E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > How do you update the ECU/Module software??



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-04-2012, 08:29 PM   #23
Snyperx
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 325i (SOLD)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stoughon, WI

Posts: 511
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
So here are is my car's module information from INPA. I do not see a column stating the assembly number. Could someone lay out the steps in WinKFP using one of my my modules from the image below??

UPDATE: Updated image with the correct one showing the ZB column.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Regards,
SnyperX

Last edited by Snyperx; 05-05-2012 at 12:13 AM.
Snyperx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-04-2012, 09:30 PM   #24
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

There's no ZB column there. Did you hit "Ident" or "UIF"? You want UIF.

You need the ZB number to feed into WinKFP.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2012, 12:07 AM   #25
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
There's no ZB column there. Did you hit "Ident" or "UIF"? You want UIF.

You need the ZB number to feed into WinKFP.
What?

According to the picture, there is a zb column. (unless he changed the picture after your comment)

OP do your FZD module first for your first time. I know there is in fact an update for that module and it is very quick (less than a minute)
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2012, 06:19 AM   #26
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

I wonder why you guys keep trying to make it hard way.
Comfort mode is easier, just choose module you want, you dont need to put Zaraz będę! Number or enter vin
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2012, 06:22 AM   #27
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

I wonder why you guys keep trying to make it hard way.
Comfort mode is easier, just choose module you want, you dont need to put Zaraz będę! Number or enter vin
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2012, 08:49 AM   #28
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
I wonder why you guys keep trying to make it hard way.
Comfort mode is easier, just choose module you want, you dont need to put Zaraz będę! Number or enter vin
I do use comport mode.

I don't know of any way to determine, among multiple ECU Families, which is correct without looking it up using the current ZB. If you know how, please share.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2012, 01:33 PM   #29
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

Comfort mode do it for you, just pick for example dde7 and it shoul automatically choose you version
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2012, 01:38 PM   #30
Snyperx
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 325i (SOLD)
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Stoughon, WI

Posts: 511
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
Comfort mode do it for you, just pick for example dde7 and it shoul automatically choose you version
It "should" pic your version? That doesn't sound reassuring. I would rather use my ZUSB numbers and know for sure (unless of course you fat finger the number).
__________________
Regards,
SnyperX
Snyperx is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-05-2012, 01:43 PM   #31
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

Never had problems with it, i know every dde number ( 5.,6.0 etc) in my head, just as ihk/r , frm already have only 3 options so i dont bother using zusb, but if you want use numbers its your choice

Thrust me on this i do it for over two years and not a single problem doing it my way


And remember when update dde always update msd and ekp cause they are related
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 02:06 PM   #32
Boostin FD
Major
 
Boostin FD's Avatar
 
Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: St. Louis

Posts: 1,407
iTrader: (2)

I've been reading so much about the latest 231E software That newer M3's have... I'm trying to update mine... but like the OP, having hard time getting this going.

Any chance there could be a quick step by step?
__________________
Boostin FD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 02:45 PM   #33
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

Look at post #13
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 04:56 PM   #34
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,852
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
lol, ok, to get back on topic, what benefits are there to doing this? And how can I find out when my car was last updated?
+1
Everybody is going too fast and this chap has been ignored.
I want to know as well what he asked.
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 05:29 PM   #35
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

ISTA P will give you answer what module version you have and what is newest one.
If you dont have ISTA/D and you have winkfp with newest Daten files before update it will tell you what version you have and what is newest one.

BMW didnt make a change log so tru differences are not know Most people get better mpg, better throttle response, faster gear changes and a bit more power on car, plus new DTC icon and many more
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 05:49 PM   #36
Bendercle
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

Posts: 264
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
Quote:
new DTC icon
holy shit I gotta get on this!
Bendercle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 08:42 PM   #37
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

Its an icon with car and "snail trails" pretty cool keeping in mind old icon
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 04:16 PM   #38
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,852
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
ISTA P will give you answer what module version you have and what is newest one.
If you dont have ISTA/D and you have winkfp with newest Daten files before update it will tell you what version you have and what is newest one.

BMW didnt make a change log so tru differences are not know Most people get better mpg, better throttle response, faster gear changes and a bit more power on car, plus new DTC icon and many more
noob question but no shame to ask. What is ISTA?
Is it something in winkp or NCS expert?
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 04:28 PM   #39
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
noob question but no shame to ask. What is ISTA?
Is it something in winkp or NCS expert?
Itsn neither both

Ista is Software that allow you to diagnose and update modules ( like previous it was DIS and Progman ) , ISTA files can be use to update NCS, and Ediabas plus with files taken from ISTA you can update modules via WINKFP ( Daten )
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 05:03 PM   #40
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,852
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by *******_ View Post
Itsn neither both

Ista is Software that allow you to diagnose and update modules ( like previous it was DIS and Progman ) , ISTA files can be use to update NCS, and Ediabas plus with files taken from ISTA you can update modules via WINKFP ( Daten )
I should study it then, if it is that important. Can you put me into right direction or google should be good enough?
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 07:35 PM   #41
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

As far as i remember we were talking about it in about 2-3 months on UK section.

I do not recommend even trying to update modules firmware if you dont know what it is and hows it going to work.
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-22-2012, 08:21 AM   #42
6cylinder
New Member
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany

Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)

Hi *******,
i need to update my RAD2 and Gateway. I have retrofitted USB but my Radio isn't display USB as audio source. USB is already coded and is set to aktiv everywhere.

Can you please PM me to find out the correct ne ZBNR for my RAD2 and Gateway?

Thanks
6cylinder is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 05:19 PM   #43
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,852
iTrader: (47)

Here is food for thought.
If your ZB number is old, you find new one.
Once you have it, is that how your update:

1- Open winKFP>>Comfort mode>>Enter ZUSB and Enter the assembly number.>> Take note of your ECU family. Shall I press OK here or press cancel?

2. Now press F3 (Update ZUSB) and choose your ECU family.>>Ok

6. F4 (Enter VIN) and enter your full VIN number. >> Ok >>F8 (DONE).

7. F3 (Prog. ZB-Update). Here a pop up shows you your current and updated assembly number. If they are the same you already have the updated software but if not press okay.
Another pop up asking permission to program ecu....press okay and your done.


Can somebody please confirm if I am missing anything here?
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-10-2012, 02:44 AM   #44
Mike Benvo
MWhisperer
 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,647
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
I would not suggest updating the car without an ICOM or OPPS head. It's not worth the risk and unless there is a preexisting problem, there is no reason for the update.

CAS, DME, and EGS are the three modules that will prevent the car from starting if programming fails.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST