E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Help, xenon retrofit



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-10-2012, 02:31 PM   #1
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation Help, xenon retrofit

Hi, I'm new to This forum.
I have a e90 320d 2007 and iv jus completed the installation of a xenon conversion. I changed the wires inside so that it works with the flash and so the xenon lights come on. Basically I fitted it all together, and it all works perfect with jus the ignition on. As soon as I turn the engine on, the xenon lights flicker and then shut off??? Have I done something wrong? It's all oem stuff, lights have all modules and are adaptive xenons. Iv read all the DIY stuff and no 1 else seems to have this problem?
Hope some 1 can help cuz I dont fancy stripping then front down again. Lol
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 02:40 PM   #2
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

If they wiring is fine and everything else is fitted appropriately, + OEM ballast, then you will need coding to shut off the checking of bulb.
It usually happens if you fit aftermarket ballasts.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 02:45 PM   #3
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

I got Ds1 bulbs and original mitsubishi ballasts, works fine with jus ignition. Got the high beams workin with xenons, and every thing works fine until the engine is started. Then both xenons come on, and then passenger side flickers then turns off and then few seconds later the driver side flickers and then turns off too.
I thought coding was jus to get the error sign removed from the dash?
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 02:57 PM   #4
garytc78
Private First Class
 
Drives: 325d LCI
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: liverpool

Posts: 162
iTrader: (0)

It's checking the bulb and because there is low voltage it thinks there is a problem it needs to be coded in like makkan00 said.
__________________
garytc78 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 03:17 PM   #5
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Ok, I get what u guys are sayin, I do know that after market hids do flicker on bmws, it's just in the DIY retrofit, no1 has complained about flickering bulbs and they all seem to have working headlights before coding. All they say is " coding is required to remove bulb out warning"
Il jus need to find some 1 to code it and see how it goes.
Many thanks
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 03:27 PM   #6
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorj40 View Post
Ok, I get what u guys are sayin, I do know that after market hids do flicker on bmws, it's just in the DIY retrofit, no1 has complained about flickering bulbs and they all seem to have working headlights before coding. All they say is " coding is required to remove bulb out warning"
Il jus need to find some 1 to code it and see how it goes.
Many thanks
Try with autologic to turn off all the front light checks and if it does not help, you will require extensive coding, where they change some attributes to reduce the Hz of current. Bit complicated to explain, but you need a proper specialist who knows what he is doing.

Also try not to play too much as your ballast will be cooked soon.
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 06-10-2012 at 05:27 PM.
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 03:31 PM   #7
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Damn
Sounds complicated! Didn't think it would be this complicated, plus I got the headlights on the car so I guess il have to get them done as soon as. Any specialists recommended around the Birmingham area? I'm lost when it comes to all this computer coding stuff lol
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 04:00 PM   #8
garytc78
Private First Class
 
Drives: 325d LCI
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: liverpool

Posts: 162
iTrader: (0)

I was under the impression that you could change a wire and that would sort it but i'm not sure.
Also I think you may not get the problem if the shutter isn't wired up but not to sure.
__________________
garytc78 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 04:31 PM   #9
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by garytc78 View Post
I was under the impression that you could change a wire and that would sort it but i'm not sure.
Also I think you may not get the problem if the shutter isn't wired up but not to sure.
Yeah but shutter works fine with just the ignition and headlights so can't see it being that. Just posted it up to see if any 1 else had the same problem.
Just gone get some coding done and see how it goes.
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 05:53 PM   #10
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Op, do you get any errors on obc?
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 06:15 PM   #11
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Op, do you get any errors on obc?
The only errors I have are both indicators and number plate lights but that's cuz I got the lci rear lights. There are no errors on the headlights until I switch the xenons on and then they flicker and then error comes up on the dash.
Il check again but I was jus disheartened and I left the car lol
Il have a check 2maro.
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2012, 06:18 PM   #12
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

I have the satnav screen and when I start it and don't turn any of the lights on, it jus says indicator failure and number plate lights, and when I switch the lights on and when they turn off, the orange head light image comes up on the dash....
If that helps??
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 02:46 AM   #13
zeroXTC
Private
 
Drives: 320D - E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Denmark

Posts: 87
iTrader: (0)

OP I have done this retrofit on 4 cars now. With original headlights and ballast.

All 4 cars had flicker problems when you startet the engine after the install.

I then coded the car my self with the XENON option, and the flicker stopped on all 4 cars. The last one we made yesterday.

So yes, you need the car to be coded, or else the flicker wont stop.

I am aware that on some cars it works without coding, that is unexplainable, but on all the E90s i have worked on, they needed coding.
zeroXTC is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 05:48 AM   #14
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

^^^
what he said.
Find out if somebody can sort out coding for you.
If you are intending to come to Essex soon, I can sort it out, both front and rear.
Or you can ask dealer to do it, ranges bw 100-150 for front and rear coded.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 06:19 AM   #15
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Post it in main forum and ask for coders in your region.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 02:49 PM   #16
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Ok, thanks guys. Long as it a normal thing about the flickerińg.
Il try find some 1 to code it, I asked a auto electrician and he asked me what obd plug wire u need cuz he's got a few he uses , vag com lead and op com, but i don't know if he can do it. Can't find any1 local to me and don't know how to search for any1 on here lol
If I dont find any1, I think il have to change the lights over cuz I can't drive at nite at the moment lol
Thanks for ur help guys
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 04:54 PM   #17
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

If you cannot find one, give me a shout. I may pass by your area in next 1-2 weeks and will sort it out.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-11-2012, 05:49 PM   #18
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
If you cannot find one, give me a shout. I may pass by your area in next 1-2 weeks and will sort it out.
Thanks alot, il keep u updated, was givena number of a bmw specialist and he's sayin 150 + vat to code the xenons and the led and number plate lights. Yiikes!! Lol
Jus ashame I can't drive my car after 9pm now. Lol
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-12-2012, 06:44 AM   #19
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,797
iTrader: (47)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jorj40
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
If you cannot find one, give me a shout. I may pass by your area in next 1-2 weeks and will sort it out.
Thanks alot, il keep u updated, was givena number of a bmw specialist and he's sayin £150 + vat to code the xenons and the led and number plate lights. Yiikes!! Lol
Jus ashame I can't drive my car after 9pm now. Lol
All the best.
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2012, 10:35 AM   #20
Jorj40
New Member
 
Drives: 320d m sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Birmingham

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Smile

Ok, so I fitted a capacitor and it seems Ok now, no fault codes and the lights stay on when engine is started. Only 2.70 for a pair of capacitors.
Not bad at all
Jorj40 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST