E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > Connecting TV, Sky HD and Home Cinema Kit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-07-2012, 06:58 PM   #23
daveyM3
Private First Class
 
daveyM3's Avatar
 
Drives: Melbourne Red M3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: N. Ireland

Posts: 141
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doc_ab View Post
Not strictly true as most amps will support pass through as Chris330D says. I use my amp this way with a harmony remote. So if I want just sky through tv I press watch tv. Sky box and tv are turned on with sound via tv speakers. If I want to hear sound via amp and 5.1 speakers I press watch sky and as well as tv and sky box amp is also turned on and all correct inputs selected.
Must admit I never knew this was possible. Every days a school day!
daveyM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2012, 04:12 AM   #24
davyk31
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Audi SQ5 & Golf GTD
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern Ireland

Posts: 4,411
iTrader: (0)

Haven't had time to connect yet, today hopefully.
davyk31 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2012, 04:00 AM   #25
davyk31
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Audi SQ5 & Golf GTD
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern Ireland

Posts: 4,411
iTrader: (0)

All connected last night and working mostly as I want it. TV sound seems to work through the amp when its on and through TV when its off, however still need to fully test this with Lovefilm or BLinkbox.

Problem this morning was no Sky without the AMp on. The HDMI from the Sky HD box goes to the Amp, into HDMI 1. Should this perhaps go into HDMI2 so hopefully the signal passes through when amp is off or would this not work. Reason for wanting this is so that when Grannys are babysitting they don't need to worry about the amp, they could just turn on the TV, get Sky and sound through the TV without the amp.

Other option may be to run HDMI from Sky box to the TV direct rather than to the Amp, would this work and would it mess up anything else?
Would appreciate any help before taking all the cables apart again.
davyk31 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2012, 05:54 AM   #26
doc_ab
Major
 
Drives: 640D M Sport coupe
Join Date: May 2010
Location: buckinghamshire

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 M235i  [0.00]
2009 BMW 330D  [0.00]
The amp needs to be in standby mode
doc_ab is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2012, 05:56 AM   #27
M3-FAST
Defected to the dark side.....
 
M3-FAST's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW M5 LCi
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stafford, UK

Posts: 5,791
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
At least one of the HDMI's should work as a pass through for when it is in standby mode

As said above tho, leave in standy by, dont physically turn it off!

(for babysitting, I just leave the amp on but turn the volume down to minimum, and then turn the tv speakers up)
M3-FAST is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2012, 06:11 AM   #28
Masterplan
Lieutenant
 
Masterplan's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 EBII 330D
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Posts: 438
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3-FAST View Post
At least one of the HDMI's should work as a pass through for when it is in standby mode

As said above tho, leave in standy by, dont physically turn it off!

(for babysitting, I just leave the amp on but turn the volume down to minimum, and then turn the tv speakers up)
This is how I use mine if the amp is not required, or leave it on stand by.

All my inputs go to the TV via my amp.
Masterplan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2012, 07:04 AM   #29
M3-FAST
Defected to the dark side.....
 
M3-FAST's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW M5 LCi
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stafford, UK

Posts: 5,791
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterplan View Post
This is how I use mine if the amp is not required, or leave it on stand by.

All my inputs go to the TV via my amp.
+1 - only one HDMI goes to the TV, all other HDMI's feed into the amp and the amp switches between each source.

Have had surround setups for years and not had one as 'cable-tidy' & 'remote friendly' as this!

Turning the TV on/off, switches the amp on/off automatically which makes it even easier - Virgin TiVo remote controls the lot for everyday use!
M3-FAST is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2012, 08:28 AM   #30
davyk31
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Audi SQ5 & Golf GTD
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern Ireland

Posts: 4,411
iTrader: (0)

The amp was on standby mode but I wasn't getting a Sky picture on TV until I select HDMI 1 on amp, it seems to start up as D In which I assume refers to the optical in cable from the Sky box so I get sound but no picture. Only when I go through the sources on Home Cinema Kit to HDMI 1 do I get any picture.

Thats too complicated but elderly babysitters so would prefer the TV to come onto Sky with sound without involving the Amp. There are plenty of HDMI In points to the TV, currently I am using point 2 as advised to get the audio return.

All a bit technical for me this !!
davyk31 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2012, 01:46 PM   #31
doc_ab
Major
 
Drives: 640D M Sport coupe
Join Date: May 2010
Location: buckinghamshire

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2014 M235i  [0.00]
2009 BMW 330D  [0.00]
Difficult without being there as its probably a minor tweak. When you tun off amp what happens if you make sure that it is left on HDMI input before switch off?
doc_ab is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2012, 01:50 PM   #32
davyk31
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Audi SQ5 & Golf GTD
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northern Ireland

Posts: 4,411
iTrader: (0)

Will check later but pretty sure the amp always starts up on D In which is the optical from the sky box.
davyk31 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST