E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Can't activate Bluetooth E92 with MULF, 6FL, and 2URAD



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-23-2012, 07:59 PM   #1
veloearl
Registered
1
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

Can't activate Bluetooth E92 with MULF, 6FL, and 2URAD

I have a June 2010 E92 with the Professional Stereo, USB/Aux interface, and BT-capable MULF in the trunk. Trying the BT retrofit. Read everything I could find.

Bought cable, downloaded software, updated Daten to v45.

Added $644 to the VO and did FA_WRITE to CAS and NFRM. Subsequently, when I access the VO, it shows this option listed.

Tried to activate the three Bluetooth values mentioned in the various threads, but my car has a 2URAD instead of a 2RAD. Reading that module results in an error. Tried activating the values anyway, as they were present in the resulting .TRC file that was created. Changed them to aktiv, saved it as .MAN, but writing the module results in an error.

I have tried both Expertmode, and Revtor's NCS Export profiles with same results.

I have seen that this error is common with 2URAD, and that adding $644 to the VO is enough; no additional coding required. However, that doesn't seem to be the case for my car. After letting the car sleep (as much as an hour), when I turn it on, no TEL option is present when pressing the Menu button on the stereo.

I haven't done any of the wiring yet, because I wanted to confirm I could active the feature before going any further. My understanding is that is OK

Any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2012, 09:28 PM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by veloearl View Post
I have a June 2010 E92 with the Professional Stereo, USB/Aux interface, and BT-capable MULF in the trunk. Trying the BT retrofit. Read everything I could find.

Bought cable, downloaded software, updated Daten to v45.

Added $644 to the VO and did FA_WRITE to CAS and NFRM. Subsequently, when I access the VO, it shows this option listed.

Tried to activate the three Bluetooth values mentioned in the various threads, but my car has a 2URAD instead of a 2RAD. Reading that module results in an error. Tried activating the values anyway, as they were present in the resulting .TRC file that was created. Changed them to aktiv, saved it as .MAN, but writing the module results in an error.

I have tried both Expertmode, and Revtor's NCS Export profiles with same results.

I have seen that this error is common with 2URAD, and that adding $644 to the VO is enough; no additional coding required. However, that doesn't seem to be the case for my car. After letting the car sleep (as much as an hour), when I turn it on, no TEL option is present when pressing the Menu button on the stereo.

I haven't done any of the wiring yet, because I wanted to confirm I could active the feature before going any further. My understanding is that is OK

Any ideas?
This has been discussed here before: you need a different (and much more expensive) OBDII cable to code the 2URAD.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2012, 05:16 AM   #3
pnickisson
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

 
Drives: 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Manchester

iTrader: (0)

have you written ablank .man file to the radio. I ddi this lst week..Added the options to the vo...both cas and nfrm....this did nothing I could see....then wrote a blank .man file to to 2rad...hey presto...everything worked.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2012, 06:55 AM   #4
snoozee
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
213
Posts

 
Drives: 318i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

the BT retrofit requires the radio to be coded and it doesn't matter if the hardware (bt antenna & mic) is there or not as long as the mulf2 is there.

see if you can read the 2URAD using tool32. if you can, try to reset the module via tool32 and see if it works.

another alternative to buying the much more expensive icom OPS head is to search hard for the icom emulator. up till about 1 month ago, this icom emulator is only available if you bought it from the developet/programmer/hacker. however it has since been shared on other forums. search for ista-d 2.30 on google and you should be able to find the forum for you to download it. this should allow you to use the newer software (different from NCS) to code the car properly via the OBD cable.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2012, 01:05 PM   #5
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,495
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

I coded 2urad with a regular k-can cable. I really don't think the cable is the problem.
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2012, 02:14 PM   #6
veloearl
Registered
1
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (0)

I got it working. I only wish I knew exactly what it was that fixed it. Last thing I tried was coding the whole car with revtor's NCS Expert profile, letting it sleep, then voila, the phone option was there.

Hooked up the antenna and microphone. Everything is working; contacts synchronize, incoming audio is perfect.

Problem is, the outgoing audio is unusable. If I speak directly into the microphone, it sounds fine. If I speak from the standard driver's position, it sounds very distant and cuts out. I have no idea what the problem is.

Any ideas?
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2012, 03:15 PM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
I coded 2urad without a regular k-can cable. I really don't think the cable is the problem.
If you radio is before 2010 then it will code with the regular cable without problems.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2012, 02:52 PM   #8
JimVR4
Second Lieutenant
JimVR4's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
289
Posts

 
Drives: 09 328i M-Sport 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
I coded 2urad with a regular k-can cable. I really don't think the cable is the problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
If you radio is before 2010 then it will code with the regular cable without problems.
I would like to hear how you coded 2URAD. I never could read the module with a K-DCAN cable with NCS Expert or Tool32. My car is a 2009 E90.
__________________
2009 E90 328i ///M-Sport / Blue Water Metallic / Oyster/Black Dakota / PP / 6MT / 194M / Comfort / iPod+USB w/ProClip charging dash mount / $494 /
1995 3000GT Spyder VR4
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2012, 11:58 AM   #9
Bimmer-Bob
!
Bimmer-Bob's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,241
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 128i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Camp Lejeune, NC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Are there any vendors that sell an off the shelf BT retrofit kit and/or any shops that routinely do the install/coding? I don't really have the time to figure it all out on my own (the coding especially). If it makes a difference, I've got a 2010 1er with USB/iPod and a box in the trunk with the BT logo (is this the MULF?).

Thanks.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2012, 12:38 PM   #10
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer-Bob View Post
Are there any vendors that sell an off the shelf BT retrofit kit and/or any shops that routinely do the install/coding? I don't really have the time to figure it all out on my own (the coding especially). If it makes a difference, I've got a 2010 1er with USB/iPod and a box in the trunk with the BT logo (is this the MULF?).

Thanks.
Contact forum vendor BimmerTech...
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2012, 01:05 PM   #11
Bimmer-Bob
!
Bimmer-Bob's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
2,241
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 128i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Camp Lejeune, NC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer-Bob View Post
Are there any vendors that sell an off the shelf BT retrofit kit and/or any shops that routinely do the install/coding? I don't really have the time to figure it all out on my own (the coding especially). If it makes a difference, I've got a 2010 1er with USB/iPod and a box in the trunk with the BT logo (is this the MULF?).

Thanks.
Contact forum vendor BimmerTech...
Thanks!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2012, 01:33 AM   #12
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,697
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVR4 View Post
I would like to hear how you coded 2URAD. I never could read the module with a K-DCAN cable with NCS Expert or Tool32. My car is a 2009 E90.
I hate to resurrect a thread, but I'm in the same spot now. Anybody ever resolve this? I'm not actually sure how to figure out how to try resetting the unit in Tool32, so if anyone has pointers on what to try there, I'm open. Really, I'd love to be able to write a config though.
Appreciate 0
      11-01-2012, 08:08 PM   #13
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,697
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Bump: Snoozee suggested trying to reset the 2URAD with tool32. I didn't use tool32, but there's an SG_RESET job in ncsexpert that worked for me - radio reset as expected. But the bluetooth option didn't show up. I haven't tried writing a BLANK .man file via revtor profile, but people seem to treat doing that like it's very scary, so I'm kind of loathe to do so. I also haven't seen anything about how it can go wrong, it all seems like superstition that it's especially dangerous.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2012, 11:58 PM   #14
studeezy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
23
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Alex, did you ever get it working? I'm having the same problem. I added $644 to the VO but my radio isn't picking it up, and I can't code it directly because I don't have the optical connection. SG_Reset worked but didn't enable bluetooth.

*Edit: Nvm, i found your post "http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=765036" I will try doing what you said in the morning.

Last edited by studeezy; 12-18-2012 at 12:22 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 12:06 AM   #15
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,697
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Yep. For one, you need to add $644 to the VO in BOTH N/FRM and CAS. After you have, you must SG_RESET BOTH the 2URAD and MULF, but even that didn't work for me: I ended up needing to run the SG_RESET on all modules together.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 12:17 PM   #16
studeezy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
23
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Ok so i finally got it working. I found an entry in the MAN file that said Bluetooth nicht_aktiv. I changed it to aktiv then coded the whole car, the 2URAD and ULF didnt respond...which was expected. After that I did an SG reset on the 2URAD and left it overnight. This morning i had a phone icon and was able to pair my phone and make a test call.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 12:20 PM   #17
alexwhittemore
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,697
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Crimson 328i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

For the record, setting Bluetooth aktiv was almost certainly irrelevant. For one, it didn't get coded to the 2urad, but for two, even if you can successfully write the radio, manually forcing BT aktiv has been shown before to be kind of unstable - the phone icon will show up, but USB will stop working and you may or may not be able to pair.

Anyway, glad you got it working!
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 12:31 PM   #18
studeezy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
23
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 135i M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Figured..I wasn't really sure if setting the Bluetooth to aktiv even did anything
Luckily USB still works and pairing works. Thnx for the tip.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST