E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Off-Topic Discussions > BT Broadband Accelerator



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-03-2012, 02:41 PM   #1
JLR1969
Brigadier General
JLR1969's Avatar
United Kingdom
37
Rep
3,397
Posts

 
Drives: Ford GT Lawn Tractor
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somerset

iTrader: (1)

BT Broadband Accelerator

Moved into the new house and was getting 1.5MB which is pretty good for the location.

We have BT broadband with the BT Wireless Hub. Anyway ordered a broadband accelerator for free, only had to pay the postage.

It took 2 mins to fit and BT advised it may take up to 48 hours to settle down. Well after 4 hours I now have 2.7MB

The previous owner was with Orange and only ever got 0.6MB I checked before buying the house as I work from home and need at least 0.5MB.

So all in all well pleased with the service from BT.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2012, 03:02 PM   #2
magic77
Colonel
magic77's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
2,753
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

Thasts good results

the accelerator basically puts ina filter to remove the bell wire from the wiring and thus removes the noise from the line and hence increases the speed. Glad it worked for you.

Recently I rewired 4 of my friends BT lines upgrading the master sockets to the new NT2000A boxes with built in ADSL filters and bell wire capacitors. In one case speed went from 2MB to 8MB and other from 1 to 4MB so worked well

If you know about wiring have a look at runitdirect.co.uk I've used to source all my BT sockets etc. Grest website and well priced
__________________
F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2012, 03:33 PM   #3
Dr Dave
Zummerzet Zyder Drinker!
Dr Dave's Avatar
United Kingdom
63
Rep
5,541
Posts

 
Drives: '06 330D Le Mans Blue
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
I've removed my bell wire from my NTE5 here (ooooeerrr) and got a decent speed upgrade!
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2012, 03:42 PM   #4
JLR1969
Brigadier General
JLR1969's Avatar
United Kingdom
37
Rep
3,397
Posts

 
Drives: Ford GT Lawn Tractor
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somerset

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by magic77 View Post
Thasts good results

the accelerator basically puts ina filter to remove the bell wire from the wiring and thus removes the noise from the line and hence increases the speed. Glad it worked for you.

Recently I rewired 4 of my friends BT lines upgrading the master sockets to the new NT2000A boxes with built in ADSL filters and bell wire capacitors. In one case speed went from 2MB to 8MB and other from 1 to 4MB so worked well

If you know about wiring have a look at runitdirect.co.uk I've used to source all my BT sockets etc. Grest website and well priced
I think with phone sockets my limit is fitting the accelerator.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2012, 03:42 PM   #5
magic77
Colonel
magic77's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
2,753
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

thats the one its amazing the difference it makes also if you have a house full of old extentions and joins its worth removing and renuniung new copper back to new master socket makes a lot of difference as I found at one site
__________________
F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2012, 03:43 PM   #6
magic77
Colonel
magic77's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
2,753
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

its not a simple job but also not too hard. If you can wire in a plug etc its simple to replace a socket you just copy the connections as before. Or as my friends did get someone who knows , got to do another site next month
__________________
F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2012, 05:04 AM   #7
Dr G13
Lieutenant
14
Rep
450
Posts

 
Drives: 3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: uk

iTrader: (0)

I receive a max of around 2.5mb on an orange adsl line. Would this device work? or any other for that matter which could maybe bring my speed up a little.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2012, 11:28 AM   #8
JLR1969
Brigadier General
JLR1969's Avatar
United Kingdom
37
Rep
3,397
Posts

 
Drives: Ford GT Lawn Tractor
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somerset

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr G13 View Post
I receive a max of around 2.5mb on an orange adsl line. Would this device work? or any other for that matter which could maybe bring my speed up a little.
It depends on the type of master socket I believe, have a look on the BT web site.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2012, 02:54 PM   #9
magic77
Colonel
magic77's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
2,753
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

coudl be a start or just google bell wire and follow the many on line instructions especially usefull if you have many extentions, also always worth running the router off the master socket instead of extentions.

Otherwise if your wireing is very old and you are good at this kind of diy just oder some new copper and new boxes and rewire back to the street conneciton box outside the house
__________________
F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST