E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Radar Hardwire Install Help!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-24-2012, 12:15 AM   #1
fmusignac
Private
 
Drives: 2012 335i Convertible
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Des Moines, IA

Posts: 55
iTrader: (0)

Radar Hardwire Install Help!

So I have the iRadar from my 2010 370z and just got the hardwire cable in the mail today. I will have to go pick up one of the fuse kits so you can put 2 into one. Can anyone help me figure out that part? Which one to get and how to do it once I do. What voltage fuse do I need? Is it the mini? Im trying to do the harwire to the garage opener or whatever is best.

I appreciate any help!!!
fmusignac is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2012, 07:05 AM   #2
cole92
Second Lieutenant
 
cole92's Avatar
 
Drives: too much
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SoFlo / Tri-state / Mid-Atlantic

Posts: 270
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to cole92
Once you get the kit, there are two options: Fusebox or power to sunroof. Some choose to go to the fusebox and some hit the power under the map lights.

Personally I dislike the add a fuse because it tends to space out the one side of the fuse and needs to be fixed when you remove the add a fuse.

**EDITED cause i haven't had enough coffee this morning**

Last edited by cole92; 03-24-2012 at 07:29 AM.
cole92 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2012, 07:14 AM   #3
BMW335icoupe
Captain
 
BMW335icoupe's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i Xdrive Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ohio

Posts: 638
iTrader: (2)

I am having my 9500ix professionally hardwired Monday but on my 2007 Audi A6 I had used a 2 amp fuse for the radar detector and kept the original fuse from the home link which was a 5 amp in the top slot of the add a fuse. Make sure you get a good ground otherwise it won't work. I learned that the hard way after 1 hour of figuring out what was wrong I noticed that my ground was bad.
BMW335icoupe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2012, 01:14 PM   #4
cjmoy
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335d, 2013 Tiguan
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Posts: 29
iTrader: (1)

I purchased the mini add a fuse. I just hardwired my V1 last week using the step-by-step I found here:

http://billswebspace.com/BMWe90Radar...stallation.htm

I didn't drill the hole and used the existing Torx bolt to secure my ground. It works great.
cjmoy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2012, 11:37 PM   #5
fmusignac
Private
 
Drives: 2012 335i Convertible
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Des Moines, IA

Posts: 55
iTrader: (0)

Thanks guys! Appreciate the responses. I did it today. I got the mini ATM from autozone and the hardwire kit from eBay. Total about 15 bucks vs 100 that I payed for hardwiring my last car.

Im having a problem though. After a short drive I added electrical tape to the connection of the hardwiring kit and the fuse tap. Now it will not turn off when I shut off the car completely. The HomeLink will only work with the car on but the radar stays on. I guess I will give it a day or two and see but I would like to hear if anyone has seen anything like this.

I do have a 10 amp fuse for the radar and the 5 that was there previously. They were out of stock of the 1 amp fuses Ive seen recommended in different posts here.

THANKS!
fmusignac is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST