E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Radio Recode- Who's done it?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-27-2012, 09:28 AM   #23
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
131
Rep
7,673
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00
I dont get the point of this thread.
If adding hi-fi make your output to flat, then there is no point of coding it with standard stereo and speakers setup. As the sound will get flat and there is no point of doing it.

This would only work if you went for hifi stereo with upgraded hardware (speakers, subwoofer) with amplifier.
You don't see the point yet you posted the exact reason for doing this. In my case I have an ms8 which currently I have my logic 7 amp hooked up to the speaker level inputs makes much more sense to have full range low level balanced outputs from the head unit. This also allows me to mount my xd600/6 where the logic 7 amp was.
I was hoping that somebody will prove me wrong and will give me a reason to play with this.
I was wrong.
You have better hardware and reason to play with it, so go ahead.
I only added L7 subwoofers so coding without amp is not going to help me.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2012, 10:09 AM   #24
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
65
Rep
3,648
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

This is a bit off topic but adding L7 subs to a hifi system isnt the best idea by itself. The l7 subs are 4 ohm while the hifi is 4ohm so the hifi amp will not be putting much power to them.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2012, 01:14 PM   #25
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,502
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Taibanl is right (he meant hifi is 2 ohm) if you just replaced the subs in your hifi system with logic 7 subs all you really did was cut the power in half.
Appreciate 0
      05-27-2012, 08:50 PM   #26
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
65
Rep
3,648
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i
Taibanl is right (he meant hifi is 2 ohm) if you just replaced the subs in your hifi system with logic 7 subs all you really did was cut the power in half.
Lol. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2012, 12:06 PM   #27
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
131
Rep
7,673
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

I am planning to put them today, and most of people who have done, gave very positive feedback.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2012, 12:09 PM   #28
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
65
Rep
3,648
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

Ok, please report back with your results...maybe make a thread in the audio section...very curious to hear both SPL and SQ differences on the same power source. Maybe install one and then fade right/left with an iphone JL Tools app to compare.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2012, 06:37 AM   #29
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
131
Rep
7,673
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl
Ok, please report back with your results...maybe make a thread in the audio section...very curious to hear both SPL and SQ differences on the same power source. Maybe install one and then fade right/left with an iphone JL Tools app to compare.
I can confirm that after fitting L7 woofer, bass is more punchy and you can keep sub level at 6 even on max sound without distortion.
I would not say massive difference but difference is significant enough.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2012, 09:44 AM   #30
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
I can confirm that after fitting L7 woofer, bass is more punchy and you can keep sub level at 6 even on max sound without distortion.
I would not say massive difference but difference is significant enough.
Of course the difference is not massive, it just cannot be massive. This is not magic.

You virtually cut the distortion in half -and the loudness as well- by doubling the OEM amp load at the woofers. Your effective bass level is now higher, clearer and deeper -but not louder- at the woofers. However, the overall sound should be slightly louder as the rest of the OEM speakers will be at a higher volume level than the woofers to obtain meaninful bass.

The 2011.5 HiFi OEM amp (silver color) is even better sounding with higher loads at all the speakers than the pre-2011.5 HiFi OEM amp (black color).
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2012, 05:07 PM   #31
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,502
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

just successfully recoded my head unit. To anyone wanting to do this it's easy if you already know how to use ncsexpert.
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2012, 01:20 AM   #32
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
131
Rep
7,673
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i
just successfully recoded my head unit. To anyone wanting to do this it's easy if you already know how to use ncsexpert.
So did the voice became flat?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 04:01 PM   #33
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
131
Rep
7,673
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by taibanl View Post
This is a bit off topic but adding L7 subs to a hifi system isnt the best idea by itself. The l7 subs are 4 ohm while the hifi is 4ohm so the hifi amp will not be putting much power to them.
Just to correct, I have added L7 woofer to stereo woofer setup.
So both of them are 4 ohms.

In states, all cars come with hi-fi system (woofer is 2 ohm).

And results are great. The only drawback is, mid speakers cannot keep up with it, though I have changed the rear shelf speakers to L7 aswell.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 04:02 PM   #34
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
131
Rep
7,673
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
just successfully recoded my head unit. To anyone wanting to do this it's easy if you already know how to use ncsexpert.
This is my assumption that you have added hi-fi to your VO and removed L7 code from your VO.
Then you wrote RAD2 to its default parameters through expertmode.

And it worked for you.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2012, 11:37 PM   #35
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,502
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
just successfully recoded my head unit. To anyone wanting to do this it's easy if you already know how to use ncsexpert.
This is my assumption that you have added hi-fi to your VO and removed L7 code from your VO.
Then you wrote RAD2 to its default parameters through expertmode.

And it worked for you.
I don't know if that was a question but yes that's exactly what I did
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2012, 01:11 PM   #36
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
131
Rep
7,673
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

bmw325i, in my case I did not had to delete other codes.
Just added 676 in to VO and it worked like a charm.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2014, 11:05 AM   #37
mantasuk
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: london

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone have a postcode for makkan00's workshop. Agreed a time for some coding, but unable to contact him via facebook...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST