E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > LOGIC7 need help asap



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-28-2012, 12:10 PM   #1
Bimmerdriver83de
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Delaware

iTrader: (0)

LOGIC7 need help asap

Hi.. I had a water leak in my trunk and my amplifier was blown by it. When i serviced the car at the dealers they also confirmed that the amplifier was shut. I purchased an amp from ebay which costs much less than the dealer price and it was taken out from a 2010 335i. mine is 2006 330i. I plugged the amp yesterday and still there is no sound. Does it need coding or something else? 6 months without music in the car is a long time.

Last edited by Bimmerdriver83de; 02-28-2012 at 12:15 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 12:17 PM   #2
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
54
Rep
2,394
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (14)

No coding needed, I sold an amp here before. The guy had the same exact issue (water in the trunk) and new amp started working right away.
Confirm that the new amp is Logic7, take a look at the sticker. How much you paid for it? they go for $700-900.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 12:20 PM   #3
Bimmerdriver83de
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Delaware

iTrader: (0)

I paid $592 with shipment costs. But i still dont get any sound. i have the radio on i can change the channels. The amplifier is working i can see the light in it . But i dont hear any sound. what else can i do..thanks..again the amp is a 4 year newer model..and yes the amplifier is logic 7.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 12:30 PM   #4
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
54
Rep
2,394
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (14)

Honestly no clue, check all the connections I guess.
There's also MULF2 and TCU units under carpet. They are irrelevant to sound but the optical connection passes through them, so if one of them is dead then there might be no sound.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 12:33 PM   #5
Bimmerdriver83de
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Delaware

iTrader: (0)

the dealer ran diagnostics to find out whats wrong. he said everything else is fine but the amp.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 12:35 PM   #6
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
54
Rep
2,394
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (14)

I guess take it back to them, see what they say now.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 12:40 PM   #7
Bimmerdriver83de
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Delaware

iTrader: (0)

thanks for ur help
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 01:15 PM   #8
David1
Colonel
David1's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,664
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E92 09 X5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: City With No Room For Ludicris Speed!

iTrader: (0)

The Logic 7 systems are not the same from 06 to a 2010. The processing is different. make sure the part numbers are the same.
__________________
09 335i Coupe LBM - Black Dakota/Glacier aluminum-6spd|Nav|M-Sport|Premium|Logic7|Heated Seats|CA|BMW Performance Suspension & M3 Control Arms|M3 lip spoiler|Avant Garde M510 Wheels
07 335 coupe - Sold
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 04:19 PM   #9
Bavarian Tech
Captain
Bavarian Tech's Avatar
14
Rep
723
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pittsburgh/Harrisburg

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 330i  [5.00]
Are your sure your MOST bus in not broken, complete loop ?
__________________
335i Sport Sedan: 6Speed: Sport : Prem : Cold Weather : CIC Swap/Combox : M3 Cluster
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 04:20 PM   #10
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
54
Rep
2,394
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by David1 View Post
The Logic 7 systems are not the same from 06 to a 2010. The processing is different. make sure the part numbers are the same.
The amp from 2011 335IS was working in my 2007 (12/06 build) car just fine.
It wasn't even Logic& amp, it was "Harman Kardon Top HIFI", which is the same thing really.
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 04:53 PM   #11
David1
Colonel
David1's Avatar
United_States
28
Rep
2,664
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E92 09 X5
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: City With No Room For Ludicris Speed!

iTrader: (0)

Interesting.
__________________
09 335i Coupe LBM - Black Dakota/Glacier aluminum-6spd|Nav|M-Sport|Premium|Logic7|Heated Seats|CA|BMW Performance Suspension & M3 Control Arms|M3 lip spoiler|Avant Garde M510 Wheels
07 335 coupe - Sold
Appreciate 0
      02-28-2012, 07:26 PM   #12
themoveforward
Private First Class
themoveforward's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
103
Posts

 
Drives: 13' 328xi MG mSport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: L.I., NY

iTrader: (0)

Have you checked the fusebox? I know when I installed my aftermarket amp, during the install I found that there was no power being supplied to my amp once I tested it. After checking the fusebox, i found that fuse 34 (on an 07' 328xi) was blown and as soon as I replaced it with another 30 amp fuse, the amp turned on immediately.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2012, 11:04 PM   #13
hboss1217
Private First Class
1
Rep
130
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i Coupe 6 MT
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL

iTrader: (4)

Anyluck on this I'm having the same issue. Bought a new amp and still no sound???
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2012, 10:44 AM   #14
alex76
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
34
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330 06
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Houston, Texas

iTrader: (0)

count me in, got the similar issue with my logic 7/2006-330i. Dun know how to deal with it since buying an used logic 7 off from ebay sounds very challenging!
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2012, 02:00 PM   #15
Cali FlyBoyZ
Private First Class
Cali FlyBoyZ's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
141
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington DC

iTrader: (2)

guess i can add my name to this list... my car basically was flooded with water near the amp and now i have no audio at all. i will try to swap an amp and see if that works... are there any after market amps that would work?
__________________

e92/Jet Black/Coral Red/6MT
COBB 2+/AP FMIC/CPE CP/TIAL BOV/AR Catless DP
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2012, 07:29 PM   #16
Gee_115
Enlisted Member
United_States
2
Rep
47
Posts

 
Drives: E60 550i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dayton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmerdriver83de View Post
Hi.. I had a water leak in my trunk and my amplifier was blown by it. When i serviced the car at the dealers they also confirmed that the amplifier was shut. I purchased an amp from ebay which costs much less than the dealer price and it was taken out from a 2010 335i. mine is 2006 330i. I plugged the amp yesterday and still there is no sound. Does it need coding or something else? 6 months without music in the car is a long time.
Did you get a fix for this? I also swapped a amp but no music I get sound, door chimes, my bluetooth works fine. Just can't get any music I actually can't select Radio, Sat, etc from the idrive. The only highlighted option in my idrive is AUX but even if I connect my ipod still no sound. the most loop is complete as I mentioned my bluetooth is working flawlessy. Any sugession would help.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
330i, 330i 2006 coding, amplifier, bmw, logic 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST