E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior/interior) > ▀▄ eas - 2011 LCI Taillight Retrofit Overview - Q&A



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-20-2011, 07:34 PM   #155
Elliott@DetailAddict
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,399
iTrader: (0)

For LCI rear lights on an E90 you need the lights, wire harnesses just like the E92 but you also need a new trunk
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-20-2011, 07:44 PM   #156
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
For LCI rear lights on an E90 you need the lights, wire harnesses just like the E92 but you also need a new trunk
No retrofit harnesses are needed on e90 models, only e92/3
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-20-2011, 08:08 PM   #157
Elliott@DetailAddict
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,399
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
No retrofit harnesses are needed on e90 models, only e92/3
Oops! Sorry thanks for clearing that up Tom!
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 11:08 AM   #158
E60orBust
Captain
 
Drives: "The Brothers //M-Sport" E90/2
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 633
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2iSTUDIOS View Post
Any way you can get something to work for folks with a BT cable for the coding?
Any word about the BT Cable usage? I'm planning on doing this as my next mod, but it would be great if I could do it all in my own garage as I already have the tools to connect (pro BT cable/software).
__________________
Down for Maintenance
E60orBust is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 11:40 AM   #159
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by E60orBust View Post
Any word about the BT Cable usage? I'm planning on doing this as my next mod, but it would be great if I could do it all in my own garage as I already have the tools to connect (pro BT cable/software).
BT cables are not compatible with NCS software.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 11:55 AM   #160
E60orBust
Captain
 
Drives: "The Brothers //M-Sport" E90/2
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 633
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
BT cables are not compatible with NCS software.
How long 'should' it take for an autologic shop to do it?
__________________
Down for Maintenance
E60orBust is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 12:19 PM   #161
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by E60orBust View Post
How long 'should' it take for an autologic shop to do it?
No longer than 15 minutes. There is a retrofit path ready within the system now.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 12:23 PM   #162
E60orBust
Captain
 
Drives: "The Brothers //M-Sport" E90/2
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MD

Posts: 633
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
No longer than 15 minutes. There is a retrofit path ready within the system now.
Good to know. Autologic gave me info for a shop close to me, so now I know if they say I have to 'leave it for the day' something would be fishy (my car has a lot of power mods).
__________________
Down for Maintenance
E60orBust is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 12:32 PM   #163
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by E60orBust View Post
Good to know. Autologic gave me info for a shop close to me, so now I know if they say I have to 'leave it for the day' something would be fishy (my car has a lot of power mods).
Should be very simple. Keep in mind that some shops may charge a minimum 1hr or possible flat rate for coding, I would check beforehand.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-27-2012, 08:01 PM   #164
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Had a couple of inquiries on LCI Taillight upgrade procedures, bringing this back from the archives.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2013, 04:40 PM   #165
Fortyb
WHO DAT!
 
Fortyb's Avatar
 
Drives: "07 328I Coupe,"12 Acura Mdx
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Huntsville,AL/WHO DAT

Posts: 889
iTrader: (3)

Big Shot out to Tom@EAS for helping me with the Autologic and coding my Rear taillights...Thanks..
__________________
2007 328CI l 19" AG M359 | 235/35/19f | 275/30/19r | VRS Spoiler | 8500 Gp | Aero lip | Front reflectors delete | Cyba Intake scoops | BMS PBX | LTBMW M3sides | CF roof spoiler |Split Leather Armrest | Mod4cars remote | LCI Tail lights | M-tech Rear | Valentine V1 Hardwired.
Fortyb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2013, 11:06 PM   #166
dylim
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

Posts: 238
iTrader: (3)

Slightly off topic... I have a 2008 328xi (production 11/07). Looking to jump from pre lci halogen to lci ahl xenon. I'm guessing that the retrofitting the headlights vs retrofitting the tail lights have the same FRM requirements, so according to Tom@EAS's research, this means that I'd need to get an FRM3.

Two questions:
1. Are all FRM3s LED/AHL capable? I have not seen any FRM3s with these designations on the stickers. One vendor on ebay tells me FRM3s are all the same - all of them have all the capabilities.

2. If I get the FRM3 and code the xenon headlights, can I keep pre lci tail lights without problems?
dylim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2013, 09:21 PM   #167
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylim View Post
Slightly off topic... I have a 2008 328xi (production 11/07). Looking to jump from pre lci halogen to lci ahl xenon. I'm guessing that the retrofitting the headlights vs retrofitting the tail lights have the same FRM requirements, so according to Tom@EAS's research, this means that I'd need to get an FRM3.

Two questions:
1. Are all FRM3s LED/AHL capable? I have not seen any FRM3s with these designations on the stickers. One vendor on ebay tells me FRM3s are all the same - all of them have all the capabilities.

2. If I get the FRM3 and code the xenon headlights, can I keep pre lci tail lights without problems?
There is no need to purchase a FRM3, FRM2 can be coded by autologic.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2013, 11:26 PM   #168
dylim
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

Posts: 238
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
There is no need to purchase a FRM3, FRM2 can be coded by autologic.
Thanks Tom! I have NFRM = FRM2, so if I don't need the FRM3, I'll save about 300 bucks, and that would be great

Is autologic the only way? What about NCSEXPERT?
dylim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2013, 11:36 PM   #169
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylim View Post
Thanks Tom! I have NFRM = FRM2, so if I don't need the FRM3, I'll save about 300 bucks, and that would be great

Is autologic the only way? What about NCSEXPERT?
NCS would also work.

BMW simply cannot program a NFRM/FRM2 to accept LCI tails. For those vehicles equipped with these modules, simply use a dealer-alternative instead (independent).
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2013, 11:42 PM   #170
dylim
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

Posts: 238
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
NCS would also work.

BMW simply cannot program a NFRM/FRM2 to accept LCI tails. For those vehicles equipped with these modules, simply use a dealer-alternative instead (independent).
Thanks again Tom. So as far as LCI tails are concerned, my NFRM is fine.

But I think according to this post http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=692205, to get AHL and xenon headlights, in all likelihood I'll need to upgrade to the FRM3 anyways... ><
dylim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-04-2013, 11:58 PM   #171
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylim View Post
Thanks again Tom. So as far as LCI tails are concerned, my NFRM is fine.

But I think according to this post http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=692205, to get AHL and xenon headlights, in all likelihood I'll need to upgrade to the FRM3 anyways... ><
Entirely different issue, but might as well get FRM3 for your headlight upgrade. I'm not even certain FRM2 modules are even sold anymore.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 12:00 AM   #172
dylim
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

Posts: 238
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Entirely different issue, but might as well get FRM3 for your headlight upgrade. I'm not even certain FRM2 modules are even sold anymore.
Back to the issue then, sort of Would my pre lci taillights go crazy if I get the FRM3?
dylim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 12:06 AM   #173
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylim View Post
Back to the issue then, sort of Would my pre lci taillights go crazy if I get the FRM3?
No, as long as you get coding after installation.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 12:41 AM   #174
dylim
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

Posts: 238
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
No, as long as you get coding after installation.
Found this post http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=553832.

Probably no one is interested in using prelci tail with FRM3 Judging from the post, I'll just need to SG_CODIEREN the FRM3 and the tail lights should still be fine, since I would not have added the LED tails to the VO.
dylim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 12:46 AM   #175
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,653
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dylim View Post
Found this post http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=553832.

Probably no one is interested in using prelci tail with FRM3 Judging from the post, I'll just need to SG_CODIEREN the FRM3 and the tail lights should still be fine, since I would not have added the LED tails to the VO.
There is no VO entry for LCI Tails.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2013, 02:46 AM   #176
dylim
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: bay area

Posts: 238
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
There is no VO entry for LCI Tails.
Eh! I guess I'm getting confused. In the other post, alpina527 said:
"For 2009-2010 models with FRM3 module, add +MUH2 to your Vo and code the FRM".

So I was just thinking that as long as I do nothing to my current VO, and just SG_CODIEREN the FRM3, my pre lci tails would be fine, is that completely wraung?
dylim is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST