E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Dynavin D99



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-23-2012, 12:02 PM   #243
krnet2dboi
Captain
United_States
25
Rep
912
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i Base
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New YOrk

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by proudfoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by krnet2dboi View Post
Anyone wanna buy my unit?
In san diego, I'm interested.
I returned the unit since no one wanted it
__________________
There are only two types of cars in the world; BMW and the Rest
Appreciate 0
      03-02-2012, 02:09 PM   #244
Fox530
Lieutenant
6
Rep
407
Posts

 
Drives: F10 530d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spmd11 View Post
1. Jeff showed me a trick for setting screen brightness/dim through one of the hard keys. This info not documented.
Whats the trick for this?

All I've managed to do with mine is change the functionality of the 'Mute' button - you can have a long press turning the screen off, or a long press dimming the screen. It would be great to have both options or even have the 'dim' mode as the default brightness across the unit.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2012, 11:21 AM   #245
divisionbell77
Lieutenant
divisionbell77's Avatar
6
Rep
463
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (1)

Soon to be 09 335i xdrive owner, and unless something falls into my planned price range with idrive, I will most likely be looking at something after market, from a simple cupholder stand for my android phone to a built in head unit.

How is the reliability of this brand? I see they are made in China and just wondering on the reliability on previous models?

Also, what about glitches? Does the android platform run into any issues like crashing? Do they release updates in a timely manner to fix known issues?

Anything I should look out for besides logic 7 not being compatible when looking at 335i's?
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2012, 09:58 PM   #246
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by divisionbell77 View Post
Soon to be 09 335i xdrive owner, and unless something falls into my planned price range with idrive, I will most likely be looking at something after market, from a simple cupholder stand for my android phone to a built in head unit.

How is the reliability of this brand? I see they are made in China and just wondering on the reliability on previous models?

Also, what about glitches? Does the android platform run into any issues like crashing? Do they release updates in a timely manner to fix known issues?

Anything I should look out for besides logic 7 not being compatible when looking at 335i's?
I have had nothing but good things to say about them. Apparently the products are engineered in Germany but manufactured in China. I dont have the D99 platform but mine has not had much that i can complain about. Most of my quirks were with the learning curve that is required (not as bad for me since i am a native Android operator).

I have updated my system off of Dynavin's online site and only because i noticed it was up, not that i NEEDED it. So i might be biased, but nothing bad to say. It does take a learning curve which seems to be the general consensus around here.
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2012, 05:49 PM   #247
divisionbell77
Lieutenant
divisionbell77's Avatar
6
Rep
463
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i XDrive Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (1)

What about integration with the rest of the system? I seem to be seeing people talking about bluetooth breaking? I do not care about BMW assist, but do care about hands free talking.

It looks like the steering wheel controls continue to work with this?
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2012, 11:44 PM   #248
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by divisionbell77 View Post
What about integration with the rest of the system? I seem to be seeing people talking about bluetooth breaking? I do not care about BMW assist, but do care about hands free talking.

It looks like the steering wheel controls continue to work with this?
It does break the BMW assist and the OEM bluetooth, but it does have its own built in bluetooth so you dont lose bluetooth capability, just the OEM components.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2012, 12:30 AM   #249
krnet2dboi
Captain
United_States
25
Rep
912
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 328i Base
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New YOrk

iTrader: (2)

Ugh.... once again... this unit is not for everyone.

I returned mine, but if you are going to buy it, make sure it is not for PnP use.
And don't think of it as a I-Drive replace because it is not.

This is purely my opinion...

Not worth the money.
__________________
There are only two types of cars in the world; BMW and the Rest
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2012, 02:09 AM   #250
Alpine328i
Noob
Alpine328i's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
288
Posts

 
Drives: Graduated to a 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indy

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by krnet2dboi View Post
Ugh.... once again... this unit is not for everyone.

I returned mine, but if you are going to buy it, make sure it is not for PnP use.
And don't think of it as a I-Drive replace because it is not.

This is purely my opinion...

Not worth the money.
Personally, i think it is extremely ignorant to compare it to the idrive system. An iDrive retrofit costs $1600+ on the cheap end. The Dynavin is $900 and that's usually on the high end. For $700 cheaper (almost 50% less) do you really expect it to be like OEM? It is plug and play as far as i am concerned and how my install went, but as far as being as intuitive and refined as OEM, obviously not. It follows the classic motto of "you get what you pay for" but for what i paid for and what i got, i am very happy. I am sorry you didn't feel the same way but i dont feel as though my feelings are out of the ordinary. You shared your opinion and I have shared mine. Take them for what they are worth.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2012, 09:48 AM   #251
jeffb335
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
jeffb335's Avatar
6
Rep
476
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

"Krnet2dboi" had an android unit and things didn't go smoothly for him.

I've posted the following before but it doesn't hurt to repeat:

If you want a plug and play, set it and forget it unit, don't get the android unit, the WinCE unit is far more conventional.

If you like to tinker and customize, and have the knowhow, and have a mobile wifi hotspot available, get the android unit.

Last edited by jeffb335; 03-08-2012 at 11:34 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2012, 01:41 PM   #252
chinaa108
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 330d M-Sport e90
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Hi, i am new to dynavin d99 winCe e9x. I have sygic maps that came with the unit however i want to know if i can use my iPhone sygic maps and replace the maps on the sd card on the unit. Is this possible?

Please help!
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2012, 10:19 PM   #253
Simon.bmw
Second Lieutenant
Simon.bmw's Avatar
4
Rep
287
Posts

 
Drives: E90 323I.
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Halifax.NS.CA

iTrader: (0)

I just got my customize manual ac control dynavin d99 android from JEFF.lol.. and i will install them next Friday. Can wait to see the result . Thanks Jeff.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2012, 01:05 AM   #254
auwhodat
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Louisiana

iTrader: (0)

Radio ant, wince Nav set up and A/C issues

NooB here... I've been reading tons of forums and can't get these items answered.

So, I've spent about 6 hours in the garage this afternoon and still not working right. Please help if possible thanx!
1. When uninstalled the Prof HU I unhooked the harness and another cord that was not labeled. Was that the antenna wire? If so, where does it hook up on the D99. Or do you just use the antenna provided with the 20ft long wire?!?

2. I couldn't get to any menus Jeff referred to regarding the NAV. It was just looking for satellites. I did the wizard hook up. Thoughts?

3. Lastly, and perhaps most troublesome, I got everything reinstalled and the air blower was acting crazy. Almost seemed like it was sucking air in the front.... Blowing hot air in the rear. Too strange! Any ideas?!?

Thanks bunches!
Appreciate 0
      03-28-2012, 09:09 AM   #255
sebaNYC
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
229
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 328xi
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

how good is the GPS on dynavin??? its works while are you listeing music?
Appreciate 0
      04-26-2012, 06:40 PM   #256
abhi193
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 328i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San diego

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by krnet2dboi View Post
If anyone local in San Diego wants to purchase a Dynavin E9X Dynavin Android unit, give me a holler. I can install for a small fee also
I am looking to purchase a Dynavin D99 for my 2011 BMW 328i.
Where should i get the installation done..Any recommendations??
Appreciate 0
      04-27-2012, 10:38 AM   #257
Simon_135i
Collecting dust!
Simon_135i's Avatar
29
Rep
2,002
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2008 E82/135i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Simon_135i Send a message via MSN to Simon_135i
Quote:
Originally Posted by abhi193 View Post
I am looking to purchase a Dynavin D99 for my 2011 BMW 328i.
Where should i get the installation done..Any recommendations??
Try PM-ing you but I think any local installer should be able to do it. I have a different vehicle but I am installing my Dynavin either this weekend or next. Are you just doing the Dynavin? You installing the rear camera also? SOS error? I would buy through Jeff, but that is just me!
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2012, 11:14 AM   #258
dasacom
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

 
Drives: 318d, E90
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

@spmd11 and all others:

Hi,
I am from germany and ask for your help:

Quote:
3. My constant 12V wire is not in the correct fusebox slot, so every time I power up the car and the D99, I lose all my settings. This is enormously frustrating. But who would know? There are no instructions from the supplier. I am having this resolved tomorrow, hopefully.. but it took me 3 days of painful play testing and complaining to Trent to get to the bottom of this issue.
and

Quote:
We finally found a fuse that provides constant power. This helps immensely as before, every time I shut down car I lost all settings.. hugely frustrating. This took phone calls with Jeff and 3 visits to installer over a 3 day period. I have the secret on this move and will submit this in my future instructional post (2011 335i)
__________________________________________________ ______________

Is this insturcional post ready? I canīt find it.
And I am new here (doing a lot of reading but because of bad english yet not writing)

Which is the fuse with constant power?

THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Kind regards,

dasacom
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2013, 12:57 AM   #259
AdiSinghV12
First Lieutenant
India
7
Rep
318
Posts

 
Drives: 320d M-Sport, X1, 525d
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mumbai - Delhi - Patna (India)

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to AdiSinghV12
Why does these dynavins look a bit 'popped out' from the bottom?
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2013, 07:24 PM   #260
PUG-N-BEEM GUY
Private
PUG-N-BEEM GUY's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
92
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 BMW 328I sedan
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: bakersfield Ca

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taranonline
Lol! How's the show this far? Oscar worthy?
__________________
Daily driver: 2010 E90 328. 1988 Peugeot 505 Turbo 5 speed stick.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2013, 02:40 PM   #261
philip00026
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Hi!
I am thinking to buy the dynavin for my 2011 328i.
This threat is extremely helpful to learn about the strengths and weaknesses.
Only thing I am concerned about is warranty and service for my BMW. I want to make sure the dealership does not wave the warranty because of such a 3rd party install.
I read that when you remove the original headunit, the service department won't be able to read out some stuff. Would it be an easy plug-and-play exercise to plug out the dynavin and put the original stereo back in before service is due?
I also read about the option to install the original radio in the trunk, but that sounds complicated, not sure if I would want to do that.
Thanks for advice!
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 12:56 PM   #262
jeffb335
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
jeffb335's Avatar
6
Rep
476
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Yes, its fairly easy to unplug the dynavin and temporarily plug the stock head unit back in if needed. If you go with ANY aftermarket headunit in an E9X you definitely want to keep the stock head unit handy for this reason.

Now with that said, ive had an aftermarket headunit in my car for 2 years..... haven't needed to pull it out yet....and Ive only seen a handful of people mention it on here. It doesnt worry me but Im an installer so putting the stock headunit back in for a day is not a big deal. If it is a big deal to you just do the relocation thing then it wont be an issue anyway.

you shouldnt have any trouble with the warranty, you would only have trouble if the aftermarket stereo or install caused the problem that you are trying to get warrantied. So long as you are competent, dont do anything really stupid, and install everything correctly this should never be an issue. This is not headunit specific, it goes for anything aftermarket you might install on your car.

Last edited by jeffb335; 03-11-2013 at 01:22 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2013, 01:09 PM   #263
Simon_135i
Collecting dust!
Simon_135i's Avatar
29
Rep
2,002
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2008 E82/135i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to Simon_135i Send a message via MSN to Simon_135i
I've been running this install (D99) on my 1 series for over a year and I am very happy with the product. The touchscreen works as advertised and the GPS is really spot on. I've had many bluetooth calls and def clear on both ends. Def think A2DP is much better since I can now stream nba/MLB games to my radio.

I know it's more work but I def think its worth the time and effort to relocate the HU to the trunk.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2013, 12:54 PM   #264
harper121
Bmw is awsome!!
harper121's Avatar
Germany
0
Rep
59
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335I 2008
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LACEY WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to harper121
moved to usa

Hi everyone i just moved back to the usa and need to get the usa navigation maps. where do i go to get them dynavins store site is not working.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST