E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing > How to connect my PC to the TV



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-21-2012, 05:48 PM   #1
RingBredE90
DTMRacer
 
RingBredE90's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stoney Lake, ON

Posts: 203
iTrader: (0)

How to connect my PC to the TV

Hello people. I want to know the best way i can hook up my PC to my TV so i can watch movies from my PC directly on my TV. I would also like to have sound going through my tv speakers. I do not have a home theater system or anything like that. I have a 32" Samsung LCD in my room. What is the best way to hook this up and carry both audio and video to the TV?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
RingBredE90 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2012, 05:57 PM   #2
ChrisPD
New Member
 
Drives: Old School Chevy
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Your best bet would be an HDMI cord if your PC has a port for one, i'm assuming in the sound/output setting you will be to hear through the tv.
ChrisPD is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 10:11 AM   #3
RingBredE90
DTMRacer
 
RingBredE90's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stoney Lake, ON

Posts: 203
iTrader: (0)

So the HDMI cable will carry both audio and video from my PC to TV right? Is it just plug and play or do i have to do any settings/ adjustments?
__________________
RingBredE90 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 12:08 PM   #4
Bimmer84
Guardian of the Night
 
Bimmer84's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335i M Sport Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Antonio

Posts: 1,826
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2010 335i E92  [3.75]
You may have to adjust the settings for HDMI. The first time I connected mine to the TV, I had to set the audio output to HDMI, because the default was set to send the video, but audio stayed on the computer speakers. Simple change, if it doesn't do it automatically.

I no longer stream from my computer, I use the PS3 now. I bought a 1TB internet hard drive, and stream video wireless through the Playstation.
__________________
2010 335i M Sport Coupe -- Black Sapphire Metallic|Coral Red|Loaded|JB4 Stage 3|BMS DCI|VRSF DPs|Camaross 6k AE|Performance Gloss Black Grilles|CF Performance Spoiler|CF Quad Diffuser|Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips|CF Roundels|Smoked Reflectors|Red Cyba Scoops|193s Painted Lamborghini Metallic Dark Gray
Bimmer84 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 01:27 PM   #5
RingBredE90
DTMRacer
 
RingBredE90's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stoney Lake, ON

Posts: 203
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer84 View Post
You may have to adjust the settings for HDMI. The first time I connected mine to the TV, I had to set the audio output to HDMI, because the default was set to send the video, but audio stayed on the computer speakers. Simple change, if it doesn't do it automatically.

I no longer stream from my computer, I use the PS3 now. I bought a 1TB internet hard drive, and stream video wireless through the Playstation.
Do you adjust the settings on the TV or PC?
Oh and congrats on the 1,000th post
__________________
RingBredE90 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 03:02 PM   #6
Bimmer84
Guardian of the Night
 
Bimmer84's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335i M Sport Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Antonio

Posts: 1,826
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2010 335i E92  [3.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by RingBredE90 View Post
Do you adjust the settings on the TV or PC?
Oh and congrats on the 1,000th post
It was the settings on my computer. Like I said, you may not even have to do it, probably just depends on the computer and audio driver it uses.

LOL, thanks about the posts.
__________________
2010 335i M Sport Coupe -- Black Sapphire Metallic|Coral Red|Loaded|JB4 Stage 3|BMS DCI|VRSF DPs|Camaross 6k AE|Performance Gloss Black Grilles|CF Performance Spoiler|CF Quad Diffuser|Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips|CF Roundels|Smoked Reflectors|Red Cyba Scoops|193s Painted Lamborghini Metallic Dark Gray
Bimmer84 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-22-2012, 11:52 PM   #7
Primetime328i
Private First Class
 
Primetime328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SoCal

Posts: 103
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RingBredE90 View Post
So the HDMI cable will carry both audio and video from my PC to TV right? Is it just plug and play or do i have to do any settings/ adjustments?
HDMI carries both audio and video digital signals, however, if the your HDMI out from your computer is from your video card, it will only carry video only. Sound output will come out of either a sound card or motherboard I/O.
Primetime328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-23-2012, 10:50 PM   #8
RingBredE90
DTMRacer
 
RingBredE90's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stoney Lake, ON

Posts: 203
iTrader: (0)

Well i just found out i dont have a HDMI port on my PC, what's plan B?
__________________
RingBredE90 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2012, 12:40 AM   #9
johanness
Banned
 
Drives: 2008 Z4MC
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle, Vancouver

Posts: 1,741
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Stream it wirelessly with VUZE thru your PS3 or 360 to ur TV. Easy
johanness is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2012, 02:06 PM   #10
infinitekid2002
Creepin while ya sleepin
 
infinitekid2002's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a Bat out of Hell
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: City of Angels

Posts: 3,362
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 135i  [3.71]
there's inevitably a tv video out on your pc.

http://www.weethet.nl/english/video_connect_pc2tv.php
__________________
infinitekid2002 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2012, 01:22 AM   #11
Primetime328i
Private First Class
 
Primetime328i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 328i Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SoCal

Posts: 103
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RingBredE90 View Post
Well i just found out i dont have a HDMI port on my PC, what's plan B?
Buy a new video card.
Primetime328i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2012, 08:23 AM   #12
RingBredE90
DTMRacer
 
RingBredE90's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 330I
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stoney Lake, ON

Posts: 203
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by infinitekid2002 View Post
there's inevitably a tv video out on your pc.

http://www.weethet.nl/english/video_connect_pc2tv.php
Thanks!
__________________
RingBredE90 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST