E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis > Brake sensors



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-16-2012, 07:35 PM   #1
bluesteel
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, Ca

Posts: 40
iTrader: (1)

Brake sensors

I have a 07 335i and am about to replace brakes and rotors, Do i need to replace sensors? and how many sensors are there?
bluesteel is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 07:57 PM   #2
TheBingoBalls
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: E90 325i, R56 MINI Cooper
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Posts: 1,703
iTrader: (1)

if you replace pads, you replace sensors as well. There are two sensors, one for the front and one for the rear.
TheBingoBalls is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 08:08 PM   #3
kevin@bavarianx
Banned
 
Drives: E36 M3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brea, CA

Posts: 812
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to kevin@bavarianx
Is your brake light illuminated on your dash? If not then you can reuse your old sensors but if you do you need to replace either one or both. There is one for the front driver side and one for the rear passenger.
kevin@bavarianx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 08:10 PM   #4
mid-corner fun
Major
 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NE

Posts: 1,392
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 宝马.e90 View Post
if you replace pads, you replace sensors as well. There are two sensors, one for the front and one for the rear.
Not necessarily.

We've discussed this issue to death. You do not need to replace the sensors if they haven't been tripped.
mid-corner fun is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 08:12 PM   #5
Fred_Boosted
First Lieutenant
 
Fred_Boosted's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 305
iTrader: (0)

Does after market big brake kit need sensors?

Or the brake light will keep on?
__________________
Fred_Boosted is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 08:16 PM   #6
bimmertt
Lieutenant Colonel
 
bimmertt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 1,671
iTrader: (7)

here is a good post:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...t=brake+sensor

I would reuse the old sensors until the light goes on and then replace.
bimmertt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 09:33 PM   #7
bluesteel
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Arcadia, Ca

Posts: 40
iTrader: (1)

unfortunately, my dash has illuminated, so i will be replacing my sensors. thanks for the quick responses
bluesteel is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2012, 11:07 PM   #8
subieworx
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 07 335
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ohio

Posts: 403
iTrader: (1)

I just get rid of the sensors so I don't have to bother with them. Much easier that way.
subieworx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST