E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > can't program garage door opener HELP



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-25-2010, 09:17 PM   #1
FUTBiM
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93 SG SP
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MTL

Posts: 122
iTrader: (1)

can't program garage door opener HELP

ok, i've always lazy as to programming my garage door to the homelink system (had a Jeep the last 5 years and it never work... never bothered to try more than twice neither)

Now just got the bimmer and I can't stand having the garage remote in the car.

I got a regular Craftsman door opener 3 years old, i guess i uses the random sequence but even following the instructions I can't get it to work... getting $%$//$?%? frustrated.

resetted the learn button, press 3 times after clearing the memory yet NOTHING

I really need help -- garage door homelink 101, had anyone have success with it?
FUTBiM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-25-2010, 09:31 PM   #2
FUTBiM
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93 SG SP
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MTL

Posts: 122
iTrader: (1)

ahhhhhh ok... !!! I'll try that this week-end or Wednesday, freezing rain out there at the moment! snow tomorrow... damm Canada hehehehhe

Thanks, I'll keep you posted!!!
FUTBiM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2010, 12:49 PM   #3
FrankoQ
Deny everything
 
FrankoQ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Laurel, MD

Posts: 11,293
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to FrankoQ
Progress report?
__________________

I need a drink

FrankoQ is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2010, 01:08 PM   #4
FUTBiM
Private First Class
 
Drives: E93 SG SP
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MTL

Posts: 122
iTrader: (1)

Will try tonite! hopefully all functionnal
FUTBiM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2010, 08:48 PM   #5
pepper135I
Enlisted Member
 
pepper135I's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 stage 2 6mt
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 47
iTrader: (0)

I was struggling prior to finding this thread, thank you got it. To work first try!
pepper135I is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2010, 08:59 PM   #6
wrickem
doesn't really care
 
wrickem's Avatar
 
Drives: what he wants to
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: lambertville nj

Posts: 2,296
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takashi View Post
It's actually very easy.

1. Insert key in car, press the start button to turn on ACC mode. (you can start the car, but there is no need).
2. Press the first button and the last button together for 25 seconds. The light should flash rapidly at that point. By doing so the homelink memory is erased.
3. Place your remote control between the mirror and the windshield (driver side) and press and hold both the remote button and button 1 (if that's the one you want to program to open the door). Pay attention to the LED light beside the 3 buttons. It should flash slowly, then flash rapidly. When it flashes rapidly, release both buttons.

(DON'T STOP NOW. YOU ARE NOT DONE YET).

4. Grab a ladder and pop open the bulb shield (or whatever you call it) on your Sears garage door opener. Look for the red square LEARN button. Press it once and the orange LED light will lid up. Quickly press and hold the button on your homelink mirror (Button 1) until the lightbulb on the garage door opener blinks on and off.
5. Press the homelink button that you programmed and see if that opens the door.

Good luck
That was absolutely perfect except the very last step... you have to press the Homelink button inside the car 3 times while the opener is in LEARN mode, the garage should open (or close) on the 3rd push.
__________________
______________________________________________
'14 528-xdrive - daily driver/winter beater, '06 Boxster - for fun, '07 M6- for even more fun.
wrickem is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2010, 02:35 PM   #7
Revelation19
Banned
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328i, Sports Package
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 108
iTrader: (0)

Takashi & Wrickem,
THIS WORKS!!! I had been struggling, but then tried your procedure, and it worked perfectly. THANKS!!!
Revelation19 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2010, 10:28 AM   #8
nickgoa
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cincinnati,OH USA

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrickem View Post
That was absolutely perfect except the very last step... you have to press the Homelink button inside the car 3 times while the opener is in LEARN mode, the garage should open (or close) on the 3rd push.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Takashi View Post
It's actually very easy.

1. Insert key in car, press the start button to turn on ACC mode. (you can start the car, but there is no need).
2. Press the first button and the last button together for 25 seconds. The light should flash rapidly at that point. By doing so the homelink memory is erased.
3. Place your remote control between the mirror and the windshield (driver side) and press and hold both the remote button and button 1 (if that's the one you want to program to open the door). Pay attention to the LED light beside the 3 buttons. It should flash slowly, then flash rapidly. When it flashes rapidly, release both buttons.

(DON'T STOP NOW. YOU ARE NOT DONE YET).

4. Grab a ladder and pop open the bulb shield (or whatever you call it) on your Sears garage door opener. Look for the red square LEARN button. Press it once and the orange LED light will lid up. Quickly press and hold the button on your homelink mirror (Button 1) until the lightbulb on the garage door opener blinks on and off.
5. Press the homelink button that you programmed and see if that opens the door.

Good luck

This is something that has been bugging me for a while...

I kept trying at different times and then have just lived with it for a while.
Now I have some free time and trying to tackle it again.

You have set out some very specific and simple instructions to follow...
however I can not get past step 3. I have tried pressing both remote buttons (tried button 1,2 and 3 in the car) and the garage door opener and the homelink button continues to blink on a slow pace.. I've tried different angles, from the front of the mirror, behind etc. I can not get it to fast blink.
so I can move on.... (side note: I know it can fastblink since it does in step 2 where the memory gets cleared.)

I've tried putting the garage door mechanism on learn mode and then starting the process...and still same results. This happens for both the outside gate door to the property and the garage door. I can not get either to get past step 3.

Any suggestions whatsover?

the car is a US spec bimmer in Europe.

Thanks,

Nick
nickgoa is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-16-2010, 07:56 AM   #9
Sejzilla
Major
 
Sejzilla's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 14 M5 ZCP
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: BAYSIDE NY

Posts: 1,431
iTrader: (6)

how about when i live at an apartment complex and i dont have access to the garage machine only the remote? because my grls tsx garage opener was able to be programmed just by using the remote of the garage?
Sejzilla is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      03-11-2012, 09:59 PM   #10
JAY6647
Registered
 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i (E90)
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Thanks Guys...it worked like a charm!!!!
JAY6647 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2012, 11:12 AM   #11
mkshfr
Registered
 
Drives: 2011 328i M package
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

Finally

My garage door has NO learn button, it has dip switches. I followed the instructions on the forum and it worked perfectly. I had to hold the "1" and my remote button for about 40 seconds before it flashed fast. After that I pushed the "1" button slowly three times, paused for about 5 seconds and pushed it again and my door was operating perfectly from my car. Hope this helps !!!
mkshfr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2012, 11:28 AM   #12
PR3CI5N
need4speed
 
PR3CI5N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E90 M 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Coast

Posts: 1,171
iTrader: (15)

Not to thread jack, but is there anyway to set up my homelink for my apartment gate? Guessing not but this would be nice.
__________________
N54
PR3CI5N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-20-2012, 11:56 AM   #13
sdalpha
Private First Class
 
Drives: ///MR e92
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego

Posts: 110
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PR3CI5N View Post
Not to thread jack, but is there anyway to set up my homelink for my apartment gate? Guessing not but this would be nice.
Yes, typically gates don't have rolling codes, so you shouldn't need to press a learn button. Follow the procedure to program a button with your gate remote. If you already have a button programmed to your garage, don't reset the Homelink transmitter; unless the other two buttons were previously programmed for another function. In that case, you'll have to reprogram the button to open your garage.
__________________
- Mark
sdalpha is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2012, 06:33 PM   #14
SilentAttack
Major
 
Drives: 08 E90 Jerez Black 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hendersonville, TN

Posts: 1,201
iTrader: (0)

finally got mine to work too
SilentAttack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2014, 12:38 PM   #15
GeorgFF1
Registered
 
Drives: BMW 3 Series 320i Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Huntsville

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

you should erase previous settings before programming, that's the most common cause of failure when programming - read here: Learn how to program your remote
GeorgFF1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-07-2014, 10:41 AM   #16
ds2000
New Member
 
ds2000's Avatar
 
Drives: 320d E90
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portugal

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via MSN to ds2000
Hi. I've bought a mirror with garage door opener.

When I try to reset the mirror the led doesn't do anything..

Any idea?

Thanks
ds2000 is offline   Portugal
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST