E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Reset Tranny Adaptation Values & What is adaptionswerte selektiv löschen under Engine



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-29-2012, 10:50 PM   #1
jewrican
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i w/ JB4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Reset Tranny Adaptation Values & What is adaptionswerte selektiv löschen under Engine

I got my NCSExpert issues worked out by updating to v45. Thanks Grant!

The only thing i cant do now is use INPA to see the Transmission. I would like to reset the adaptation values on the transmission. I can select the engine and any other component i tried, but all three transmission options fail. The first two say the module not found. The third says no response from the control unit.

Is there an update to INPA i could be missing. The one i am using is the one from this thread (http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=634863)

Is there anything else i should check? Anywhere else that i can reset these adaptation values? there are pics attached. The first two transmission options come back saying module not found. Could Tools32 take care of this maybe?

Also, while looking at the other modules i was able to see that under engine there was an option that says "adaptionswerte selektiv löschen" Does anyone know what this is and what it does. It google translates to "adaptation values ​​selectively delete" which i assume means that it will delete the adaptation values for the engine.

What does this do? how does the engine adapt? Can anyone explain this further?

Thanks!
Attached Images
  
__________________
2007 Alpine White E90 335i | JB4 | DCI | M-Tec Front and Rear Bumper | iDrive | Sport | Premium | Comfort Access | Heated Seats

Last edited by jewrican; 03-01-2012 at 10:39 AM.
jewrican is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2012, 01:15 AM   #2
GB///M3
Lieutenant
 
GB///M3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i, E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chitown

Posts: 565
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 M3  [5.00]
2008 335i  [5.00]
i get that same error because i wanted to do the same thing you do..reset transmission adaptation. Hopefully someone chimes in on this..
GB///M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2012, 08:45 AM   #3
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

Maybe a stupid question, but you do have ignition on right? Both black indicators on the first INPA screen? BATT and IGNITION? That's the only reason I could think of whereby you'd see engine but not transmission modules.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2012, 10:29 AM   #4
jewrican
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i w/ JB4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
Maybe a stupid question, but you do have ignition on right? Both black indicators on the first INPA screen? BATT and IGNITION? That's the only reason I could think of whereby you'd see engine but not transmission modules.
Ask the (perceived) stupid ones too as I may be missing something small.

I have tried it with the car off, and with it in accy. I have been able to successfully code the car using ncsexpert as well.
__________________
2007 Alpine White E90 335i | JB4 | DCI | M-Tec Front and Rear Bumper | iDrive | Sport | Premium | Comfort Access | Heated Seats
jewrican is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2012, 11:52 AM   #5
GB///M3
Lieutenant
 
GB///M3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335i, E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chitown

Posts: 565
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 M3  [5.00]
2008 335i  [5.00]
Yes both ignition and battery are on. And I have no problems at all coding my car with ncs expert.
GB///M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2012, 11:23 AM   #6
blingman
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 3er
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Houston

Posts: 311
iTrader: (1)

Im having same issue. Got ncsexpert to work but not inpa for transmission. Hopefully someone will chime in.
blingman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2012, 10:43 PM   #7
jewrican
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i w/ JB4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
bump??
__________________
2007 Alpine White E90 335i | JB4 | DCI | M-Tec Front and Rear Bumper | iDrive | Sport | Premium | Comfort Access | Heated Seats
jewrican is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2012, 09:28 PM   #8
jewrican
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i w/ JB4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
another healthy bump?

I just updated to the 46.3 but continue to have the same issue.

Can anyone tell me if it is possible to reset these adaptation values in tools32?
__________________
2007 Alpine White E90 335i | JB4 | DCI | M-Tec Front and Rear Bumper | iDrive | Sport | Premium | Comfort Access | Heated Seats
jewrican is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2012, 09:46 PM   #9
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

I have no problem accessing the transmission and resetting adaptation values with INPA. I don't get what the problem is. Maybe a bad CFGDAT or SGDAT directory?
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2012, 09:49 PM   #10
jewrican
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i w/ JB4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
I have no problem accessing the transmission and resetting adaptation values with INPA. I don't get what the problem is. Maybe a bad CFGDAT or SGDAT directory?
I'm open to try anything. Can you drop box or google drive me your directories? Zip them or something and upload?
__________________
2007 Alpine White E90 335i | JB4 | DCI | M-Tec Front and Rear Bumper | iDrive | Sport | Premium | Comfort Access | Heated Seats
jewrican is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-06-2012, 09:51 PM   #11
jewrican
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i w/ JB4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Just as an fyi it seems as though a few others have this same issue. no clue why as we all have been unable to solve it.
__________________
2007 Alpine White E90 335i | JB4 | DCI | M-Tec Front and Rear Bumper | iDrive | Sport | Premium | Comfort Access | Heated Seats
jewrican is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 07:14 AM   #12
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

I wonder if it is a difference in transmissions manufacturers. I have a ZF 6HP-19. I believe later E90s have a GM built transmission.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 07:18 AM   #13
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jewrican View Post
I'm open to try anything. Can you drop box or google drive me your directories? Zip them or something and upload?
I hate to pollute the net with yet another version compilation since there's about a thousand out there already, so I'll PM you with a link. If it works, then we'll try and figure out what is different and why, then maybe post a public fix.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 07:30 AM   #14
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

While I don't have the exact same error as the op, I too am not able to access the transmission module.

It says that it is pulling up the incorrect module and should be GS19 etc module. My guess is that it is not using the right .IPO file.

I was looking into it and started reading that you have to create a script file that points to the right IPO file for you car and then INPA will add a line in the trasnmission box with another module.

the only thing is that writing the script file isn't easy.

With that being said Genepool, if you have a different setup that works, send me a PM as well please. I will also take a look at it and see if it works on our cars.
Thanks
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 07:43 AM   #15
jewrican
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i w/ JB4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
I hate to pollute the net with yet another version compilation since there's about a thousand out there already, so I'll PM you with a link. If it works, then we'll try and figure out what is different and why, then maybe post a public fix.
Thanks a ton! Where can i see my tranny model number? I always thought i had the non GM version but wanted to verify. Can i do so without being under the car?
__________________
2007 Alpine White E90 335i | JB4 | DCI | M-Tec Front and Rear Bumper | iDrive | Sport | Premium | Comfort Access | Heated Seats
jewrican is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 09:33 AM   #16
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

Plug your vin in at http://realoem.com and it should tell you.

mine:

http://realoem.com/bmw/partgrp.do?mo...23&hg=24&fg=05
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 10:51 AM   #17
jewrican
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i w/ JB4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
i do have the GS19 tranny according to Real OEM - same one. I am now hopeful!
__________________
2007 Alpine White E90 335i | JB4 | DCI | M-Tec Front and Rear Bumper | iDrive | Sport | Premium | Comfort Access | Heated Seats
jewrican is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2012, 09:33 PM   #18
jewrican
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i w/ JB4
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
man.. so i d/l'ed your INPA and it will still not work with the transmission. I uploaded the error that i get.

It is mentioned above that there are scripts that map the part with a file. Where can i learn / read more about that? Maybe that is what i am missing for some reason.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2007 Alpine White E90 335i | JB4 | DCI | M-Tec Front and Rear Bumper | iDrive | Sport | Premium | Comfort Access | Heated Seats
jewrican is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2012, 08:23 AM   #19
DESI4life10
Banned
 
DESI4life10's Avatar
 
Drives: Coding: Desi4life10@gmail.com
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: West of Toronto, Canada

Posts: 3,365
iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenePoole View Post
I hate to pollute the net with yet another version compilation since there's about a thousand out there already, so I'll PM you with a link. If it works, then we'll try and figure out what is different and why, then maybe post a public fix.
Hey Gene,

My PM box was removed for some reason by admins ()
But wanted to let you know I tried your compilation and didn't have success.

The reason is because the tranny IPO file for the GM ones are not listed in inpa. Means that a script has to be created for it to work. Going to attempt to create the script and see where that leads me.

Thanks for the help though.
DESI4life10 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST