E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Coding FRM2 new way



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-21-2012, 05:53 AM   #1
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,447
iTrader: (46)

Coding FRM2 new way

Hi,

I have been shown a new way of coding FRM2 on FRM1 car.
I want to ask if that is correct way of doing it.

Procedure:
Replace old FRM with new FRM2.
Open NCS expert.
Load expert profile
F1--> F3
Select E89
select CAS
click back
Read ECU FRM
(it may give you error).
click back if you get error
enter FA
Change production date to 0307
Now go back and try to read FRM2 from ECU module and it will allow you to read it.
Write FRMA / FRM2 / FRM3 with default settings.

And you are ready to go.

It worked for me except front two windows are having issues.
It could be as I had FRM from E81 (2 windows) and I have 4 windows.

I wonder if this is correct way of doing it?
Is there anything I can do it other way around.

I tried to do throug Winkpf but I could not read assembly number from FMR2 through inpa.
It kep giving me errors.

Any comments suggestions?
__________________
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-21-2012, 11:53 AM   #2
Elliott@DetailAddict
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Clara, CA

Posts: 4,448
iTrader: (0)

Did you edit the production date before trying to read the assembly number in INPA?
Elliott@DetailAddict is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-21-2012, 03:27 PM   #3
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,447
iTrader: (46)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grant@DetailAddict View Post
Did you edit the production date before trying to read the assembly number in INPA?

Well E81 FRM2 module is in my car, and I tried to read assembly number after updating production date, but it still gave me error.

If I change the production date, should inpa read FRM2's assembly number then?
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 06-22-2012 at 01:01 AM.
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2012, 11:40 AM   #4
srohang1
Private
 
Drives: E90 2006 325i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MN

Posts: 92
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Well E81 FRM2 module is in my car, and I tried to read assembly number after updating production date, but it still gave me error.

If I change the production date, should inpa read FRM2's assembly number then?
read this entire thread.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=644636

your answer is in post #5 to find the ZUSB

is that the same error you are getting in my OP?
srohang1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-22-2012, 11:58 AM   #5
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 6,447
iTrader: (46)

Srohang1, was your FRM2 taken out from E87 / E90
or E81?

Mine is out from E81 and I think that is why I am getting error.
Thanks.
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 06-22-2012 at 12:04 PM.
makkan00 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST