E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > USA - California > Utoh...time to drive like a lil ole lady from Pasadena now...(new california laws)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-22-2007, 04:57 PM   #1
S4to335
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 95 Audi S6
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 4,377
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Utoh...time to drive like a lil ole lady from Pasadena now...(new california laws)

I think this is official...

----------------------------------------------

New California Laws that will go into effect on 7/1/07, including increased Driving Fines
Police Departments are hurting for money and will step up efforts to enforce these changes in order to collect the fines.

1. Carpool lane violation- 1st time offense - fine will be $1068.50 starting 7/1/07 (The $271 posted on the highway will then become obsolete). Don't do it again because 2nd time the fine is going to
be double, 3rd time triple, and 4th time results in a suspended driver's license.

2. Incorrect lane change - $380. Don't cross the lane on solid lines or at intersections.

3. Block intersection - $485 Don't go through a GREEN light unless there is definitely space for you across the intersection. If it turns red and you get stuck within the intersection, even if it was green when you entered, you can be ticketed.

4. Driving on the shoulder - $450 If you are exiting a road where traffic has slowed and backed up, don't think you can cross the solid line to ride the shoulder for even ten feet to get to the exit lane. We all see people do this all the time. You can bank on there being stepped up enforcement efforts.

5. Cell phone use must be "hands free" while driving. The fine is $285. Pull off the road or use hands free headphone/microphone or bluetooth. Police will be looking for this like crazy - easy money to increase their budgets. Double fine [$570] for cell phone use in a construction zone as of 07/01/07.

6. Passengers over 18 not in their seatbelts - both passengers and driver will get tickets .

7. Speeders can only drive 3 miles above the limit without risking a ticket. The old guidelines used to be roughly 10% above the speed limit.

8. DUI now = JAIL time and it stays on your driving record for 10 years! You'll need a second mortgage for your lawyer and increased insurance premiums.
__________________

Car is now gone .... :-(
S4to335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 05:08 PM   #2
Vegas335
Private
 
Drives: 335I Coupe MT
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Las Vegas

Posts: 88
iTrader: (0)

Guess I won't be moving back to Cali. I break 6 of those all the time.
Vegas335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 05:10 PM   #3
S4to335
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 95 Audi S6
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 4,377
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Might be an urban myth...
__________________

Car is now gone .... :-(
S4to335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 05:12 PM   #4
ward
Major General
 
Drives: F
Join Date: May 2005
Location: T

Posts: 6,162
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by S4to335 View Post
Might be an urban myth...
sounds like it to me,

no way they have enough CHP to enforce 3mph over the limit

they can't enforce 10 mph over currently
ward is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 05:13 PM   #5
xxE90xx
335i Montego/Lemon
 
xxE90xx's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 BMW E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Glendale, California

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to xxE90xx
You know whats funny is that this crap can actually be in effect (assuming they get all the high officials-judges, to agree. Its all in the "policing powers" of the states, meaning they can pretty much come up with ANY law as long as it is to benefit the SAFETY of its citizens. You gotta love the legal system.

One thing that confuses me though, is how rediculous the damn carpool violation is. How is this protecting the safety of citizens?
__________________
BMW E90 335i, Montego Blue/Lemon-Dakota/dark burl wood, 6AT, Premium, Sports, I-drive, CA, PCD, Heated seats, Rear sunshade...(pretty much all the good stuff)!
xxE90xx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 05:14 PM   #6
John 070
Lieutenant General
 
Drives: 335i cpe
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ZSP/ZPP/ZCW

Posts: 11,409
iTrader: (0)

I would agree with all except 3 and 7. One cannot predict grid lock, so if entering an intersection on green or yellow, one must be allowed to complete the turn. $1078 fine for car pool violation is too little imho, because when there's no enforcement, you have a northern NJ or Atlanta going on, where SOV or maybe I should call them SOB's are using it freely.
John 070 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 05:16 PM   #7
OC 335i
General
 
OC 335i's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 335D E90
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Irvine/Aliso Viejo, CA

Posts: 18,119
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to OC 335i Send a message via MSN to OC 335i
This is like the 4th time I've seen this in the last few days (sorry diff forums).

HOAX.

1. Carpool lane - 1st time offense: $1068.50 starting 1/1/07 (NOT the
$271 as currently posted on highways - this is old). Don’t do it again because 2nd time is going to be double, 3rd time triple, and 4th time your license is suspended.

Fact: It is highly unlikely that a single code section violation would result in a $1068 fine for a first offense. Generally, a first offense violation + court costs and fees could run as high as $590 (depending on what jurisdiction the offender was cited). If the jurisdiction has HOV lanes with double white lines, then you could potentially be cited for crossing a double-white + driving in the car pool lane — two violations. In this case, the total bail amount (fine + court costs and fees) could approach $1000. But again, a lot of variables would have to come into play.

2. Incorrect lane change $380. Don’t cross lane on solid lanes or any intersection.
Fact: following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21100.3 Failure to obey traffic directions $130
21460(a,b) Improper turns over double lines/solid lines to right prohibited $130
21655(b) Failure to use designated lanes $130
21655.5(b) Improper use of preferential lanes $340
21655.8(a) Driving over double lines of preferential lanes $340
21658(a,b) Lane straddling/failure to use specified lanes $130
22107 Unsafe turn or lane change prohibited $130
22108 Signal required before turning or changing lanes $130

3. Block intersection - $485
Fact: Following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21970(a) Vehicle stopped unnecessarily and blocking crosswalk or sidewalk $130
23333 Vehicular crossing-unauthorized stopping or standing $130

4. Driving on the shoulder - $450
Fact: Following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21100.3 Failure to obey traffic directions $130
21460(a,b) Improper turns over double lines/solid lines to right prohibited $130
21655(b) Failure to use designated lanes $130
21754 Improper passing on right prohibited $130
21755 Unsafe passing on right shoulder $130

5. Cell phone on the construction zone - Double fine
Fact: There is currently no law against using a cell phone while driving. The law passed recently by the register requiring the use of hands-free headsets does not take effect until July 1, 2008. Otherwise, fines for traffic violations committed in constructions zones are higher than those committed elsewhere, but not quite double.

6. If passengers, over 18, do not have their seatbelts on, then both driver and passenger(s) get ticketed. Correct.
Fact:
23116(a) Transportation of persons without restraints restricted $130
(Note: total bail for first-time offenders for not wearing a seat belt in California ranges from $80 to $91).

7. Speeders can drive only 3 miles above the limit.
Fact: The California Highway Patrol and other law enforcement agencies can legally ticket drivers for going even 1 mile over a posted speed limit.

8. DUI = Jail.
Correct.
__________________

Current: 2010 Alpine White 335D LCI l 19" BBS LMs l KW V2 Coilovers l BMW Performance Grilles l MSport Front/Rear l Karbonwerke Trunk l F1 Pinnacle Tint 35% Former: E92 Space Grey 335i Latest pics
OC 335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 05:18 PM   #8
jmonier
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 335i E92, 2002 325i
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Torrance, CA

Posts: 812
iTrader: (0)

The web site where this is posted now states that some of it may be incorrect. In particular #7 does not go into effect until 7/1/08.
jmonier is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 05:23 PM   #9
S4to335
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 95 Audi S6
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 4,377
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by OC 335i View Post
This is like the 4th time I've seen this in the last few days (sorry diff forums).

HOAX.

1. Carpool lane - 1st time offense: $1068.50 starting 1/1/07 (NOT the
$271 as currently posted on highways - this is old). Donít do it again because 2nd time is going to be double, 3rd time triple, and 4th time your license is suspended.

Fact: It is highly unlikely that a single code section violation would result in a $1068 fine for a first offense. Generally, a first offense violation + court costs and fees could run as high as $590 (depending on what jurisdiction the offender was cited). If the jurisdiction has HOV lanes with double white lines, then you could potentially be cited for crossing a double-white + driving in the car pool lane ó two violations. In this case, the total bail amount (fine + court costs and fees) could approach $1000. But again, a lot of variables would have to come into play.

2. Incorrect lane change $380. Donít cross lane on solid lanes or any intersection.
Fact: following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21100.3 Failure to obey traffic directions $130
21460(a,b) Improper turns over double lines/solid lines to right prohibited $130
21655(b) Failure to use designated lanes $130
21655.5(b) Improper use of preferential lanes $340
21655.8(a) Driving over double lines of preferential lanes $340
21658(a,b) Lane straddling/failure to use specified lanes $130
22107 Unsafe turn or lane change prohibited $130
22108 Signal required before turning or changing lanes $130

3. Block intersection - $485
Fact: Following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21970(a) Vehicle stopped unnecessarily and blocking crosswalk or sidewalk $130
23333 Vehicular crossing-unauthorized stopping or standing $130

4. Driving on the shoulder - $450
Fact: Following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21100.3 Failure to obey traffic directions $130
21460(a,b) Improper turns over double lines/solid lines to right prohibited $130
21655(b) Failure to use designated lanes $130
21754 Improper passing on right prohibited $130
21755 Unsafe passing on right shoulder $130

5. Cell phone on the construction zone - Double fine
Fact: There is currently no law against using a cell phone while driving. The law passed recently by the register requiring the use of hands-free headsets does not take effect until July 1, 2008. Otherwise, fines for traffic violations committed in constructions zones are higher than those committed elsewhere, but not quite double.

6. If passengers, over 18, do not have their seatbelts on, then both driver and passenger(s) get ticketed. Correct.
Fact:
23116(a) Transportation of persons without restraints restricted $130
(Note: total bail for first-time offenders for not wearing a seat belt in California ranges from $80 to $91).

7. Speeders can drive only 3 miles above the limit.
Fact: The California Highway Patrol and other law enforcement agencies can legally ticket drivers for going even 1 mile over a posted speed limit.

8. DUI = Jail.
Correct.
Hello officer....
__________________

Car is now gone .... :-(
S4to335 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 05:29 PM   #10
OC 335i
General
 
OC 335i's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 335D E90
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Irvine/Aliso Viejo, CA

Posts: 18,119
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to OC 335i Send a message via MSN to OC 335i
Quote:
Originally Posted by S4to335 View Post
Hello officer....
__________________

Current: 2010 Alpine White 335D LCI l 19" BBS LMs l KW V2 Coilovers l BMW Performance Grilles l MSport Front/Rear l Karbonwerke Trunk l F1 Pinnacle Tint 35% Former: E92 Space Grey 335i Latest pics
OC 335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 06:12 PM   #11
danno
Private
 
danno's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area

Posts: 63
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OC 335i View Post
This is like the 4th time I've seen this in the last few days (sorry diff forums).

HOAX.

1. Carpool lane - 1st time offense: $1068.50 starting 1/1/07 (NOT the
$271 as currently posted on highways - this is old). Don’t do it again because 2nd time is going to be double, 3rd time triple, and 4th time your license is suspended.

Fact: It is highly unlikely that a single code section violation would result in a $1068 fine for a first offense. Generally, a first offense violation + court costs and fees could run as high as $590 (depending on what jurisdiction the offender was cited). If the jurisdiction has HOV lanes with double white lines, then you could potentially be cited for crossing a double-white + driving in the car pool lane — two violations. In this case, the total bail amount (fine + court costs and fees) could approach $1000. But again, a lot of variables would have to come into play.

2. Incorrect lane change $380. Don’t cross lane on solid lanes or any intersection.
Fact: following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21100.3 Failure to obey traffic directions $130
21460(a,b) Improper turns over double lines/solid lines to right prohibited $130
21655(b) Failure to use designated lanes $130
21655.5(b) Improper use of preferential lanes $340
21655.8(a) Driving over double lines of preferential lanes $340
21658(a,b) Lane straddling/failure to use specified lanes $130
22107 Unsafe turn or lane change prohibited $130
22108 Signal required before turning or changing lanes $130

3. Block intersection - $485
Fact: Following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21970(a) Vehicle stopped unnecessarily and blocking crosswalk or sidewalk $130
23333 Vehicular crossing-unauthorized stopping or standing $130

4. Driving on the shoulder - $450
Fact: Following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21100.3 Failure to obey traffic directions $130
21460(a,b) Improper turns over double lines/solid lines to right prohibited $130
21655(b) Failure to use designated lanes $130
21754 Improper passing on right prohibited $130
21755 Unsafe passing on right shoulder $130

5. Cell phone on the construction zone - Double fine
Fact: There is currently no law against using a cell phone while driving. The law passed recently by the register requiring the use of hands-free headsets does not take effect until July 1, 2008. Otherwise, fines for traffic violations committed in constructions zones are higher than those committed elsewhere, but not quite double.

6. If passengers, over 18, do not have their seatbelts on, then both driver and passenger(s) get ticketed. Correct.
Fact:
23116(a) Transportation of persons without restraints restricted $130
(Note: total bail for first-time offenders for not wearing a seat belt in California ranges from $80 to $91).

7. Speeders can drive only 3 miles above the limit.
Fact: The California Highway Patrol and other law enforcement agencies can legally ticket drivers for going even 1 mile over a posted speed limit.

8. DUI = Jail.
Correct.
Absolute Hoax. [url]http://www.snopes.com/politics/traffic/california.asp
__________________
07 E92 335i Cpe| Saph Black w/Red Coral|Grey Pop|ZCW|ZPP|ZSP|Step|Paddles|Nav|PDC|CA|HD Radio|iPod Adap
danno is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2007, 06:34 PM   #12
Maestro
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 335i Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Philadelphia

Posts: 860
iTrader: (0)

CA has never really enforced the speed limits on the highways during rush hour. I seen the CHP cruising along at 70 with traffic, they tend to go after the lane changers and tailgater first since they tend to cause more accidents.

I also use to watch them do traffic brakes when they weave in front of a line of cars to slow traffic down. Not sure if this all has change since I have been out there
Maestro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 04:27 AM   #13
BMWCali
Expect the Unusual
 
BMWCali's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Porsche
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: U.S.A.

Posts: 1,208
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OC 335i View Post
7. Speeders can drive only 3 miles above the limit.
Fact: The California Highway Patrol and other law enforcement agencies can legally ticket drivers for going even 1 mile over a posted speed limit.

8. DUI = Jail.
Correct.
If a cop pulled me over and handed me a ticket for going 1MPH over the speedlimit I'd probably hand the ticket back to the officer and tell him that I don't accept the ticket because it's an insult to both myself and him for his time. You could always have fun with it though and call up all the local TV stations telling them about Officer (name here) who gave you a ticket for going 1MPH over the speed limit. He'd probably be laughed out of the court room by the judge and maybe held in contempt for wasting the judges time.
BMWCali is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 07:01 AM   #14
Neema
Major General
 
Neema's Avatar
 
Drives: a few BMWs
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal

Posts: 7,186
iTrader: (11)

I really hope that is isnt true.
__________________

LTMW Widebody+1M front bumper+Slek CF Lip|M3 Hood|StopTech BBK|M-Sport Rear Bumper+DD CF Diffuser|Custom Recaro Seats|KW V2|BavX LS3|M3 Side Skirts+Custom CF Lip|BBS CHR 19x10.5+BBS Lugs|LCI Taillights|RD Sport Anti-Sway Bars|GIAC S2|ER Intercooler+CF Shroud+Charge Pipe|Tial BOV|Injen Intake|MS downpipes|Custom Exhaust|BMS Oil Catch Can|M3 DCT wheel+TiD CF Paddles|BMW CF Trunk Spoiler|Aluminum Pedals
Neema is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 09:45 AM   #15
OC 335i
General
 
OC 335i's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 335D E90
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Irvine/Aliso Viejo, CA

Posts: 18,119
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to OC 335i Send a message via MSN to OC 335i
It isn't.
__________________

Current: 2010 Alpine White 335D LCI l 19" BBS LMs l KW V2 Coilovers l BMW Performance Grilles l MSport Front/Rear l Karbonwerke Trunk l F1 Pinnacle Tint 35% Former: E92 Space Grey 335i Latest pics
OC 335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 10:42 AM   #16
stooken
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E92 BSM 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NOR*CAL

Posts: 4,250
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OC 335i View Post
This is like the 4th time I've seen this in the last few days (sorry diff forums).

HOAX.

1. Carpool lane - 1st time offense: $1068.50 starting 1/1/07 (NOT the
$271 as currently posted on highways - this is old). Donít do it again because 2nd time is going to be double, 3rd time triple, and 4th time your license is suspended.

Fact: It is highly unlikely that a single code section violation would result in a $1068 fine for a first offense. Generally, a first offense violation + court costs and fees could run as high as $590 (depending on what jurisdiction the offender was cited). If the jurisdiction has HOV lanes with double white lines, then you could potentially be cited for crossing a double-white + driving in the car pool lane ó two violations. In this case, the total bail amount (fine + court costs and fees) could approach $1000. But again, a lot of variables would have to come into play.

2. Incorrect lane change $380. Donít cross lane on solid lanes or any intersection.
Fact: following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21100.3 Failure to obey traffic directions $130
21460(a,b) Improper turns over double lines/solid lines to right prohibited $130
21655(b) Failure to use designated lanes $130
21655.5(b) Improper use of preferential lanes $340
21655.8(a) Driving over double lines of preferential lanes $340
21658(a,b) Lane straddling/failure to use specified lanes $130
22107 Unsafe turn or lane change prohibited $130
22108 Signal required before turning or changing lanes $130

3. Block intersection - $485
Fact: Following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21970(a) Vehicle stopped unnecessarily and blocking crosswalk or sidewalk $130
23333 Vehicular crossing-unauthorized stopping or standing $130

4. Driving on the shoulder - $450
Fact: Following is a list of vehicle code sections under which violators are typically cited and the concurrent fines:
21100.3 Failure to obey traffic directions $130
21460(a,b) Improper turns over double lines/solid lines to right prohibited $130
21655(b) Failure to use designated lanes $130
21754 Improper passing on right prohibited $130
21755 Unsafe passing on right shoulder $130

5. Cell phone on the construction zone - Double fine
Fact: There is currently no law against using a cell phone while driving. The law passed recently by the register requiring the use of hands-free headsets does not take effect until July 1, 2008. Otherwise, fines for traffic violations committed in constructions zones are higher than those committed elsewhere, but not quite double.

6. If passengers, over 18, do not have their seatbelts on, then both driver and passenger(s) get ticketed. Correct.
Fact:
23116(a) Transportation of persons without restraints restricted $130
(Note: total bail for first-time offenders for not wearing a seat belt in California ranges from $80 to $91).

7. Speeders can drive only 3 miles above the limit.
Fact: The California Highway Patrol and other law enforcement agencies can legally ticket drivers for going even 1 mile over a posted speed limit.

8. DUI = Jail.
Correct.
__________________
2010 E92 BSM 335i | M-Sport | ST Coils | Linea Corse Lemans | Cobb AP | BMS DCI | Cyba Tips
stooken is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 10:52 AM   #17
shragon
Moderator
 
shragon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 325i SG Sedan
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 27,450
iTrader: (7)

agrhhhh... not this email fwd again!! it was going around in the beginning of 2007 too.
__________________
shragon is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 11:03 AM   #18
just4kickz
boku no namae ha...
 
Drives: 2006 BS 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: S. Bay Area, CA + Newark, NJ + ChiCity + True Blue

Posts: 11,037
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by S4to335 View Post
I think this is official...

----------------------------------------------

New California Laws that will go into effect on 7/1/07, including increased Driving Fines
Police Departments are hurting for money and will step up efforts to enforce these changes in order to collect the fines.

1. Carpool lane violation- 1st time offense - fine will be $1068.50 starting 7/1/07 (The $271 posted on the highway will then become obsolete). Don't do it again because 2nd time the fine is going to
be double, 3rd time triple, and 4th time results in a suspended driver's license.

2. Incorrect lane change - $380. Don't cross the lane on solid lines or at intersections.

3. Block intersection - $485 Don't go through a GREEN light unless there is definitely space for you across the intersection. If it turns red and you get stuck within the intersection, even if it was green when you entered, you can be ticketed.

4. Driving on the shoulder - $450 If you are exiting a road where traffic has slowed and backed up, don't think you can cross the solid line to ride the shoulder for even ten feet to get to the exit lane. We all see people do this all the time. You can bank on there being stepped up enforcement efforts.

5. Cell phone use must be "hands free" while driving. The fine is $285. Pull off the road or use hands free headphone/microphone or bluetooth. Police will be looking for this like crazy - easy money to increase their budgets. Double fine [$570] for cell phone use in a construction zone as of 07/01/07.

6. Passengers over 18 not in their seatbelts - both passengers and driver will get tickets .

7. Speeders can only drive 3 miles above the limit without risking a ticket. The old guidelines used to be roughly 10% above the speed limit.

8. DUI now = JAIL time and it stays on your driving record for 10 years! You'll need a second mortgage for your lawyer and increased insurance premiums.

Haha IMO the carpool lane should have bigger signs that tell you when you can drive on it without a passenger... alot of people think they cant drive on the carpool lane without a carpool... but its just during traffic hour.
__________________
looking for a PreLCI Black Sapphire e90 front bumper without license plate holes

"Akimbo shotguns. Broken wrists anyone? And don't give me that 'it's just a game' bull****. Where the **** are my akimbo interventions then?! One scope on each eye mother****er!!"
just4kickz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 11:31 AM   #19
bartman32
Colonel
 
bartman32's Avatar
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The OC

Posts: 2,287
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by just4kickz View Post
Haha IMO the carpool lane should have bigger signs that tell you when you can drive on it without a passenger... alot of people think they cant drive on the carpool lane without a carpool... but its just during traffic hour.
I think that's just in Nor Cal. Here in So Cal the carpool lanes are visibly different. Up there they are dotted lines, down here they have places where you can and cannot get in/out of the lanes. I believe up there its only carpool for certain hours but down here its always carpool only. It is odd that one state has two different types of carpool lanes but that's the way it is.
__________________
bartman32 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 11:45 AM   #20
nlakind
Colonel
 
nlakind's Avatar
 
Drives: 300 SRT8 | E36 M3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA

Posts: 2,857
iTrader: (24)

Send a message via AIM to nlakind
Quote:
Originally Posted by bartman32 View Post
I think that's just in Nor Cal. Here in So Cal the carpool lanes are visibly different. Up there they are dotted lines, down here they have places where you can and cannot get in/out of the lanes. I believe up there its only carpool for certain hours but down here its always carpool only. It is odd that one state has two different types of carpool lanes but that's the way it is.
You can exit the carpool lane as long as there is the white line which runs along the inside of the double yellow line's...You cannot enter the carpool lne on the double yellow obviously but you can exit if there is a white line...
nlakind is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 04:47 PM   #21
335i SH
Private
 
335i SH's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 335i SP Gray/Black
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: So Cal

Posts: 89
iTrader: (0)

__________________
'07 335i Coupe
Space Gray/Blk/Drk Burl, ZPP, ZSP, 205, 2XA, 415, 494, 507 & 609
335i SH is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-27-2007, 05:07 PM   #22
Ray
Member
 
Ray's Avatar
 
Drives: three series
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: sfCA

Posts: 22,825
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by S4to335 View Post
1. Carpool lane violation- 1st time offense - fine will be $1068.50 starting 7/1/07 (The $271 posted on the highway will then become obsolete). Don't do it again because 2nd time the fine is going to
be double, 3rd time triple, and 4th time results in a suspended driver's license.
Wow! That's a little over the top!

Thanks for posting the updates.
Ray is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST