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,555
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hollywood

iTrader: (0)

How do you know what stereo you have? I am in a 2011 335i sedan with premium package.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST