E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Bad day at Technik



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-23-2007, 10:21 PM   #1
LACA335i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
LACA335i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i coupe Black AUTO
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alhambra, CA

Posts: 1,517
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I SEDAN  [0.00]
Bad day at Technik

Here is my Spec.. 335i e90 no sport package and custome Borla xr1 dual (No second cat with 2.5 inch from the first cat to the muffer ( H-type format). . I have techik tech install the procede 1.47 for me. First he dyno it at 272 hp and 278 lbs torque ( before install the procede) at 3rd Gear. Every dyno(s) run are on 3rd gear. Second he installed the procede 1.47 and dyno it 3 times without the 104 octane gas mixture of 91. Dyno result: 350 hp (flywheel) and 319hp (wheel) and 343 lb of torque.. I cant believe it was kinda low spec for a procede. It should be around 370-389 hp (flywheel) and 380-390 lbs of torque. Now, i told him lets throw in 104 octane in the gas tank. I had about half tank of the 91 octane Concoco gas and 104 octane (5 gal of Sunsoco ). He let it run at idle for 5 mins. He dyno it 2 times. 2 out of 2 time, "it act kinda like a limp mode." Tech told me. I asked him so what happen now? he said it was the mapping from vishnu. The version cant handle the high octane gas. He asked me what version was it... I told him it was 1.47. he want to retest again to confirm it. This time without the Procede 1.47. He dyno one more time with race gas mixture Dyno result was 285 hp and 290 lb torque. It was increase about 13 hp and 10 in torque. He told me to let the gas drop down empty, and then you can install back. As far i can see, there is something wrong with this map.. I will provide the print out once AUto Talent send it to me.. Auto Talent and technik are in the same building. Here is theire address: Address:
Auto Talent
13428 Beach Ave
Marina Del Rey, CA 90292
310.306.4060
Ask for Sam.

Email: Sales@AutoTalent.com
Anyone in here have that kinda powerband problem? Hey Shv, i need your help to fix this problem.. I will provide the DYnoJet files to you . Once i get it from them. Any of the tech from Vishnu, I need you guys to call me please. or Privately messaging me.

Hey Sam u spell my name wrong.. it is jOhnny.. Not dustin.. Dustin Thai is my brother...
__________________

Last edited by LACA335i; 07-24-2007 at 09:52 PM.
LACA335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 10:22 PM   #2
OC 335i
General
 
OC 335i's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 335D E90
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Irvine/Aliso Viejo, CA

Posts: 18,119
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to OC 335i Send a message via MSN to OC 335i
goddamnityoustilldontknowhowtousethedamnenterkeypa ragraphsareyouronlyfriends.
__________________

Current: 2010 Alpine White 335D LCI l 19" BBS LMs l KW V2 Coilovers l BMW Performance Grilles l MSport Front/Rear l Karbonwerke Trunk l F1 Pinnacle Tint 35% Former: E92 Space Grey 335i Latest pics
OC 335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 10:27 PM   #3
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

There is nothing wrong with the map. There is something wrong with the installation and the information they gave you (or how it was interpreted). Pls go to our website and request a tech callback. Someone will call you tomorrow and help get things sorted out for you.

-shiv

Last edited by shiv@vishnu; 07-23-2007 at 10:42 PM.
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 10:35 PM   #4
leftcoastman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Near some canyons

Posts: 1,710
iTrader: (1)

I'd be interested to see how this sorts itself out. I had a similar issue. All tested out on a track.

91 Octane with 1.47 runs just fine.
95 Octane with 1.47 goes into limp mode.

I assumed it was a boost target issue, so I reloaded 1.45 LBT and it ran fine.

The just for kicks, I loaded 1.45 (non-LBT)...

95 Octane with 1.45 runs just fine!

Let me know what you find out. FYI - with oil cooler I was still getting 280-290 degree oil temps, no matter what map, including stock.
leftcoastman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 10:38 PM   #5
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftcoastman View Post
I'd be interested to see how this sorts itself out. I had a similar issue. All tested out on a track.

91 Octane with 1.47 runs just fine.
95 Octane with 1.47 goes into limp mode.

I assumed it was a boost target issue, so I reloaded 1.45 LBT and it ran fine.

The just for kicks, I loaded 1.45 (non-LBT)...

95 Octane with 1.45 runs just fine!

Let me know what you find out. FYI - with oil cooler I was still getting 280-290 degree oil temps, no matter what map, including stock.
FWIW, it has nothing to do with octane. At your altitude (5000'+ above sea level), you are having problems with hitting the boost target with the standard v1.47 map. Sometimes you can do it and sometimes you cannot. This is why sometimes you induce the limp and sometimes you don't. The LBT version of that map just drops the boost target down a tick and fixes the situation.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 10:48 PM   #6
jon@themshop
Captain
 
jon@themshop's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles/Eagle Rock, CA

Posts: 759
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LACA335i View Post
Here is my Spec.. 335i e90 no sport package and custome Borla xr1 dual (No second cat with 2.5 inch from the first cat to the muffer ( H-type format). . I have techik tech install the procede 1.47 for me. First he dyno it at 272 hp and 278 lbs torque ( before install the procede) at 3rd Gear. Every dyno(s) run are on 3rd gear. Second he installed the procede 1.47 and dyno it 3 times without the 104 octane gas mixture of 91. Dyno result: 350 hp (flywheel) and 319hp (wheel) and 343 lb of torque.. I cant believe it was kinda low spec for a procede. It should be around 370-389 hp (flywheel) and 380-390 lbs of torque. Now, i told him lets throw in 104 octane in the gas tank. I had about half tank of the 91 octane Concoco gas and 104 octane (5 gal of Sunsoco ). He let it run at idle for 5 mins. He dyno it 2 times. 2 out of 2 time, "it act kinda like a limp mode." Tech told me. I asked him so what happen now? he said it was the mapping from vishnu. The version cant handle the high octane gas. He asked me what version was it... I told him it was 1.47. he want to retest again to confirm it. This time without the Procede 1.47. He dyno one more time with race gas mixture Dyno result was 285 hp and 290 lb torque. It was increase about 13 hp and 10 in torque. He told me to let the gas drop down empty, and then you can install back. As far i can see, there is something wrong with this map.. I will provide the print out once AUto Talent send it to me.. Auto Talent and technik are in the same building. Here is theire address: Address:
Auto Talent
13428 Beach Ave
Marina Del Rey, CA 90292
310.306.4060
Ask for Sam.

Email: Sales@AutoTalent.com
Anyone in here have that kinda powerband problem? Hey Shv, i need your help to fix this problem.. I will provide the DYnoJet files to you . Once i get it from them. Any of the tech from Vishnu, I need you guys to call me please. or Privately messaging me.
Just curious but did you take any pics of your 335i on the dyno? Did they use a large fan? Was your hood opened? How many minutes in between runs did they let the 335i cool down?

Do you also know what oil temp you maxed out? Since you don't have an oil cooler then it seems that you oil temperature went to the point were it went into limp mode and power was reduced.
jon@themshop is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 10:55 PM   #7
leftcoastman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Near some canyons

Posts: 1,710
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
FWIW, it has nothing to do with octane. At your altitude (5000'+ above sea level), you are having problems with hitting the boost target with the standard v1.47 map. Sometimes you can do it and sometimes you cannot. This is why sometimes you induce the limp and sometimes you don't. The LBT version of that map just drops the boost target down a tick and fixes the situation.

Shiv
I'm a little confused because the standard 1.45 map ran just fine with high or low octane. The standard 1.47 induced limp mode, however.

Given that you're working on getting 2.0 out, it might make more sense to wait until that comes out to sort out any issues.
leftcoastman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 10:57 PM   #8
LACA335i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
LACA335i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i coupe Black AUTO
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alhambra, CA

Posts: 1,517
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I SEDAN  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon@themshop View Post
Just curious but did you take any pics of your 335i on the dyno? Did they use a large fan? Was your hood opened? How many minutes in between runs did they let the 335i cool down?

Do you also know what oil temp you maxed out? Since you don't have an oil cooler then it seems that you oil temperature went to the point were it went into limp mode and power was reduced.
I was not pay attention on those. i just let him do it. I dont want him to pissed off for asking too many question. He will sent me the Oem Factory information. It is on DYnoJet file. I Asked him Am i the only no sport package that you guys dyno .. he said yes.!.. wooohoo. im the first genie pig for technik. He took digital camera of the OBD II result from his laptop and send it by via email to soome company..
__________________
LACA335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 10:57 PM   #9
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftcoastman View Post
I'm a little confused because the standard 1.45 map ran just fine with high or low octane. The standard 1.47 induced limp mode, however.

Given that you're working on getting 2.0 out, it might make more sense to wait until that comes out to sort out any issues.
The boost targets are the same on the 1.45 and 1.47 maps. At your high altitude, you're just borderline as far as hitting your boost targets go. Octane also makes no difference in that respect either. There may be some really abstract relationship that I'm not aware of, of course

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 11:02 PM   #10
StrikeTheMatch
Private
 
StrikeTheMatch's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle

Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftcoastman View Post
I'm a little confused because the standard 1.45 map ran just fine with high or low octane. The standard 1.47 induced limp mode, however.
It makes no sense that you would go into limp mode because of 95 and not 92.
StrikeTheMatch is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 11:10 PM   #11
jon@themshop
Captain
 
jon@themshop's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles/Eagle Rock, CA

Posts: 759
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LACA335i View Post
I was not pay attention on those. i just let him do it. I dont want him to pissed off for asking too many question. He will sent me the Oem Factory information. It is on DYnoJet file. I Asked him Am i the only no sport package that you guys dyno .. he said yes.!.. wooohoo. im the first genie pig for technik. He took digital camera of the OBD II result from his laptop and send it by via email to soome company..
Where you present at all during the dyno or did you just dropped off your BMW for them to install the PROcede and work on it?
jon@themshop is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 11:14 PM   #12
LACA335i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
LACA335i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i coupe Black AUTO
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alhambra, CA

Posts: 1,517
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I SEDAN  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon@themshop View Post
Where you present at all during the dyno or did you just dropped off your BMW for them to install the PROcede and work on it?

i was present when he was doing it.. I was behind two door and a window looking in to see what he was doing... i remember it was 45% humidity and 29 percent PRessure.. i will email to u the oem spec and the dyno once i get it from them...
__________________
LACA335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 11:26 PM   #13
jon@themshop
Captain
 
jon@themshop's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles/Eagle Rock, CA

Posts: 759
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LACA335i View Post
i was present when he was doing it.. I was behind two door and a window looking in to see what he was doing... i remember it was 45% humidity and 29 percent PRessure.. i will email to u the oem spec and the dyno once i get it from them...
Well today's weather was really muggy.

So please answer me this... was the hood open and did they have a good size fan blowing air into the intercooler?
jon@themshop is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 11:29 PM   #14
Green-Eggs
Captain
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 812
iTrader: (3)

Files just sent

Hood Open, fans blowing

2 fans towards intercooler plus 1 at the kidney grills
__________________
Green-Eggs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2007, 11:37 PM   #15
jon@themshop
Captain
 
jon@themshop's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles/Eagle Rock, CA

Posts: 759
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam@AutoTalent View Post
Files just sent

Hood Open, fans blowing

2 fans towards intercooler plus 1 at the kidney grills
Thank you!
jon@themshop is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2007, 12:17 AM   #16
CASHBY
 
Drives: E90 335 "done up"
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: GARAGE

Posts: 2,117
iTrader: (2)

I got his back guys,,, tomorrow he is going to stop by and im going to check the CODES and install to make sure everything is good.

per our convo tonight give me a ring tomorrow buddy!
CASHBY is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2007, 12:24 AM   #17
Cadillac Johnson
Free taco with stolen base
 
Cadillac Johnson's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i? GTR? RS5?
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Milwaukee

Posts: 639
iTrader: (0)

Are you comparing your numbers to what other 335i's with the same mods have put down on THIS dyno? Or with the number's you've seen from other dyno's from other shops?
__________________
lllM
Cadillac Johnson is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2007, 12:32 AM   #18
Mr Practical
Second Lieutenant
 
Mr Practical's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 335 - TiAg
Join Date: May 2007
Location: So Cal

Posts: 218
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CEA 3 View Post
I got his back guys,,, tomorrow he is going to stop by and im going to check the CODES and install to make sure everything is good.

per our convo tonight give me a ring tomorrow buddy!
Charlie to the rescue!

You are in good hands LA335i
Mr Practical is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2007, 12:32 AM   #19
LACA335i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
LACA335i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i coupe Black AUTO
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alhambra, CA

Posts: 1,517
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I SEDAN  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam@AutoTalent View Post
Files just sent

Hood Open, fans blowing

2 fans towards intercooler plus 1 at the kidney grills
The Technik guy was awlsome dude... i would do it again.. if i need any mod on my car like retrofit.. he know his shit.. by the way is he german?

Dude u guys have good car.. M6, M3 lotus elise and tons of european car..everyone should do business with them]



i was kinda disappointed at the Dyno result..but it is ok i hope charlie can save me...
__________________
LACA335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2007, 01:14 AM   #20
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

Posts: 17,616
iTrader: (0)

Make sure those vacuum lines to the rear boost solenoid is bypassed. If they aren't, you wont be able to achieve the desired boost targets.

Shiv
shiv@vishnu is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2007, 01:17 AM   #21
LACA335i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
LACA335i's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i coupe Black AUTO
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Alhambra, CA

Posts: 1,517
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335I SEDAN  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Make sure those vacuum lines to the rear boost solenoid is bypassed. If they aren't, you wont be able to achieve the desired boost targets.

Shiv
thanks for th advice.. i will bring it to charlie. he will help me out or fix it... thank you. we will call u guys tomorrow.

thanks for the advice.. i still think procede rule...
__________________
LACA335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST