E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > NCSexpert coding with engine running



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-01-2012, 11:56 PM   #1
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
263
Rep
18,296
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
NCSexpert coding with engine running

Over at the other forums for the F-series coding thread, there are guys coding with the car running with the AC blasting using E-sys and there was no issues at all, in fact its been proven by one of the pioneers of F-series coding named Shawnsheridan. His word is like gold as he has contributed to the advancement of coding for the F-series with E-Sys..He is one of the members that code with their cars running! I was wondering if anyone has done this with NCSexpert? It would be great to code with NCSexpert and have the AC running and also not worry about battery drain. Anyone?
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 02:41 AM   #2
Bendercle
Banned
United_States
4
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2007 335xi 6MT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North Shore MA

iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to Bendercle
What I have found is that once you initially establish a connection the usual way, ignition position 2, and successfully read and write back a module, from there there is a lot of flexibility as far as what position the ignition has to be in. Once I have coded a module or two if the car is then turned off, or the engine turned on, I can continue to code additional modules with no problem. I have seen this with many cars. Mostly it's when I put in something simple initially like welcome lights or windows w/fob; the car is turned off and key taken out to test the functions I just put in, then even if the key is not put back in I can still read and code other modules.

Short answer yes it will work, but you may have to read and write a module first to establish the connection.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 12:54 PM   #3
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
263
Rep
18,296
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bendercle View Post
What I have found is that once you initially establish a connection the usual way, ignition position 2, and successfully read and write back a module, from there there is a lot of flexibility as far as what position the ignition has to be in. Once I have coded a module or two if the car is then turned off, or the engine turned on, I can continue to code additional modules with no problem. I have seen this with many cars. Mostly it's when I put in something simple initially like welcome lights or windows w/fob; the car is turned off and key taken out to test the functions I just put in, then even if the key is not put back in I can still read and code other modules.

Short answer yes it will work, but you may have to read and write a module first to establish the connection.

If the F series is able to code with the car running, I dont see why the E-series would be different. Bendercle, so its proven by you that you have indeed coded with the car running, or its theoretical at this point?
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 12:59 PM   #4
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
59
Rep
2,394
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (14)

You can code few modules with engine running but most important ones (CAS & FRM) will error out.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 01:06 PM   #5
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
263
Rep
18,296
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
You can code few modules with engine running but most important ones (CAS & FRM) will error out.
Thanks Andre! Thats what I wanted to know
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 01:43 PM   #6
taranonline
Lieutenant
taranonline's Avatar
India
9
Rep
511
Posts

Drives: E90 320D 2010
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: India

iTrader: (0)

I usually code with engine running. Its 45 * C outside hot hot... Never had any probs.
__________________
2010 320D AW M-Sport - KW V2 - 19" M359
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 02:30 PM   #7
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
263
Rep
18,296
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by taranonline View Post
I usually code with engine running. Its 45 * C outside hot hot... Never had any probs.
Damn bro that is balls sweating and dripping weather! You said you code all the time with engine running...What modules? Have you ever coded with engine running codin CAS and NFRM module??
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area


Last edited by cn555ic; 06-02-2012 at 02:39 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2012, 04:29 PM   #8
piele_bps
Enlisted Member
piele_bps's Avatar
0
Rep
46
Posts

Drives: E90 335i '07
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

I have coded my E90 too, both frm and cas, with engine running.
No problems at all.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2012, 03:50 AM   #9
VTECaddict
Where'd my VTEC go?
VTECaddict's Avatar
77
Rep
4,948
Posts

Drives: 06 330i 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA

iTrader: (4)

I've coded with the car running. No problems.
__________________
AW/Terra | ZSP | ZPP | ZCW | iDrive | CA
Mods: BC BR | OEM Blacklines | M-tech rear | custom dual exhaust | M3 steering wheel | BMW SSK | ZHP shift knob | BMW Performance rep spoiler
Varrstoen ES1 19x9.5+20 Front, 19x11+25 rear
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2012, 08:28 AM   #10
taranonline
Lieutenant
taranonline's Avatar
India
9
Rep
511
Posts

Drives: E90 320D 2010
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: India

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by taranonline View Post
I usually code with engine running. Its 45 * C outside hot hot... Never had any probs.
Damn bro that is balls sweating and dripping weather! You said you code all the time with engine running...What modules? Have you ever coded with engine running codin CAS and NFRM module??
Yes all modules
__________________
2010 320D AW M-Sport - KW V2 - 19" M359
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2012, 06:04 PM   #11
NoQuarter
Second Lieutenant
United_States
2
Rep
221
Posts

Drives: 2007 530xi / 2008 535xi
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indiana

iTrader: (0)

I do it also (E60)

I have used my other E60 and jumper cables as a power supply too. Perfect gas powered 14.7 volt power supply!
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2012, 12:12 PM   #12
icucCoding
Banned
1
Rep
96
Posts

Drives: X5, ALL4S
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Madison, WI

iTrader: (3)

Interesting and never tried.. I should....
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2013, 11:55 AM   #13
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
8
Rep
714
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington, DE

iTrader: (2)

Just did all modules recently with the engine running ..... No issues.
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2013, 12:17 PM   #14
BMW..
Captain
13
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
You can code few modules with engine running but most important ones (CAS & FRM) will error out.
Beg to differ. Ive coded both with the engine running
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2013, 01:34 PM   #15
acidbbg
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
38
Posts

Drives: 335i vert
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

I have personally coded CAS, BABG (E93), CIC & FRM (NFRM) with the car running and AC blasting.
*Note I had the driver door opened during coding.

Are we sure the driver door needs to be opened during coding?
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2013, 01:37 PM   #16
onebadmofo
Banned
Russian Federation
59
Rep
2,394
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW.. View Post
Beg to differ. Ive coded both with the engine running
Depends on car and manufacturing date.

PS - holy old thread revival.
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2013, 07:38 PM   #17
BMW..
Captain
13
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Depends on car and manufacturing date.

PS - holy old thread revival.
Lmfao wasnt me
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2013, 09:46 PM   #18
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
263
Rep
18,296
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
I code with all cars running except cars that are 2006 and under...Anything newer than that I have been coding with it running..
__________________
917-939-4980 CODING E and F Series New York Area

Appreciate 0
      07-20-2013, 03:56 PM   #19
Learning Man
Private
Learning Man's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 2009 328i E92
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: AZ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onebadmofo View Post
Depends on car and manufacturing date.

PS - holy old thread revival.
Will a MY2009 328i E92 Production date Sept. 2008 be a problem with engine runnig?
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2013, 04:07 PM   #20
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
263
Rep
18,296
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
No. just don't code DME with car running
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2013, 02:27 AM   #21
acidbbg
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
38
Posts

Drives: 335i vert
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

FYI, i was able to test coding and it works with door open/close...

I did run into an issue withe the laptop not communicating with car but was able to fix by opening and closing the door.

To ensure success, first load up INPA and confirm all is good (Make Sure you have the Black Dots filled in for Battery & Ignition).
If so, move forward and enjoy not having to worry about you battery crapping out on you.
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2013, 10:10 PM   #22
Learning Man
Private
Learning Man's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 2009 328i E92
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: AZ

iTrader: (0)

I am not looking at doing anything regarding performance so DME is not a concern. Just want to take non iDrive to iDrive
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST