E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > DIY - Enable Shift Suggestion in 6MT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-07-2011, 08:11 PM   #1
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
Peertwelve's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
335
Posts

 
Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E90 335i  [3.50]
DIY - Enable Shift Suggestion in 6MT

Before i coded this i was looking for a video online. i didn't find one so here you go..

To enable the Shift Suggestion follow the google doc spreadsheet:
Modify the KOMBI module.
SP_ANZEIGE -> aktiv
SCHALT_PKT_BC -> aktiv



Happy coding!
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2011, 05:50 AM   #2
chch
New Member
chch's Avatar
Slovakia
0
Rep
24
Posts

 
Drives: E91 318i 2008
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to chch
In my BC I can enable/disable gear suggestion by holding the BC button for a while when the BC choice is on 'nothing' (not average speed, not average consumption, not driving distance).
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2012, 11:08 PM   #3
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
Peertwelve's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
335
Posts

 
Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E90 335i  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by chch View Post
In my BC I can enable/disable gear suggestion by holding the BC button for a while when the BC choice is on 'nothing' (not average speed, not average consumption, not driving distance).
That must be a European feature. I tried your suggestion after i reset my ECU and i was unable to turn this back on without code
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2013, 04:40 PM   #4
mot
Banned
United_States
11
Rep
941
Posts

 
Drives: e92 AW M3 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (8)

I coded this correctly once and it worked. Now it disappeared. I will try holding the BC stalk down on the blank screen tonight.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2013, 06:50 PM   #5
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

What am I supposed to see? I changed those parameters and an up and down arrow popped up on the top left of the window in the instrument cluster but they didn't do anything even near redline.
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2013, 07:48 PM   #6
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
Peertwelve's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
335
Posts

 
Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E90 335i  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
What am I supposed to see? I changed those parameters and an up and down arrow popped up on the top left of the window in the instrument cluster but they didn't do anything even near redline.
Yes.. The two little triangles suggest shift points. If the up arrows visible, up shift. If the down....
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2013, 08:17 PM   #7
jphughan
Brigadier General
jphughan's Avatar
United_States
39
Rep
3,465
Posts

 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

FYI on M3s this feature only works when in Normal throttle mode. I've seen other cars that show the arrows but don't display suggestions, not sure why though.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2013, 09:42 PM   #8
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peertwelve
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
What am I supposed to see? I changed those parameters and an up and down arrow popped up on the top left of the window in the instrument cluster but they didn't do anything even near redline.
Yes.. The two little triangles suggest shift points. If the up arrows visible, up shift. If the down....
Both arrows show at all times.
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2013, 02:22 PM   #9
mot
Banned
United_States
11
Rep
941
Posts

 
Drives: e92 AW M3 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (8)

I get the arrows but there is no shift suggestion. I have not tried this in normal throttle mode though.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2013, 06:55 PM   #10
cyrano
Banned
Poland
2
Rep
145
Posts

 
Drives: E61 530XD chipped
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

Its also easier way... Just use stak to go to some place in menu that is blank, no avg fuel consumption or milage on tank just blank page, then press stalk button ( the one you change menu) and hold it until you see arrows No need for coding
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2013, 11:59 PM   #11
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrano
Its also easier way... Just use stak to go to some place in menu that is blank, no avg fuel consumption or milage on tank just blank page, then press stalk button ( the one you change menu) and hold it until you see arrows No need for coding
I tried this before coding and it didn't work then I coded the car but the arrows weren't there so I tried this again and the arrows popped up. The problem is both arrows are always showing so it doesn't help much.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2013, 12:19 AM   #12
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
I tried this before coding and it didn't work then I coded the car but the arrows weren't there so I tried this again and the arrows popped up. The problem is both arrows are always showing so it doesn't help much.

Both arrows are suppose to show up but when the DME tells you to shift there will be a number corresponding to the shift suggestion
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      02-27-2013, 07:57 PM   #13
mot
Banned
United_States
11
Rep
941
Posts

 
Drives: e92 AW M3 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (8)

It works when the throttle position is on normal...
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2013, 05:36 PM   #14
mike1973
Private First Class
Portugal
1
Rep
100
Posts

 
Drives: E91
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
I tried this before coding and it didn't work then I coded the car but the arrows weren't there so I tried this again and the arrows popped up. The problem is both arrows are always showing so it doesn't help much.
Same here, no gear number appears no matter how hard I push it. Just two arrows
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2013, 07:23 PM   #15
tmas88
Private First Class
tmas88's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
166
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Florida

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [5.00]
The video by OP doesn't work, but I assume it looks something like this?



It seems kinda off... shift to 4 going at <30? lol. I'm going to try it tonight.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2013, 11:23 PM   #16
mot
Banned
United_States
11
Rep
941
Posts

 
Drives: e92 AW M3 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1973
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
I tried this before coding and it didn't work then I coded the car but the arrows weren't there so I tried this again and the arrows popped up. The problem is both arrows are always showing so it doesn't help much.
Same here, no gear number appears no matter how hard I push it. Just two arrows
Normal throttle position?
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 04:40 PM   #17
mike1973
Private First Class
Portugal
1
Rep
100
Posts

 
Drives: E91
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Portugal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mot View Post
Normal throttle position?
Ive been driving the car with these arrows for amost a month and no gear number comes up.

What do you mean by normal throttle position? I drive as I normally do, easy on the gas and sometimes a bit harder on the accelarator, but nothing happens

Maybe it's a model thng... mine is 2007/02
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 07:59 PM   #18
crypticc
Captain
United Kingdom
7
Rep
650
Posts

 
Drives: e92 M3 DCT + Comp
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1973 View Post
Ive been driving the car with these arrows for amost a month and no gear number comes up.

What do you mean by normal throttle position? I drive as I normally do, easy on the gas and sometimes a bit harder on the accelarator, but nothing happens

Maybe it's a model thng... mine is 2007/02
Mine is too and once coded worked
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 08:26 PM   #19
tmas88
Private First Class
tmas88's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
166
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i E90 LCI
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Florida

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [5.00]
I coded this on mine today. And it works somewhat.

It just tells me to shift everytime I hit 1.6k-2k RPM. lol. And I don't think the downshifting suggestion works... I find it more annoying than anything... because I usually don't shift up under 2k RPM...

I have a 2011 335i Sedan with a production date of 12 April 2010.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 11:38 PM   #20
Merlosso
Banned
United_States
5
Rep
495
Posts

 
Drives: Results
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Germantown, MD

iTrader: (2)

Guys, this isn't a shift light that tells you to shift as you reach redline; it's meant for fuel economy. If you're driving around normally (not with the pedal on the floor) it will tell you when to shift to maximize gas mileage. That's why it only works with the throttle setting in normal on the M3. If the car is accelerating, it's not going to tell you to shift. But as your rate of acceleration for a given throttle position begins to taper off, it tells you to shift.

I coded this on my car and only kept it for a day. It's next to worthless on the M3; that car isn't meant to cruise around at 1,500 rpm in 4th gear. I found real-time mpg (DIGITAL_KVA) to be a much better solution.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2013, 08:31 AM   #21
crypticc
Captain
United Kingdom
7
Rep
650
Posts

 
Drives: e92 M3 DCT + Comp
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1973 View Post
Ive been driving the car with these arrows for amost a month and no gear number comes up.

What do you mean by normal throttle position? I drive as I normally do, easy on the gas and sometimes a bit harder on the accelarator, but nothing happens

Maybe it's a model thng... mine is 2007/02
E.g. coasting in fifth at 60 will suggest sixth
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST