E90Post
 


Viva Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > Brake sensors



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-16-2012, 08:35 PM   #1
bluesteel
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, Ca

iTrader: (1)

Brake sensors

I have a 07 335i and am about to replace brakes and rotors, Do i need to replace sensors? and how many sensors are there?
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2012, 08:57 PM   #2
TheBingoBalls
Lieutenant Colonel
Canada
24
Rep
1,922
Posts

Drives: E90 325i, R56 MINI Cooper
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario

iTrader: (1)

if you replace pads, you replace sensors as well. There are two sensors, one for the front and one for the rear.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2012, 09:08 PM   #3
kevin@bavarianx
Banned
United_States
12
Rep
812
Posts

Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brea, CA

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to kevin@bavarianx
Is your brake light illuminated on your dash? If not then you can reuse your old sensors but if you do you need to replace either one or both. There is one for the front driver side and one for the rear passenger.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2012, 09:10 PM   #4
mid-corner fun
Major
United_States
21
Rep
1,427
Posts

Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NE

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 宝马.e90 View Post
if you replace pads, you replace sensors as well. There are two sensors, one for the front and one for the rear.
Not necessarily.

We've discussed this issue to death. You do not need to replace the sensors if they haven't been tripped.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2012, 09:12 PM   #5
Fred_Boosted
Lieutenant
Fred_Boosted's Avatar
6
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Does after market big brake kit need sensors?

Or the brake light will keep on?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2012, 09:16 PM   #6
bimmertt
Lieutenant Colonel
bimmertt's Avatar
28
Rep
1,678
Posts

Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth

iTrader: (7)

here is a good post:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...t=brake+sensor

I would reuse the old sensors until the light goes on and then replace.
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2012, 10:33 PM   #7
bluesteel
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, Ca

iTrader: (1)

unfortunately, my dash has illuminated, so i will be replacing my sensors. thanks for the quick responses
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2012, 12:07 AM   #8
subieworx
Lieutenant
8
Rep
403
Posts

Drives: 07 335
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (1)

I just get rid of the sensors so I don't have to bother with them. Much easier that way.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 PM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST