E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding Questions from a BMW noob.....



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-14-2012, 04:52 AM   #1
FlashMonkey929
BMW Noob
 
FlashMonkey929's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 AW E90 335i PPK
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honolulu

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

Coding Questions from a BMW noob.....

I've been lurking and browsing on the forums for a while, reading all the DIY archives. I'm going to try and make this as easy to read as possible, but I'm looking to do this right without screwing anything up and some of the posts leave me confused.

1.) My friend has a BT Professional kit, is this all I need for coding a car? He is a former BMW mechanic but has yet to install the software. To my understanding the BT Pro kit does allow some coding, but not full access to all the modules and rewriting.

2.) If I were to use the cable from the BT Pro kit, would that be cable be compatible to code my car provided I install NCS and INPA and all related drivers?

3.) Would anyone be able to help walk me through installing the software or do a quick writeup? It's been a while since I've used Windows (not since XP was on it's way out), but for the life of me I couldn't figure out where any install or .exe files were in the files I downloaded for the coding software. I'm not computer illiterate, but I've been on Mac OSX since 2008 and could use a refresher.

4.) Posts on how remote coding works seem kind of vague to me, and if I can't do this myself, I'm interested in figuring out what's involved for me to get remote coding done. I'm assuming I would need a cable and a computer connected to the internet for this to work, but could someone explain the process to me?


Thanks in advance!
FlashMonkey929 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 06:39 AM   #2
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

1 and 2 .Bt kit didnt work for coding and programing.
3-4. There are some remote coders on forum, just read some posts and threads on this page and you will find solution
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 07:19 AM   #3
GenePoole
Lieutenant
 
Drives: '06 E90 330i
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, IL

Posts: 537
iTrader: (0)

The BT tool has the FTDI USB<->COM interface chipset, and can be setup to map as a com port, but I have never been able to get any of the BMW tools to work with it in that configuration. It may still be possible with some sort of setup, but I'm betting that BT has that locked out somehow.
GenePoole is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 07:37 AM   #4
FlashMonkey929
BMW Noob
 
FlashMonkey929's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 AW E90 335i PPK
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honolulu

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

Thanks guys, answered a few of my questions that my research wasn't clear on. Looks like I'll order the cable when I get around to it and in the meanwhile dust off my old Vista laptop that I used to use for VAG-COM purposes back in the day. Would it be better to upgrade to Windows 7? Seems like there are some minor risks and headaches associated with Vista.
FlashMonkey929 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 07:40 AM   #5
FlashMonkey929
BMW Noob
 
FlashMonkey929's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 AW E90 335i PPK
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Honolulu

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

Or better yet, would a VAG COM Hex-Can interface cable have the required chipset/pinout to be compatible with the BMW software? I know the cable has a dongle built in to authenticate itself with the VAG-COM software, but if the BMW software doesn't have this authentication in the software it's possible it could work right?
FlashMonkey929 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2012, 09:26 AM   #6
Dziqsek_
Banned
 
Drives: e91 320d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jelenia Gora ( Lower Silesia )

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

Forget about vista, you just can take risk that it will hang during coding/ update , get 7 or xp and remember to choose 32bit versions only
Dziqsek_ is offline   Poland
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST