E90Post
 


jb4store
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > A must to install a Capacitor??



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-03-2007, 03:24 PM   #1
nhhiep
7
Captain
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arizona

Posts: 739
iTrader: (0)

A must to install a Capacitor??

Is the battery of the E90 325i enough for a 1300W RMS mono amp, or do I must install a capacitor to protect the system?

I just got an Infinity 1211a for $135 on Ebay and will drive 2 10" 05 CVR102 Kicker. spec here.
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-GhbbeIj...sp?I=108R1211A

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...+05CVR102.html

the total RMS max of two sub combined is only 600W, so it looks like I will never turn the amp max or the subs will die.

Given this case, do I need a Cap for this big AMP? Another question. This amp has 3x40A fuse, so the I should use a 120A fuse for the power line, right?

Thanks
nhhiep is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-04-2007, 11:06 AM   #2
PiperD
7
Clutch pedal >> Dead pedal
 
Drives: '11 e92 335is 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: GTA

Posts: 709
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I can't give you a definitive answer, but I'm curious about the "protection" part.

Isn't the cap's purpose to provide adequate power to the amp during peak-loading transients? I seem to recall that the capacitors used in these audio systems are called "stiffening capacitors", specifically intended to "stiffen up" a bass hit.

Do these things provide a protective function as well?
__________________
In my garage: '11 e92 335is 6MT (05/10) SpGrey/CoralRed/GlacSlvr ExecPkg/NavPkg/19" 225M
Retired: '07 e92 335i 6MT (12/06) SpklgGrpht/CoralRed/GreyPoplar
Retired: '04 330Ci M-Sport 6MT SilverGrey/NaturalTan/MyrtleWood
Retired: '00 328Ci 5MT SteelGrey/Grey/MyrtleWood
Retired: '87 Pontiac Grand-Am 3AT White/Grey
PiperD is offline   Canada
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-04-2007, 11:09 AM   #3
NPDAN
25
Colonel
 
NPDAN's Avatar
 
Drives: AW DCT M3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: So.Cal

Posts: 2,570
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 E92 M3  [4.00]
07' E92 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to NPDAN
Dude,,, you trying to rattle your trunk lid off? (assuming the kickers are going in the trunk)
__________________
NPDAN is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-04-2007, 11:10 AM   #4
LACA335i
15
Lieutenant Colonel
 
LACA335i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i coupe Black AUTO
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alhambra, CA

Posts: 1,517
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I SEDAN  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhhiep View Post
Is the battery of the E90 325i enough for a 1300W RMS mono amp, or do I must install a capacitor to protect the system?

I just got an Infinity 1211a for $135 on Ebay and will drive 2 10" 05 CVR102 Kicker. spec here.
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-GhbbeIj...sp?I=108R1211A

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...+05CVR102.html

the total RMS max of two sub combined is only 600W, so it looks like I will never turn the amp max or the subs will die.

Given this case, do I need a Cap for this big AMP? Another question. This amp has 3x40A fuse, so the I should use a 120A fuse for the power line, right?

Thanks

what year is your car? i used to own 325i 05 4dr. t-silver. It got 780 CCA. that thing can use on a truck. it got alot of power n juice in it. i dont think you need capacitor. just check your battery if wat is your CCA.. anything above 700 CCA is super good!!! YOur Starter/alternator can generator over 100K watt to run the car. your batter can handle over 500K watt. it is depend on the batter side and model. You can always get a upgrade your battery for it
__________________
LACA335i is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-04-2007, 12:54 PM   #5
jimbethesda
2
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: M3 (E90)
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin

Posts: 209
iTrader: (0)

I think you'll need this:

__________________
2008 E90 M3
2015 M3 (ED on May 26th, 2015)
jimbethesda is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-04-2007, 01:55 PM   #6
nhhiep
7
Captain
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arizona

Posts: 739
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NPDAN View Post
Dude,,, you trying to rattle your trunk lid off? (assuming the kickers are going in the trunk)
yes, everything are in the trunk. I just installed this to test this morning and only able to turn the amp volume up to 25%, more I will get a clip warning, which means that my sub will die if I keep it up.

I didn't plan to put this big 1300W amp in my car, but I got a great deal for it. In fact, last month, I just installed a MTX 421D 420W RMS and was very happy with it. Even with the MTX, my trunk and gas cap are rattle already.

Anyone want to buy my MTX amp?

http://www.radiomancaraudio.com/deta...tx-thunder421d
nhhiep is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2007, 10:46 AM   #7
bigjae1976
55
That's what she said...
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 E90 M3 Individual
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posts: 5,534
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2004 BMW M3  [4.50]
2011 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
2013 BMW 328i  [5.00]
You should be okay. Caps are a waste, they won't provide enough energy. Try installing a better battery. But an alternator upgrade is the best way to go.

Google Kinetik and then search them on ebay. They make some pretty heavy duty batteries. They are expensive but it is cheaper and easier than an alternator upgrade.
__________________


Sponsored by Momentum BMW #593...We Bleed BMW BLUE!
bigjae1976 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2007, 01:15 PM   #8
nhhiep
7
Captain
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arizona

Posts: 739
iTrader: (0)

I try to keep everything stock, including battery. Because the car is still under warranty. I do enjoy more bass compare to the stock subs.

Has anyone in this forum installed a 1000W+ RMS amp using stock battery and no caps?
nhhiep is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2007, 11:10 PM   #9
bigjae1976
55
That's what she said...
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 E90 M3 Individual
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posts: 5,534
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2004 BMW M3  [4.50]
2011 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
2013 BMW 328i  [5.00]
If the E90s come with a 120 amp stock alternator like most of the E46s, then you'll be okay with the stock charging system.
__________________


Sponsored by Momentum BMW #593...We Bleed BMW BLUE!
bigjae1976 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-06-2007, 04:15 AM   #10
backtofront001
3
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 AW 135i
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area

Posts: 352
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjae1976 View Post
If the E90s come with a 120 amp stock alternator like most of the E46s, then you'll be okay with the stock charging system.
I am pretty sure the e90's have a 180 amp alternator
backtofront001 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-06-2007, 10:46 AM   #11
SoYank
75
Major General
 
SoYank's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 335i MT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brighton, Colorado

Posts: 7,503
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via Yahoo to SoYank Send a message via Skype™ to SoYank
Quote:
Originally Posted by LACA335i View Post
what year is your car? i used to own 325i 05 4dr. t-silver. It got 780 CCA. that thing can use on a truck. it got alot of power n juice in it. i dont think you need capacitor. just check your battery if wat is your CCA.. anything above 700 CCA is super good!!! YOur Starter/alternator can generator over 100K watt to run the car. your batter can handle over 500K watt. it is depend on the batter side and model. You can always get a upgrade your battery for it
__________________
2009 E90 335i Montego Blue Black Leather Burl Walnut 6MT US Spec
SatNav ZPP ZCW 6FL TPMS iDrive PDC HWS Xenons BMW Assist Power Rear Sunshade Logic 7
European Taillights Rear Foglamp OEM Alarm PicoTray DataToys XM-DVR Multi-view Processor
Quaife ATB LSD Short Shift Knob Hartge Anti-Roll Bars AP Racing Front Brakes 19" Style 269
SoYank is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-08-2007, 06:23 PM   #12
cedchung
3
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 E92 335i, 2014 F30 320i
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montreal/Mauritius

Posts: 306
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhhiep View Post
I try to keep everything stock, including battery. Because the car is still under warranty. I do enjoy more bass compare to the stock subs.

Has anyone in this forum installed a 1000W+ RMS amp using stock battery and no caps?
I have a JL Audio 1000/1 and 10W7 with stock battery and no cap.
I still don't know if I need a cap
__________________
cedchung is online now   Canada
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-09-2007, 03:48 PM   #13
nhhiep
7
Captain
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arizona

Posts: 739
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cedchung View Post
I have a JL Audio 1000/1 and 10W7 with stock battery and no cap.
I still don't know if I need a cap
Yours is 335. so, the battery and the alternator should be bigger than my 325. I am surprised no one in this forum put a high power amp in their 325/328 yet.
nhhiep is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-09-2007, 11:14 PM   #14
bigjae1976
55
That's what she said...
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 E90 M3 Individual
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posts: 5,534
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2004 BMW M3  [4.50]
2011 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
2013 BMW 328i  [5.00]
You'll be okay, you don't need a cap or upgraded electrical system. Just install the amps. The amp has a regulated power supply so the amp will put out about the same power from 12V - 14V.

If you are going to compete in local car audio comps, then you should upgrade te alt and battery.
__________________


Sponsored by Momentum BMW #593...We Bleed BMW BLUE!
bigjae1976 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      07-10-2007, 12:28 AM   #15
chaforjohn
0
Private
 
Drives: 2006 Black M Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Irvine, CA

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to chaforjohn
you can go over 1000W no problem. I have a 1000w crossfire with jlw6v2 and a 400w Audison SRX5. Sounds great.

-John
chaforjohn is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST