E90Post
 


MINHS Auto Care Center
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > JB4 dash control not working



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-11-2012, 09:09 AM   #1
kpjo4
Jo Who? JOYU!
 
kpjo4's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 335ic Crimson
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Centex

Posts: 163
iTrader: (1)

JB4 dash control not working

I just installed a jb4 into my n54 335i, and the dash controls do not seem to be popping up when i press down both buttons on the steering wheel. Has anyone experience this or know a fix?
kpjo4 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 10:13 AM   #2
secretsquirrel
Colonel
 
secretsquirrel's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i nFifty4LiFe
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: land of the squirrel

Posts: 2,073
iTrader: (2)

Sorry for the obvious questions, but can you confirm that the tune is installed correctly? Can you confirm a power increase over stock?
secretsquirrel is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 10:21 AM   #3
VaDuro
Second Lieutenant
 
VaDuro's Avatar
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South NYC

Posts: 216
iTrader: (2)

Even dumber question, did you connect the the power tap to the JB4 and connect the controller to the harness?

Reach out the Terry@burgertuning.com , he's pretty responsive.
VaDuro is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 11:24 AM   #4
Fundahl
Captain
 
Drives: VO 1M, 300zx TT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas

Posts: 704
iTrader: (0)

If it's not doing it, the tune isn't installed correctly or something is damaged.
Fundahl is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 12:15 PM   #5
mikead_99
Second Lieutenant
 
mikead_99's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 SMG 135i
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NoVA

Posts: 201
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fundahl View Post
If it's not doing it, the tune isn't installed correctly or something is damaged.
Or radio is on?
__________________
135i ....
mikead_99 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 01:02 PM   #6
chili36
Banned
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: So.Cal

Posts: 455
iTrader: (1)

Sounds like power tap is not hooked up correctly.
chili36 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 02:21 PM   #7
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

Posts: 14,506
iTrader: (86)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chili36 View Post
Sounds like power tap is not hooked up correctly.
+1 on power not being hooked up at all or the car is not getting power when attempting to get the menu to work. Do the menu commands work when the ignition is on (engine running)

Mike
Mike@N54Tuning.com is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 02:30 PM   #8
JDrillingJ
Private
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hot Springs, Arkansas

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

+2 on the power wire.

However, your gauges might not be configured properly....check out the BMS website for instructions on how to reset them (if that is the problem).

JDJ
__________________
2008 BMW 335i Coupe - 6AT w/ Paddles - Black on Black - Dark Burl Walnut - 19"s - Aero -ColdWeather - Premium - Sport - Navigation - iPod - JB4 - BMS DCI - Michelin PSS - Dual Exhaust Mod
JDrillingJ is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 02:32 PM   #9
E92ML
Captain
 
E92ML's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bellevue, WA

Posts: 866
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDrillingJ View Post
+2 on the power wire.

However, your gauges might not be configured properly....check out the BMS website for instructions on how to reset them (if that is the problem).

JDJ
+3 had this same problem. theres a youtube video for the proceed install which shows how to install the power wire
__________________

Performance: JB4 ECU, CP-E DP's, WW BMS Meth Kit, AR meth elbow, BMS DCI, AFE Intake Scoops,
Exterior: Enkruez 19" H8R, H&R Spacers, Aero Lip, Tint, ACS Roof Spoiler, HID AE's, HID Fogs, Black Grills, Sport Pedals
E92ML is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2012, 02:41 PM   #10
Fundahl
Captain
 
Drives: VO 1M, 300zx TT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas

Posts: 704
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikead_99 View Post
Or radio is on?
Mine works regardless of the radio being on.
Fundahl is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-12-2014, 01:10 AM   #11
AgentAvalos
VIP
 
AgentAvalos's Avatar
 
Drives: AW E92 335is
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Compton CA

Posts: 614
iTrader: (1)

Bump
AgentAvalos is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST