E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > CIC Retrofit in '08 E92 Journal



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-04-2012, 07:50 PM   #23
tcw
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 721
iTrader: (2)

Is there anyway to program the steering wheel programmable buttons with the CIC, or is that just a CCC function?
__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450
tcw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2012, 10:49 PM   #24
tcw
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 721
iTrader: (2)

Just an update. Got a new center console and wrapped it tonight.


__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450
tcw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2012, 11:57 PM   #25
Druppy
Registered
 
Drives: 2009 650i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Did this upgrade change out all your menus to be the new style that you would see in a 2012 BMW or the older style for some and new for other? Most of your pictures seem to have expired some pics of all the menus would be really helpful for me, if you don't mind.
Druppy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2012, 01:25 PM   #26
tcw
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 721
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Druppy View Post
Did this upgrade change out all your menus to be the new style that you would see in a 2012 BMW or the older style for some and new for other? Most of your pictures seem to have expired some pics of all the menus would be really helpful for me, if you don't mind.
Fixed the images. What menu specifically do you want a picture of.
__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450
tcw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2012, 06:05 PM   #27
Druppy
Registered
 
Drives: 2009 650i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcw View Post
Fixed the images. What menu specifically do you want a picture of.
Thanks for fixing them. It looks like all the menus became the new style with this upgrade. This is great. When I did a Nav upgrade on my 745 it only updated the NAV screens but not the others. I was worried that with this upgrade some of the screens would still look like the old style but that does not seem to be the case.

Do you know if this upgrade would be doable on an E63 650i?
Druppy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2012, 06:42 PM   #28
tcw
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 721
iTrader: (2)

Yea I believe so. If you order from ebay just make sure you get one with the appropriate cover around the screen.
__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450
tcw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2012, 06:46 PM   #29
Druppy
Registered
 
Drives: 2009 650i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Is upgrading the screen necessary or do you only need to upgrade the CCC unit to a CIC?
Druppy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2012, 07:35 PM   #30
Booster4075
First Lieutenant
 
Booster4075's Avatar
 
Drives: E90, 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California

Posts: 388
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Druppy View Post
Is upgrading the screen necessary or do you only need to upgrade the CCC unit to a CIC?
Upgrading the CIC, screen, and controller is required.
Booster4075 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-19-2012, 11:23 AM   #31
tcw
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 721
iTrader: (2)

The controller is not require, but mot "kits" include it. I was using my old controller for a couple weeks before I got a new center console in to fit the new one.
__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450
tcw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-20-2012, 11:39 AM   #32
socrates42
Private First Class
 
Drives: 08 M3 Sedan / 04 WRX
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Wash, DC

Posts: 167
iTrader: (0)

This is a great thread! and it looks like your local! (I'm in NOVA) I really want to check out all the bells and whistles when you get the combox installed. Are you going to any meets/trackdays in the near future?

I've got a 2008 M3 as well that I really want to update the electronics in.
socrates42 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-20-2012, 07:45 PM   #33
tcw
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 721
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by socrates42 View Post
This is a great thread! and it looks like your local! (I'm in NOVA) I really want to check out all the bells and whistles when you get the combox installed. Are you going to any meets/trackdays in the near future?

I've got a 2008 M3 as well that I really want to update the electronics in.

I am holding off on the combox for the moment until the Iphone supports text messages going to the idrive. Just can't justify the retrofit for internet and the facebook app which I don't see myself using in the car. I go to some VMSC autocross events, but not really any meets.

I have been recently trying to install updates to the bluetooth and maps (2012 version). I have been doing so by USB, but for whatever reason the idrive don't start the update when I put the usb in... Some one said that the earlier CIC software versions had to be updated by DVD so I may look into updating the CIC firmware/software.

UPDATE: Ordered the navi DVD's from tischer. Also pulled the VIN for map updates from the CIC using this method: http://www.**************/showthread...7422#post27422 from "bmw coding . com"
__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450

Last edited by tcw; 04-20-2012 at 10:51 PM.
tcw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 09:39 AM   #34
raf555
Banned
 
Drives: BMW 320D
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South Yorkshire

Posts: 2,101
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcw
Quote:
Originally Posted by EQUANT View Post
2. - depending on the CIC sw version, you might also need a FSC 6NR activation code
Hmm.. So I may not want it updated to the newest version because the older version doesn't require a FSC code for 6NR?
So what head unit is better to have for a retrofit?
The one with 2 ports or 3 ports at the back.

Am I right in thinking the ones with just two ports are the newest units??

Thanks
raf555 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2012, 09:09 PM   #35
tcw
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

Posts: 721
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raf555 View Post
So what head unit is better to have for a retrofit?
The one with 2 ports or 3 ports at the back.

Am I right in thinking the ones with just two ports are the newest units??

Thanks

I didn't know there were different hardware version? But, he was talking software (sw) versions, which can be updated to the newest at the dealer.
__________________
2008 335I E92, AW, VFF700, 18" Forgestar F14, M3 front/side, M-tech rear, AMS IC, H&R Touring Cup Kit suspension, HID AE, ER Charge Pipe & Synapse BOV, CIC Retrofit, Quafie, DSS, Defiv Lockdown, SPEC 2+/Steel SMFW, Walbro 450
tcw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2012, 03:52 PM   #36
Johndong888
John
 
Johndong888's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 AW/FR M3 & '14 F15 X5
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

Posts: 792
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via Skype™ to Johndong888
The units with two ports are just newer. They both can be updated to the newest software if I am not mistaken.

IMO, combox is a really cool addon and a main reason for a CIC retrofit
__________________

Current - 2012 AW/FR E92 M3 - DCT w EDC, ZPP w Tech, Apps, Enhanced Sound, SAT.
Mods - BPMTune Stg1 + Servo, Piano Black, Euro Visors, OEM Performance CF Spoiler + Grills + Pedals, IND Gloss Blk Pkg, Umnitza V4, ModeCarbon GTS V1 Lip, 19" HRE P40
Sold - 2008 BSM/Black E92 335i - Step, Premium, Sports, Logic7, Comfort, Navi, SAT, Alum.
Johndong888 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2012, 10:31 PM   #37
Echunile
New Member
 
Drives: 2009 528i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

i just orderd a cic kit for my 09 e60 it came with new idrive but old ccc. I am sure i can instal it in a couple hours but i will need help coding it. any can help me with whats needed? DCAN cable what else? anyone can help me remote code that can help code welcome lights? i heard you lose that after retrofit. thanks
Echunile is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-22-2012, 12:51 AM   #38
uussff
New Member
 
Drives: E93 325i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: istanbul/Turkey

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Is it true that ccc's tv tuner isnt compatible with the new cic screen? So u also gotta buy new tv tuner? Which costs at least 2/3 of new unit around here..
Is there a way to code it to avoid buying a new tv tuner?
uussff is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-01-2012, 02:33 AM   #39
omare90
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Philadelphia

Posts: 41
iTrader: (0)

TPMS Error

I'm getting the same TPMS error as well. I'll try your fix. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcw View Post
What? Even with BMW apps?

Update:
Fixed the TPMS system error. I had to read the CIC module in expert mode and then code it without changing anything.
omare90 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-01-2012, 05:02 AM   #40
alpina527
Banned
 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3 DCT JZB/FR
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London, England

Posts: 638
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by uussff View Post
Is it true that ccc's tv tuner isnt compatible with the new cic screen? So u also gotta buy new tv tuner? Which costs at least 2/3 of new unit around here..
Is there a way to code it to avoid buying a new tv tuner?
The old TV tuner works fine with Cic
alpina527 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST