E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Red car on lift after coding



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-28-2012, 03:11 PM   #1
Wires
Captain
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary

Posts: 932
iTrader: (0)

Red car on lift after coding

I coded a couple or ECU's, and all went fine, everything is working fine, but now I get a "red car on lift" that pops up every couple seconds of driving.

There is no service due, and "check control" isn't showing anything but the car on the lift.

I coded the CAS, NFRM, 2JBBF, KOMBO and FZD. All worked fine without errors, and then the dash popped up with the error.

Can INPA tell me what is causing the error?
Wires is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2012, 11:06 PM   #2
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
 
Peertwelve's Avatar
 
Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

Posts: 335
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E90 335i  [3.50]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wires View Post
I coded a couple or ECU's, and all went fine, everything is working fine, but now I get a "red car on lift" that pops up every couple seconds of driving.

There is no service due, and "check control" isn't showing anything but the car on the lift.

I coded the CAS, NFRM, 2JBBF, KOMBO and FZD. All worked fine without errors, and then the dash popped up with the error.

Can INPA tell me what is causing the error?
Does your tachometer work? It sounds like you used an old version of EDIABAS. Has this car's software been updated by the dealer lately? Here is a good way to read errors with INPA. good luck! http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...postcount=2560
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Peertwelve is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2012, 09:27 AM   #3
Wires
Captain
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary

Posts: 932
iTrader: (0)

I just checked, and no, no tach no fuel gauge.

I'm thinking I used 6.4.3 instead of 6.4.7. Crap.... The last update was for thye HPFP last year.

The INPA link works, according to the car, it's a KOMBI error. Is there a way to reload the defaults back in with the newer version?
Wires is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2012, 11:28 AM   #4
Wires
Captain
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary

Posts: 932
iTrader: (0)

Ok, figured it out. On the BMW coding site, similar issue with another guy.

Turns out my daten's were out of date. Updated to v46.2, and problem fixed. Phew... just need new underwear!

Always good to mess it up just out of warranty!
Wires is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2012, 12:30 PM   #5
Peertwelve
First Lieutenant
 
Peertwelve's Avatar
 
Drives: Silverstone Metalic E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle

Posts: 335
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E90 335i  [3.50]
Yeah updating dates fixes the issue by updating the files that ediabas uses. Guess how I learned about this....
__________________
Silverstone Metallic E92 M3
Sold- 2011 335i Sedan | 6MT | Wavetrac | Eibach Pro | CDV delete | Cobb | BSW
Sudden death - 1970 BMW 2002
Peertwelve is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2012, 02:21 PM   #6
Wires
Captain
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary

Posts: 932
iTrader: (0)

I don't mind learning by doing, but breaking something that was fine, and then thinking this might end up being a "dealer bent over table moment" wasn't making me feel very good!

Thanks for the general poke in the right direction, much appreciated.
Wires is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2012, 05:41 PM   #7
patrickkc
Private First Class
 
Drives: x5
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Richmond Hill + Waterloo

Posts: 182
iTrader: (2)

This happened to me before as well when I coded my friend's brand new car. Shat bricks that night when his tachometer suddenly stopped working after I coded it.

easy fix though, but was a terrifying experience for sure.
patrickkc is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2012, 05:50 PM   #8
rentonrider
Banned
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Renton, WA

Posts: 412
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [3.50]
Just curious, what version daten were you using before?
rentonrider is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2012, 02:23 AM   #9
patrickkc
Private First Class
 
Drives: x5
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Richmond Hill + Waterloo

Posts: 182
iTrader: (2)

Was using V39. Upgraded to V46 and everything works well
patrickkc is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2012, 10:01 AM   #10
Wires
Captain
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary

Posts: 932
iTrader: (0)

I don't know what I was using (whatever comes with the RAR off the web for the full software package). The update to v46 fixed it for me as well.

One FYI, I had to upgrade to BMW Standard Tools v2.1 to read the NFRM after the v46 daten's though.

I did also notice that it's a good idea to follow the INPA link above to check if you have any module errors. When I first did it (after butchering a bunch of modules with the old datens), there were a lot of modules with errors (all I touched for sure). So I updated with the new datens, but I couldn't do the NFRM due to the older software. Even though there was no indication on the dash, NFRM had 2 errors.

I updated the datens, cleared the errors, and all is fine now.

I'd recommend checking the modules for errors after the coding as a santity check. If the module gives an error, then something you loaded was wrong.
Wires is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2012, 12:41 PM   #11
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

This issue is a sticky already.
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2012, 06:41 PM   #12
Wires
Captain
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary

Posts: 932
iTrader: (0)

Sorry, must have missed that when I was filling my underwear as the dash lit up like a Christmas tree, and the warranty ended 2 weeks ago....
Wires is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST