E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Settings available in Full car (CAS) but not in Module



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-20-2012, 12:50 PM   #1
BMW-335i-07
1
Coding
 
Drives: 335i 2007 BMW
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 114
iTrader: (1)

Settings available in Full car (CAS) but not in Module

I saw couple off settings in full car (CAS) FSW_PSW.TRC but not in particular module.

Exampl:

Full .trc file have: VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL = drl_h
But FRM module does not have this setting

can some one answer why? pls
and maybe its in different module or can be coded with full car coding?

THX!
BMW-335i-07 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
NiVeDh
80
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 8,007
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
The "full" FSW_PSW.TRC file is somewhat meaningless. FRM will not have that setting. Only FRM2 and FRM3 do.
NiVeDh is offline   India
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2012, 09:13 PM   #3
BMW-335i-07
1
Coding
 
Drives: 335i 2007 BMW
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 114
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
The "full" FSW_PSW.TRC file is somewhat meaningless. FRM will not have that setting. Only FRM2 and FRM3 do.
just wanted find out maybe some one did try full car coding with this setting???

but I will try to dump all mine modules... and see maybe its some where else hiding ...
BMW-335i-07 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2012, 09:55 PM   #4
NiVeDh
80
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 8,007
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW-335i-07 View Post
just wanted find out maybe some one did try full car coding with this setting???

but I will try to dump all mine modules... and see maybe its some where else hiding ...
Full car coding via .MAN file is not possible as far as I know. It has to be done module-by-module.
NiVeDh is offline   India
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 01:04 AM   #5
kokignatov
0
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: BMW e90 2.0 d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bulgaria

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to kokignatov
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
Full car coding via .MAN file is not possible as far as I know. It has to be done module-by-module.
If it is not why there is an option PROCESS CAR _ CODE CAR ?
kokignatov is offline   Bulgaria
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 12:35 PM   #6
NiVeDh
80
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 8,007
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokignatov View Post
If it is not why there is an option PROCESS CAR _ CODE CAR ?
I believe that it goes module-by-module and resets everything to default. Try it with a "full" FSW_PSW.MAN with a few changes. I don't think it will work.
NiVeDh is offline   India
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 12:50 PM   #7
JimVR4
2
Second Lieutenant
 
JimVR4's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 328i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 289
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NiVeDh View Post
I believe that it goes module-by-module and resets everything to default. Try it with a "full" FSW_PSW.MAN with a few changes. I don't think it will work.
If you were to use a "full" FSW_PSW.MAN but code a particular module, does it just pull the applicable data for that module and recode it?
__________________
2009 E90 328i ///M-Sport / Blue Water Metallic / Oyster/Black Dakota / PP / 6MT / 194M / Comfort / iPod+USB w/ProClip charging dash mount / $494 /
1995 3000GT Spyder VR4
JimVR4 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 12:58 PM   #8
NiVeDh
80
Major General
 
NiVeDh's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E90 335i 6MT BSM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX & Atlanta, GA

Posts: 8,007
iTrader: (132)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVR4 View Post
If you were to use a "full" FSW_PSW.MAN but code a particular module, does it just pull the applicable data for that module and recode it?
I'm not entirely sure, but I think it doesn't. For example, the full FSW_PSW will show you things that may not be in your modules. As far as I know, it's just a temporary file that pops up sometimes - there's no way to use it for .MAN coding. Am I making any sense?
NiVeDh is offline   India
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 02:21 PM   #9
icuc
0
Banned
 
Drives: 2012 X5 35i Premium
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wisconsin

Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

Yeah.. if you do process car with .MAN files then you are going to screw up your car.

Try this if you have a warranty.
icuc is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 02:33 PM   #10
BMW-335i-07
1
Coding
 
Drives: 335i 2007 BMW
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 114
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by icuc View Post
Yeah.. if you do process car with .MAN files then you are going to screw up your car.

Try this if you have a warranty.
someone did?
BMW-335i-07 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST