E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Turning of "BRAKE" light in instrument cluster



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-04-2012, 02:08 PM   #1
Chaser720
Private
 
Chaser720's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Columbia, SC

Posts: 96
iTrader: (1)

Turning of "BRAKE" light in instrument cluster

After several trips to the dealership with no progress I still havn't figured out how to turn of the red BRAKE light on the instrument cluster. The dealership says its due to my brake pads needing to be replaced 30000 miles ago. The pads are fine and they can't figure out to turn it off.

Anyone know if there is a parameter that can be deactivated or another method to turn this damn thing off. Ha. It's been more than an annoyance over the last few years.

Thanks
Chaser720 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
e90TiAg335i
Captain
 
e90TiAg335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 e90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: jacksonville, FL

Posts: 963
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2010 e90 335i  [0.00]
Is the brake sensor worn? You could always desolder the led...lol
__________________

JB4, DP, VMR V710, Sonic Tuning S1 coilovers, Hybrid Ovations, Soundsplinter 10" and Zapco DC Ref amps
e90TiAg335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-04-2012, 08:43 PM   #3
idrift4wd
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Three Hundred and Thirty Five
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yonkers NY

Posts: 3,304
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW  [3.50]


just clear it. (if your brakes are okay)
idrift4wd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2012, 05:44 AM   #4
Jose_JN
Private First Class
 
Jose_JN's Avatar
 
Drives: e93 330d
Join Date: May 2011
Location: http://www.youtube.com/josejjn

Posts: 173
iTrader: (0)

Try to clear it as idrift4wd said.

But you have to have the pad sensors OK, if they are broken you have to change them or bridge the wire.

Regards
Jose_JN is offline   Spain
0
Reply With Quote
      06-06-2012, 10:54 AM   #5
Chaser720
Private
 
Chaser720's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Columbia, SC

Posts: 96
iTrader: (1)

I don't think it's the sensors. I'll try the reset but looking into it a little while ago it looked a lot like this problem. http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=638811

Any way to code out the condition based service lights?
Chaser720 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 10:09 AM   #6
crypticc
Lieutenant
 
Drives: e92 M3 DCT + Comp
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London, UK

Posts: 572
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaser720 View Post
I don't think it's the sensors. I'll try the reset but looking into it a little while ago it looked a lot like this problem. http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=638811

Any way to code out the condition based service lights?
With it setting just after turning on the ignition, press control stalk, i think for a number of seconds. Look at some of my posts, there's a thread about it i went to. Do rear first, sometimes front won't work till rear is done
crypticc is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-07-2012, 02:29 PM   #7
raceyBMW
king of the hills
 
raceyBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 2,730
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
I had this issue a while back. I was able to use the BT tool to get rid of it.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=370746
raceyBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-23-2012, 10:27 AM   #8
Chaser720
Private
 
Chaser720's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Columbia, SC

Posts: 96
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raceyBMW View Post
I had this issue a while back. I was able to use the BT tool to get rid of it.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=370746
Any way to clear it using INPA or something similar? Trying to avoid buying a BT.
Chaser720 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2012, 01:47 PM   #9
raceyBMW
king of the hills
 
raceyBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 2,730
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1994 530i  [4.25]
2007 335i Coupe  [4.07]
Probably, but I don't personally know how. Try the coding section, they may be able to help.
raceyBMW is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-25-2012, 08:06 PM   #10
e90TiAg335i
Captain
 
e90TiAg335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 e90 335i
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: jacksonville, FL

Posts: 963
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2010 e90 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaser720 View Post
Any way to clear it using INPA or something similar? Trying to avoid buying a BT.
Yes you can. Don't remember the exact steps to get to it but you're looking for reset CBS. Condition based service.
__________________

JB4, DP, VMR V710, Sonic Tuning S1 coilovers, Hybrid Ovations, Soundsplinter 10" and Zapco DC Ref amps
e90TiAg335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST