E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Ugh. JB+ problem.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-07-2012, 08:33 AM   #1
Turb0Surge
Lieutenant Colonel
Turb0Surge's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,518
Posts

 
Drives: BLACK e90 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lincoln, CA

iTrader: (0)

Ugh. JB+ problem.

So... I picked up a used jb+ for cheap yesterday online. Didn't wana spend the money for a jb3/4 and would have been more than satisfied with the 40 hp gain the jb+ offers.


So I install the jb+ (simple enough) and when I reconnect the battery and start the car it automatically starts shuddering and rpms start jumping. When you put it into drive it starts jerking horribly and after a few moments CEL comes on and it goes into limp mode.

The car does not have these problems when jb+ is disconnected.

Help anyone?
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 08:35 AM   #2
E90Company
Major General
E90Company's Avatar
No_Country
72
Rep
6,139
Posts

 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (2)

Are you sure it's connected to the correct sensor?? I know my friend said that two connectors looked very similar when he was installing his.

PS Post in N54 section
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 08:45 AM   #3
Turb0Surge
Lieutenant Colonel
Turb0Surge's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,518
Posts

 
Drives: BLACK e90 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lincoln, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90Company View Post
Are you sure it's connected to the correct sensor?? I know my friend said that two connectors looked very similar when he was installing his.

PS Post in N54 section
Yeah it's the correct one.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 08:50 AM   #4
BAL278
Captain
BAL278's Avatar
12
Rep
966
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335xi JB
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North NJ

iTrader: (3)

Yeah.. I would also check what it is set to, but more than likely it is not connected properly, you don't need to disconnect the battery, just make sure the ECU goes to sleep
__________________

2008 335xi Jet Black//Coral Red
Procede V5//VRSF DPs//AMS FMIC//KW V1//M3 Sways & Sub Bushings// Alpina AT flash
Apex EC-7//Hankook V12//Dinan CAI
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 08:53 AM   #5
Sara504
Banned
United_States
353
Rep
17,687
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335is
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA

iTrader: (6)

Uh oh...
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 08:58 AM   #6
Turb0Surge
Lieutenant Colonel
Turb0Surge's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,518
Posts

 
Drives: BLACK e90 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lincoln, CA

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, it was originally set to 100%. Now it's at the minimum setting.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 10:09 AM   #7
86rexer
0-335 in 4.9 seconds.....
86rexer's Avatar
Canada
0
Rep
57
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Oakville, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAL278 View Post
Yeah.. I would also check what it is set to, but more than likely it is not connected properly, you don't need to disconnect the battery, just make sure the ECU goes to sleep
Exactly what he said . open the hood prep the area and put your keys inside the house, and wait for at least 15min...or disconnect the battery for a definite power off.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 11:21 AM   #8
Turb0Surge
Lieutenant Colonel
Turb0Surge's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,518
Posts

 
Drives: BLACK e90 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lincoln, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 86rexer View Post
Exactly what he said . open the hood prep the area and put your keys inside the house, and wait for at least 15min...or disconnect the battery for a definite power off.
No its definately plugged in correctly. In fact, I took it off/ on 4 times. (each time I dilaed down the boost) now I'm at minimum boost and it still does it. Battery was disconnected when I put it on each time.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 11:55 AM   #9
Lulz_M3
Banned
United_States
13
Rep
1,029
Posts

 
Drives: AW 335i 6MT
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Jax, Fl

iTrader: (0)

You are either installing it wrong or you got sold a bricked JB+. Are you following the instructions from Burgers website? You might be plugging it into the map sensor in the intake manifold instead of the one on intake pipe before the throttle body.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 11:56 AM   #10
Turb0Surge
Lieutenant Colonel
Turb0Surge's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,518
Posts

 
Drives: BLACK e90 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lincoln, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lulz_M3 View Post
You are either installing it wrong or you got sold a bricked JB+. Are you following the instructions from Burgers website? You might be plugging it into the map sensor in the intake manifold instead of the one on intake pipe before the throttle body.

Yeah, followed all instructions. And sadly, I have been plugging it in correctly so I think it is a bad chip. But I bought it on ebay so hopefully I'll get my money back.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 12:14 PM   #11
quasitime
Private First Class
2
Rep
102
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

You may want to check the connections on the JB+. The wires have a tendency to get pulled lose out of their sockets from the removal process. It is pretty noticeable if you shine a light inside the connector, and look to see that all the metal contacts are lined up correctly. When this happened to me, one of the contacts was pulled back.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 12:20 PM   #12
benzy89
Banned
United_States
28
Rep
2,396
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
Poor choice making the eBay purchase -- Sounds like you either got screwed with a fake/broken JB+ or when you're putting the tune on, it's inducing misfires since you're running the car at a higher performance settings. I'm dealing with this right now -- My car was running at COBB Stg 1, but now that I've bumped the tune up to Stg 2 the car is misfiring (replacing the plugs/coils this weekend).
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 02:18 PM   #13
Turb0Surge
Lieutenant Colonel
Turb0Surge's Avatar
United_States
30
Rep
1,518
Posts

 
Drives: BLACK e90 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lincoln, CA

iTrader: (0)

***UPDATE***

I just went out to lunch and before I went i took the jb+ out. (using proper procedure, of course) Drove to in-n-out and CEL disappeared, and car started pulling normally and no sputter. Basically running how it's supposed to.


When I was installing it I disconnected the battery and then installed it as opposed to waiting 15min with the hood open for the ecu to fall asleep. (Jb website says either way is fine) maybe that's my problem?
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 03:03 PM   #14
benzy89
Banned
United_States
28
Rep
2,396
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335i  [3.75]
I can't answer 100%, but if you didn't follow the install correctly that might be a reason why it didn't work out well.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2012, 11:45 PM   #15
tanginaglaz
Captain
tanginaglaz's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
777
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 e92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SO CAL

iTrader: (10)

Garage List
Take pictures of how you installed it. Just want to confirm that it was installed properly. I would also suggest to pull the codes.
__________________

Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
335i, bmw, jb+, problem, tune

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST