E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > DIY: N54 Injector Coding Via INPA



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-05-2012, 01:59 PM   #221
DJtoad
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2010 535i M Sport
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Posts: 380
iTrader: (1)

I noticed that the MSD80 files in the INPA/SGDAT and EDIABAS/ECU directories don't appear to be model-specific so I decided to try this software distribution with my E60 535i. I'm happy to say it came right up and I was able to read my injector values. I didn't try to reset any but I have no reason to believe it wouldn't let me do so. Great work, vasillalov!
__________________
2010 535i M Sport - Platinum Gray/Dakota Black/Anthracite Bamboo
Premium, Value, Cold Weather, Sport Auto, Navigation, Satellite, Logic 7, Comfort Access, Park Distance, Fold Down Rear Seats, Heated Rear Seats, Rear Side Airbags, JB4 Stage 3, BMS DCIs, BMS OCC, Proform Clear Bra, LUX H8 LED angel eyes
DJtoad is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 02:13 PM   #222
Ndx
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 328i Xdrive
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada, Ontario

Posts: 266
iTrader: (1)

Hi Guys,

Does this apply to 328 ?

or only 335 ?

Thx
Ndx is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 02:38 PM   #223
enrita
Major General
 
enrita's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

Posts: 7,323
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ndx View Post
Hi Guys,

Does this apply to 328 ?

or only 335 ?

Thx
applies to all e90.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
enrita is offline   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 04:53 PM   #224
Joshboody
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: pickemuptruck
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 1,708
iTrader: (7)

tried again and no luck... get the same message sys 00010.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...8&postcount=25

The INPA doc says this:

3.1 EDIABAS error 100: sys-0010: Initialization error
Reason: this message comes when an SGBD has an automatic concept switch between multiple diagnostics logs and is not connected to the controller.
Solution: Connect the controller

I can connect, but it won't read any data once i get through the menu options. I'm using Vista, but my other computers are windows 7 64bit.
Joshboody is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 05:47 PM   #225
335okc
Captain
 
335okc's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: okc

Posts: 654
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshboody View Post
tried again and no luck... get the same message sys 00010.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...8&postcount=25

The INPA doc says this:

3.1 EDIABAS error 100: sys-0010: Initialization error
Reason: this message comes when an SGBD has an automatic concept switch between multiple diagnostics logs and is not connected to the controller.
Solution: Connect the controller

I can connect, but it won't read any data once i get through the menu options. I'm using Vista, but my other computers are windows 7 64bit.
is it vista 32? i actually got that error 100 before. i got a handfull of different error so i'm not clear as to what fixed everything.
show us your front page
335okc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 10:10 PM   #226
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,275
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshboody View Post
tried again and no luck... get the same message sys 00010.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...8&postcount=25

The INPA doc says this:

3.1 EDIABAS error 100: sys-0010: Initialization error
Reason: this message comes when an SGBD has an automatic concept switch between multiple diagnostics logs and is not connected to the controller.
Solution: Connect the controller

I can connect, but it won't read any data once i get through the menu options. I'm using Vista, but my other computers are windows 7 64bit.
I just looked at Vasillovs DIY and did you follow it to the tee? If so did you enter the path variable as ;C:\ediabas\bin If you forgot that ; in front of last file it wont work and Ediabas is not connected.


Notice in the DIY it is not showing the ; for this step

Edit the Path Variable and make sure you append (add to the end) the following: C:\EDIABAS\BIN

It should be this ;C:\EDIABAS\BIN

Try that out if you missed this.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 10:53 PM   #227
335okc
Captain
 
335okc's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: okc

Posts: 654
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshboody View Post
tried again and no luck... get the same message sys 00010.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...8&postcount=25

The INPA doc says this:

3.1 EDIABAS error 100: sys-0010: Initialization error
Reason: this message comes when an SGBD has an automatic concept switch between multiple diagnostics logs and is not connected to the controller.
Solution: Connect the controller

I can connect, but it won't read any data once i get through the menu options. I'm using Vista, but my other computers are windows 7 64bit.
actually, did you make sure you're on map 0 and CAN clear off?
does your inpa detect ignition on when you first load it?
335okc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 11:33 PM   #228
Joshboody
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: pickemuptruck
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 1,708
iTrader: (7)

Yep did everythng above reconfirming all steps. I can connect with ign, battery dark and error showing when it tries to pull data. I'm thinking potentionally the cable, but i'd hate to buy another.

Vas and cn you all are both 07s... Do you have direct knowledge of a 08 having success? Okc, what build date are you? Im 10/2007. I thought i saw a later model e60 did this off of Vas's downloads.
Joshboody is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2012, 11:54 PM   #229
335okc
Captain
 
335okc's Avatar
 
Drives: e90 335
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: okc

Posts: 654
iTrader: (0)

my build date is 9 06. i did use cn's select files. maybe he's willing to send those files to you too ?
335okc is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2012, 07:44 AM   #230
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,275
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by 335okc View Post
my build date is 9 06. i did use cn's select files. maybe he's willing to send those files to you too ?

Just forward the mail from me to him! Lol. Easy but I have a feeling that's not his issue.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2012, 08:30 AM   #231
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
 
vasillalov's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,137
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshboody View Post
Yep did everythng above reconfirming all steps. I can connect with ign, battery dark and error showing when it tries to pull data. I'm thinking potentionally the cable, but i'd hate to buy another.

Vas and cn you all are both 07s... Do you have direct knowledge of a 08 having success? Okc, what build date are you? Im 10/2007. I thought i saw a later model e60 did this off of Vas's downloads.
Mine is a 2008 model. Build date 10/2007 with CANBUS.
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine
vasillalov is online now   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 09:34 PM   #232
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Similar issue here And I just put in new injectors. 12/06 build date.



I tried 4 version on files, Ediabas and two laptops
Most of other options work. BTW while there I've found an option to lower/raise the idle. Raised mine to 800 to keep that oil flowing in heat.

onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 10:19 PM   #233
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Here's what I've done to troubleshoot.

Tried 5 version of Ediabas.
Tried different INPA assemblies.
Two known good cables.
Disable CANClear in Procede

Almost everything else in MSD80 works fine. I can play with cooling fans, water pump, etc. What I noticed though is that some options are not working unless I switch Procede to map 0 so I think that the last thing to try would be to remove it completely for now.

If that fails I'm fucked. I swapped injectors from a 535 that my friend traded in and don't have my old injectors anymore. Car drives more or less ok, but I haven't pushed it at all since the swap.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 10:24 PM   #234
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
 
vasillalov's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,137
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
I think you may be using an older version of the MSD80.ipo file. Try the one from my zip. Also, all piggies must be set on full bypass mode. All CAN hijacking must be turned off.
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine
vasillalov is online now   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      03-21-2012, 10:30 PM   #235
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

I was using your version as well.
Procede is disabled but I still think it may interfere. I know it does on N55 even when completely turned off. Will update tomorrow.

What tune you have?

BTW I have a Bulgarian friend, he sent me a link to music video by Azis. WTF dude?

Last edited by onebadmofo; 03-21-2012 at 11:15 PM.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 12:14 AM   #236
pinky_and_me
Second Lieutenant
 
pinky_and_me's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 275
iTrader: (0)

It works for me with Procede on map 4 and canclear on using vasillalov's files. And I coded few options as well. Shiv has mentioned several times that the Procede does not intercept anything when the engine is off.
pinky_and_me is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 09:09 AM   #237
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Well that's bad then. Like I said I already have new injectors installed and now I can't code them. Gonna try with ISTA-D, GT1 or Progman.
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 10:09 AM   #238
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
cn555ic's Avatar
 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 18,275
iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Well that's bad then. Like I said I already have new injectors installed and now I can't code them. Gonna try with ISTA-D, GT1 or Progman.
Come by the meet tonight in Brooklyn..(ceasars bay at 9pm) ..I will have my laptop with INPA working with Dcan cable.. I have an 07 that has never had a software update though...You can use my laptop and even take the INPA program file from me and code your injectors, but I doubt it is the program that you have, since you are far from a novice when it comes to coding...Should take the most 5 minutes if you have all the values copied down for each cylinder....You are the king of coding from what I hear so there is definitely some other issues IMO, but what can it be.. Do you have the latest and greatest update of ECU software. I read somewhere that BMW is coming out with new daten files and INPA 5.06..

BTW...When my Procede is not set to valet, INPA does not read the OBD readiness flags, so there is some truth to it that some functions wont work when Procede is on either map 1,2,3 or 4
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area


Last edited by cn555ic; 03-22-2012 at 10:17 AM.
cn555ic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 08:34 PM   #239
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Removed Procede, still no go.
Called up a friend, gonna code 'em with Autologic
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
      03-22-2012, 08:53 PM   #240
vasillalov
Mad Linux Guru On The Loose
 
vasillalov's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 4,137
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 335i E90  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshboody View Post
Yep did everythng above reconfirming all steps. I can connect with ign, battery dark and error showing when it tries to pull data. I'm thinking potentionally the cable, but i'd hate to buy another.

Vas and cn you all are both 07s... Do you have direct knowledge of a 08 having success? Okc, what build date are you? Im 10/2007. I thought i saw a later model e60 did this off of Vas's downloads.
MIne is a 2008 model. I've said this 10 times already LOL. My build date is 10/2007 but it is a 2008 model.
__________________
Equal Opportunity Harasser!
6MT | COBB | AR | AE | Forge DV | HPF | P3 Gauge | Hybrid Intake | O.S.Giken TCD | All M3 bits | TCKLine
vasillalov is online now   Bulgaria
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2012, 10:07 PM   #241
Joshboody
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: pickemuptruck
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Posts: 1,708
iTrader: (7)

success... finally. Thanks guys for the advise. Ended up being the order in which cable is connected and turning on the ignition believe it or not.
BTW: with procede you don't have to be in map0

Now we need a new thread in the tech session with DIYs of the different things you can do with INPA... I'm timid to go beyond just looking at each Fx screen.
Joshboody is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2012, 10:11 PM   #242
onebadmofo
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

Posts: 2,394
iTrader: (14)

Figured out my issue as well. All the versions of Ediabas i had were 6, this thing needs 7.2. Feel like an idiot.

What is weird is that one of my injectors is way off than the rest of them, that's not a concern once it's programmed right, right?

#1 - 573 232
#2 - 576 220
#3 - 586 227
#4 - 580 184
#5 - 579 223
#6 - 582 213
onebadmofo is offline   Russian Federation
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST