E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Considering a Viper Security System, Fortin?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-06-2012, 08:51 PM   #45
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

ok looks like the ground i was using for the NSS was not a very good ground. I hooked it to all of the other grounds and this fixed the issue. Now the remote start initiates but it wont start the car.

im checking all my wires and they look good.....The only thing i can think of is that maybe I havent wrapped the keyfob and the barrel good enough.......

i may have to call fortin and see what they think......
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2012, 10:52 PM   #46
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

when i put the key up to the key barrel it shows the yellow key in the dash and i press the remote start button and the module tries but the car doesnt do anything......

now if i actually put the key in and press the remote start you can tell its wants to start because the headlights come on like it trying to start but it never starts.......Also if i do it this way while the headlights are on and its trying to start i can press the start button without pressing the brake and the car starts up. So i know the brake wires are correct.

it seems like it just doesnt want to start the actual starter......
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2012, 11:25 AM   #47
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

Well fortin wont help me until i get the firmware upgraded to 4.02 instead of 4.00 so I guess ill put everything on hold :-( until i can get it upgraded or buy a new module
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2012, 12:15 PM   #48
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

just ordered the update module since not one person in my state has it :-( should be here on friday or saturday. I guess ill start tucking a few wires and moving things around
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2012, 12:44 PM   #49
sdalpha
Private First Class
 
Drives: ///MR e92
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 110
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjimatt View Post
just ordered the update module since not one person in my state has it :-( should be here on friday or saturday. I guess ill start tucking a few wires and moving things around
Isn't it a fairly easy update? I thought the update software was free to download. I'm not sure if the USB port is proprietary, but if not, I figured it was a matter of downloading the software, connecting the module, and pressing an update button?
__________________
- Mark
sdalpha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2012, 06:15 PM   #50
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdalpha View Post
Isn't it a fairly easy update? I thought the update software was free to download. I'm not sure if the USB port is proprietary, but if not, I figured it was a matter of downloading the software, connecting the module, and pressing an update button?
the software is free but you need to fortin flash-link updater to actually flash anything.
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2012, 07:10 PM   #51
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

Well i just flashed it and it seems to be doing the same exact thing :-( back to the drawing board
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-10-2012, 08:07 PM   #52
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

im thinking h9 and h6 on the

H6 (+) Fused (30A) Ignition 1 input (12v Maybe.....)
H9 (+) Fused (30A) Accessory / Starter input (12v maybe......)
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2012, 03:38 AM   #53
6spdcoupe
Second Lieutenant
 
6spdcoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 TBSS, '06 E55, '13 CX-9
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central Jersey

Posts: 240
iTrader: (1)

Just out of curiosity, is there a particular reason why you chose Not to have someone do this for you ? I mean aside from them getting it done in a few hours, having a warranty, etc.. YOUR time is worth something too and it seems like you have been on this for a week now.
__________________

Kenwood DNN991HD >Helix DSP PRO
Brax Matrix MX4 ..Micro-Precision 7 series/ Focal 33KX
Brax Matrix MX4 ..Dynaudio Esotar 110/430
6spdcoupe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2012, 04:13 AM   #54
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdcoupe View Post
Just out of curiosity, is there a particular reason why you chose Not to have someone do this for you ? I mean aside from them getting it done in a few hours, having a warranty, etc.. YOUR time is worth something too and it seems like you have been on this for a week now.
1 i really feel like writing a tutorial and 2 I pretty much do all of my car work whatever it is. thats just how i have always been. Ive already done a few alarm installations already
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2012, 01:26 PM   #55
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

Finally things are going right!!!!

looks like connecting h6 and h9 to 12v fixed the remote start :-)

also while flashing I noticed there was a option to flash the evo-can to d2d. so I did that and started cutting wires and now everything is working as it should with d2d.

the only difference is that you still need to connect white unlock wire to the blue unlock wire on the remote start (not the evo-can)

but if doing w2w my diagram is correct. ill be remaking it.

now the only problem i am having is this key wrap crap!!!! i can only do the remote start if I have the key right next to the key barrel.

so im about to go get some 24 gauge wire and see if i can fix that. im just happy I can use d2d and eliminate half of these wires.
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2012, 03:05 PM   #56
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

ok figured it out :-) I did realise you had to wrap the two wires then connect them, the diagram wasnt very clear lol. looks like everything is working as it should i think. will do more testing.
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2012, 07:14 AM   #57
benjimatt
Private
 
Drives: 2007 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: new mexico

Posts: 56
iTrader: (0)

Here is the correct wiring for this. it all is working perfectly now.


http://postimage.org/image/8ladbvm5f/full/

http://www.picstation.net/show-image...ea31608fc4fd9e

http://uploadpic.org/v.php?img=Kn6V9bHpF2
benjimatt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2012, 12:11 PM   #58
sdalpha
Private First Class
 
Drives: ///MR e92
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 110
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjimatt View Post
Awesome! Glad to hear that its all working finally

Thanks for sharing the wiring diagrams.
__________________
- Mark
sdalpha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:36 PM   #59
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,273
iTrader: (5)

where did you end up mounting everything, I was thinking passgenger side dash. Also what did you use to do your key wrap I can't find 22 gauge wire locally I got some 18 gauge would that work?
bmw325i is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-09-2012, 08:16 PM   #60
sdalpha
Private First Class
 
Drives: ///MR e92
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 110
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjimatt View Post
also while flashing I noticed there was a option to flash the evo-can to d2d. so I did that and started cutting wires and now everything is working as it should with d2d.

the only difference is that you still need to connect white unlock wire to the blue unlock wire on the remote start (not the evo-can)
I'm finally getting around to start this project.

Did you notice if you can flash the INT-BMW2 to D2D?

I'm not sure, but it may change the need to hook up the White unlock wire from the INT-BMW2 to the Blue unlock wire on the alarm.
__________________
- Mark
sdalpha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-09-2012, 08:18 PM   #61
VP Electricity
Brigadier General
 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,177
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdalpha View Post
I'm finally getting around to start this project.

Did you notice if you can flash the INT-BMW2 to D2D?

I'm not sure, but it may change the need to hook up the White unlock wire from the INT-BMW2 to the Blue unlock wire on the alarm.
Once you program to D2D, you should eliminate all analog I/O from working.

D2D is Directed/Xpresskit's serial data format. Fortin, iDatalink, Compustar, AutoPage, and some others use a different format, so be advised that you can't cross-pollinate.
VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2013, 03:36 PM   #62
starbai
Captain
 
starbai's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 335i Sedan
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Orlando FL

Posts: 713
iTrader: (2)

close to a year later... any chance we can get an update? any trouble since the install? Everything still working as it should?
starbai is offline   Guyana
0
Reply With Quote
      01-27-2013, 11:38 AM   #63
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,273
iTrader: (5)

Ive had the viper 5904 for about a year already. It works perfectly.
bmw325i is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-04-2013, 12:10 AM   #64
sdalpha
Private First Class
 
Drives: ///MR e92
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 110
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by starbai View Post
close to a year later... any chance we can get an update? any trouble since the install? Everything still working as it should?
I actually forgot I created this thread. I have been crazy busy with work, so I haven't logged onto the forums for a long time until today.

I actually haven't had a chance to install anything yet. If I have some extra time towards this summer, I may look into it again; but this isn't on top of my priority list right now.
__________________
- Mark
sdalpha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST