E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Modified D-can cable



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-06-2012, 05:50 PM   #1
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Modified D-can cable

I modified my D-can cable and installed a switch in order to have it operational with 2006 and earlier models that use the OBDII port. My cable did not come with an adapter... 2/2007 and older vehicles requires the pin 7 and 8 to be bridged to work..3/2007 and later requires pin 7 and 8 to be separate. So for 2 bucks at Radio Shack and about 20 minutes of my time, I have a fully functional cable for both applications!
Attached Images
 
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area


Last edited by cn555ic; 04-06-2012 at 10:04 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 06:15 PM   #2
Alvine90
Private First Class
1
Rep
168
Posts

 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arcadia

iTrader: (2)

lol nice
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 07:55 PM   #3
Bendercle
Banned
United_States
4
Rep
264
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
That is actually really awesome, you should post a DIY
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 08:34 PM   #4
hugus311
Titanium silver + Sport + Premium
hugus311's Avatar
United_States
7
Rep
632
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i (E90)
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: west covina 626

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
That is actually really awesome, you should post a DIY
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2012, 10:07 PM   #5
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
That is actually really awesome, you should post a DIY
I will post up pics and give you the DIY when I get a chance..Its actually very simple that any average person can do that has access to a drill and a soldering gun.

Tools needed..
1. Small philip screwdriver to take the D-can cover off
2 Radio Shack micro on/off switch (can be two prongs or three) and some wire 24 guage.
3. Soldering gun
4. Some type of glue gun or glue adhesive
5. Drill bit 5/16 to make hole in the D-can cover

Locate pin 8 which will have a number on the side of the board. One side will have the digit 1 and the other digit 8

Once you locate pin 8, thats the pin we will be using as well as the next one over. Connect each pin 7 and 8 with a separate wire and then use the soldering gun and connect each wire to the micro on/off switch... If you bought a 2 prong on/off switch connect it to each side, but if you bought a switch with three prongs, connect the middle and one of the ends, doesnt matter which one. At the end there will be one prong end not used...Neatly place the wires snug so that the D-can cover can be closed without anything preventing it to make a closed seal and your done. Screw in the 4 philip head screws in their respected holes. Note which postion is on and which is off by some type of label on the outside of the cover...SImple! Note on my first pic, I have a switch with 3 prongs, but I snipped off the 3rd one just to make it easier to solder...
Attached Images
    
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area


Last edited by cn555ic; 04-08-2012 at 09:27 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2012, 01:35 PM   #6
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Last time around I tried connecting my brother-in-laws car with Progman and it never was able to read his VO. My cable has pin 7 and 8 separated. I will try today with my new modified cable to see if it works with Progman.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area


Last edited by cn555ic; 04-07-2012 at 01:40 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2012, 07:15 PM   #7
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

I still dont get the point of doing that, good DCAN cable works on 2005 to 2012 without any problem, at least my did, but i see that your cable is not good one
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2012, 09:05 PM   #8
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
I still dont get the point of doing that, good DCAN cable works on 2005 to 2012 without any problem, at least my did, but i see that your cable is not good one
How do you know its not a good cable? Is yours made differently? Can you show a pic of your good cable for comparison so at least I can understand what constitutes a good one and a bad one

My cable did not come with the adapter so thats why I went this route BTW, and it only cost me 2 dollars US money to make!
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 03:29 AM   #9
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

2$ is cheap mod good for you. My cable is all black with thin rubber isolation. I read a lot for transparent cables from china and their build and signal quality. I dont have external adapter also but mine works very good with all models . When i get back to home i will put here some photos. Happy easter !!
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 02:18 PM   #10
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

Mine looks just like this :

Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 03:53 PM   #11
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
Mine looks just like this :

That looks nice, but cant see the guts of it! I am sure you paid much more than what I paid for my cable.

You seem to have alot of knowledge when it comes to coding and softwares...Can you please give me some advice.

I modified my cable with a switch and have 7 and 8 bridged to work with a 2004 E46. INPA and Dis 44 work perfect but I cant get Progman to work. Progman starts to reads the FA/ZCS after you choose the car model and then after awhile it says it requires an Edic/Icom cable connection. What needs to be done to make connection with Progman SSS V32?? Do I need to change anything in the Ediabas configuration. I know my modified cable works fine now that I modified it because Dis 44 and INPA wasn't communicating before I modified the cable. Thanks for the help. I am stumped as I want to code the car for my brother-in-law. I actually can use Dis 44 as I already went into the CKM coding menu, but Progman is much better to help him choose his features he wants as its pretty much offers a checklist with dots! Happy Easter for those that celebrate the holiday.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 04:07 PM   #12
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

You need Icom emulator or proper scripts for it Try to use this : https://rapidshare.com/files/3576172575/skrypt.iso just mount it in deamontools and run If it wont help try using diaghead emulator plus IFHsrv32.

Do you have DIS standalone or in VM ??

I have DIS v57 with coding on VM but its only for trade sadly. Try the way i write to you above ..

Here are some DIY in english if you dont ave them read it and try step by step

https://rapidshare.com/files/1480295...p_file____.rar

there are on my rapidhsre so if they are deleted just PM me to refresh links
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 05:03 PM   #13
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
You need Icom emulator or proper scripts for it Try to use this : https://rapidshare.com/files/3576172575/skrypt.iso just mount it in deamontools and run If it wont help try using diaghead emulator plus IFHsrv32.

Do you have DIS standalone or in VM ??

I have DIS v57 with coding on VM but its only for trade sadly. Try the way i write to you above ..

Here are some DIY in english if you dont ave them read it and try step by step

https://rapidshare.com/files/1480295...p_file____.rar

there are on my rapidhsre so if they are deleted just PM me to refresh links
I have the scripts for it...I was using the ChangesbyXdriveV2 which works for my car 2007 E93, but I forgot to change it over to SSSfull start which I think its for E36 and E46. I have to go back and try that out...So you obviously think thats the issue! Yeah you think to run the Digi emulator? Okay I will try that but I thought the Digi head emulator was just for the DIS software. I looked over the link you just send me and indeed the files look exactly the same as the SSSfullstart.iso. I will load that one up and take out the changesbyXdriveV2 to see if that works...Its just wierd that DIS and Inpa work with no problems.

I have both Dis 44 and Dis 57 in VM and they both work flawlessly...Only thing sucks about V57 is that E90s cant code CKM...Dis 44 works well but I rather have Progman code the car as the coding menu is so much easier to choose options for my brother in law...Dis has more literature to make changes...


I will head out later and try the SSS fullstart.iso along with your script that you linked me...Hopefully it will work...At least I know my 2 US dollar D-can cable modification worked! lol
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area


Last edited by cn555ic; 04-08-2012 at 05:14 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 05:32 PM   #14
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

changes.iso script i gave you should do the trick already
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 07:28 PM   #15
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
changes.iso script i gave you should do the trick already
Thanks D! I just checked the SSS full start is the same changes as yours, only thing the file name is different! Thanks. WIll get back to you in a little bit, heading over the house now to try to get it working
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 07:38 PM   #16
Dziqsek_
Banned
Poland
4
Rep
413
Posts

 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

iTrader: (0)

No problem, im going to sleep now its almost 2:40 am here and i need to get in 4 hours ;/ good luck!
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 08:22 PM   #17
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Good night my friend. With the sssfullstart.iso it worked. Thanks for your help. Pretty cool but this Progman takes forever. So god damn slow. I hate it. Coded everything he wanted with the help of the dummy downed Progman menus!!. IMO, NCS is sooooo much better and I would not touch this program unless it was for older cars like the E46 or E36, even though I probably can work with NCS as alot of coding is similar to my E93.
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area


Last edited by cn555ic; 04-08-2012 at 09:32 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2012, 09:13 PM   #18
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Took a pic of my success with my modified D-can cable connected to E46 using Progman. Thanks again *******! My brother-in-law had no idea he had so many features that were not turn on...He also turn off his daytime running lights which he hated!
Attached Images
 
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 09:05 AM   #19
mflauer
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Can you go the other way? Is there a way to convert the OBDII cable to D-Can to work on a 2008?
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 12:35 PM   #20
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
Peertwelve's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
335
Posts

 
Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E90 335i  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
Mine looks just like this :

I have this cable also.. It's the one recommended on these threads. It came with the pin 7 8 adapter but I have not needed it on 2005+ cars
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 03:39 PM   #21
mflauer
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peertwelve View Post
I have this cable also.. It's the one recommended on these threads. It came with the pin 7 8 adapter but I have not needed it on 2005+ cars
Unfortunately the one I just received says OBD II on the side not D-can. Will this work on a 2008 and if not, can jumpers be removed so it can?
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 03:46 PM   #22
mflauer
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Just took it apart and 7/8 are soldered together. Will it work this way or can I just remove the solder. Also which software works best?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST