E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > PROcede CANBus question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-16-2012, 07:25 PM   #1
bionet
Private First Class
 
Drives: e46 330i -> e92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NoVA

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to bionet
PROcede CANBus question

I recently purchased an 08 335i e92. I noticed there was a USB cable (male) coming from the glovebox. Out of curiousity, I took the ECU compartment apart, and I found there was a silver box attached to it and the harness labeled as "PROcede CANbus X". I did a little research on it and saw that people would activate the different mappings via DTC button (twice). I tried with no luck. Is there any way I could tell what type/version is installed in my car? Also, how would I go about activating the different mappings?
bionet is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 07:40 PM   #2
Brey335i
Brigadier General
 
Brey335i's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 ///M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 4,737
iTrader: (11)

Did you try while the car was on?
Brey335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 08:00 PM   #3
bionet
Private First Class
 
Drives: e46 330i -> e92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NoVA

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to bionet
Yep, the car was on and I hit DTC twice, quickly. I turned the car off and on again and looked for the light to blink once, nodda.
bionet is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 08:19 PM   #4
werke-t
Captain
 
Drives: e92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sarasota, FL

Posts: 688
iTrader: (5)

push up on the cruise control stalk, all procede v4's and up show you a solid color screen and what map your in...

if its pre-v4 procede just yank it out and send it to vishnu, they will charge you $150 to upgrade to the newer better unit.
werke-t is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 08:23 PM   #5
E3r2E9r
Banned
 
Drives: 3 Series
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NE

Posts: 421
iTrader: (0)

Ya send it back to vishnu and just upgrade it.

Is it actually connected to the factory wiring harness or is it just sitting in the ECU compartment?

If you double click DTC on v4 or v5 it should change maps.
E3r2E9r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 08:53 PM   #6
bionet
Private First Class
 
Drives: e46 330i -> e92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NoVA

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to bionet
Derp, thanks for the heads up everyone. Just went out to my car in this freezing weather, put the key in and pulled the cruise control stalk, and voila! Showed my mapping mode 0. Went ahead and turned the car on and hit DTC twice, and BAM! changed modes from 0 -> 1 -> 2 etc. Set it back to 0 for the time being. With this functionality (cruise control + dtc) what can I assume this PROcede version is?
bionet is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2012, 09:11 PM   #7
banky
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335i e92
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston

Posts: 348
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bionet View Post
Derp, thanks for the heads up everyone. Just went out to my car in this freezing weather, put the key in and pulled the cruise control stalk, and voila! Showed my mapping mode 0. Went ahead and turned the car on and hit DTC twice, and BAM! changed modes from 0 -> 1 -> 2 etc. Set it back to 0 for the time being. With this functionality (cruise control + dtc) what can I assume this PROcede version is?
to piggy back on that, how do you know what version PROcede one would have?
banky is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2012, 01:16 PM   #8
bionet
Private First Class
 
Drives: e46 330i -> e92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NoVA

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to bionet
Quote:
Originally Posted by banky View Post
to piggy back on that, how do you know what version PROcede one would have?
+1 for this
bionet is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2012, 04:49 PM   #9
Brey335i
Brigadier General
 
Brey335i's Avatar
 
Drives: e46 ///M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 4,737
iTrader: (11)

In all likelyhood it's a Rev 2

Send it in for a Rev 2.5 upgrade
Brey335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2012, 05:55 PM   #10
bionet
Private First Class
 
Drives: e46 330i -> e92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NoVA

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to bionet
Out of curiosity, what are you basing that off of?
bionet is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2012, 06:00 PM   #11
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 17,070
iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
It's unlikely a 2.5 as its fairly new addition and I doubt someone who upgraded to a 2.5 and spent the money to do so would just leave it in their car when they sold it.

The differences are internally but the length is different too. As far as tuning and software goes you can maybe try running 2.5 aggressive maps and see if it works. If you have a problem its likely because you dont have a 2.5. I dont know if its safe to try to be honest.

Be that as it may here is a comparison:



This will unlikely not help you as you dont have another procede to compare to.

Just call Vishnu
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2012, 06:16 PM   #12
banky
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2007 335i e92
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston

Posts: 348
iTrader: (1)

wait, so which one in that picture is 2.5 and 2.0?
banky is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2012, 06:19 PM   #13
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 17,070
iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
The large one is 2.5
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2012, 06:23 PM   #14
bionet
Private First Class
 
Drives: e46 330i -> e92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NoVA

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to bionet
Jeff, If the two are readily available, would you mind holding a cig lighter next to it and take a picture? Or perhaps a ruler
bionet is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2012, 06:46 PM   #15
themyst
Major General
 
themyst's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

Posts: 6,602
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
heh someone hit the jackpot. I wish I could get a free tune with my car
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
themyst is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2012, 06:57 PM   #16
marv85
Colonel
 
marv85's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 335i MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Portland

Posts: 2,559
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by themyst View Post
heh someone hit the jackpot. I wish I could get a free tune with my car
Would have saved us some money hehe
__________________
'10 E92 335i , COBB
marv85 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-18-2012, 07:03 PM   #17
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

Posts: 17,070
iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Quote:
Originally Posted by bionet View Post
Jeff, If the two are readily available, would you mind holding a cig lighter next to it and take a picture? Or perhaps a ruler
I dont have both anymore, sorry.

However, in the picture is the factory cowl that they are sitting on. The 2.5 is nearly the full width.
Jeff@TopGearSolutions is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2012, 11:43 PM   #18
bionet
Private First Class
 
Drives: e46 330i -> e92 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NoVA

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to bionet
Quote:
Originally Posted by themyst View Post
heh someone hit the jackpot. I wish I could get a free tune with my car
He also had KW V2's, M3 rep front bumper, and HID upgrade >:]
bionet is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
canbus, canbus x, procede, vishnu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST