E90Post
 


Lux Angel Eyes
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > JB4 Installation Help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-06-2012, 06:00 PM   #1
Bimmer305
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Bimmer305's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami


Posts: 282
iTrader: (1)

JB4 Installation Help (Solved)

Hi,

I'm installing the JB4 right now and it it is giving me hard time.

First I switched two connectors and the car didn't start, I realized the mistake I had made and corrected it.

Now everything is way it is supposed to be and the engine starts but it is not running as it suppose to. It has vibration and Service Engine Soon is ON.

I tried to go into JB4 menu to read the error codes, but when I press the Channel + Volume down bottoms at the same time, no menu comes up, only a yellow screen.

This makes me think that the JB4 is not ON or has no power. I doble checked the connection to the JB4 unit and everything seems the way it shows in the manual.

Any help will be appreciated.

Note: I also installed angel eyes and CAI at the same time.

Last edited by Bimmer305; 07-08-2012 at 02:58 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 06:08 PM   #2
PR3CI5N
need4speed
United_States
14

 
PR3CI5N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E90 M 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Coast


Posts: 1,227
iTrader: (15)

Did you connect the red wire into slot #2 on the green box? If the four connectors are 100% slid in the right way and into the right slots then the red wire is your problem.
__________________
N54
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 06:10 PM   #3
Bimmer305
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Bimmer305's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami


Posts: 282
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PR3CI5N View Post
Did you connect the red wire into slot #2 on the green box? If the four connectors are 100% slid in the right way and into the right slots then the red wire is your problem.
Yeah I triple checked that. The JB4 red wire is connected into the #2 slot and the BMW red wire into the extension of that same wire.

Thanks for your replay
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 06:10 PM   #4
chili36
Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: So.Cal


Posts: 461
iTrader: (1)

Post pics of the sub-connectors.
+1 on the power wire.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 06:19 PM   #5
Bimmer305
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Bimmer305's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami


Posts: 282
iTrader: (1)

Here

Edit: What I found weird is that, when I press Channel + Volume down at the same time, a yellow screen comes on but no menu and if I press channel up and down, the speedometer moves as if it is moving through different menus.

If the JB4 wans't ON, will the car do that normally? I'm trying to figure out if the JB4 unit works at all.
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 06:29 PM   #6
chili36
Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: So.Cal


Posts: 461
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer305 View Post
Here

Edit: What I found weird is that, when I press Channel + Volume down at the same time, a yellow screen comes on but no menu and if I press channel up and down, the speedometer moves as if it is moving through different menus.

If the JB4 wans't ON, will the car do that normally? I'm trying to figure out if the JB4 unit works at all.
Sounds like your JB4 is working fine.
In the last pic it looks like the orange wire might be sliding out.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 06:35 PM   #7
Bimmer305
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Bimmer305's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami


Posts: 282
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chili36 View Post
Sounds like your JB4 is working fine.
In the last pic it looks like the orange wire might be sliding out.
The wire is all the way IN, it is just longer the the connector.

I'm installing JB4 software on my laptop to see if I can see it through the USB.

Thanks for your replies

Edit: Take a look at all this codes. Anything out of the ordinary? Should I delete them all?
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Bimmer305; 07-06-2012 at 06:43 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 06:43 PM   #8
chili36
Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: So.Cal


Posts: 461
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer305 View Post
The wire is all the way IN, it is just longer the the connector.

I'm installing JB4 software on my laptop to see if I can see it through the USB.

Thanks for your replies
The yellow screen is all you will see when you are in command mode. You won't see a "menu"

More info here..
http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10605
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 07:00 PM   #9
Bimmer305
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Bimmer305's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami


Posts: 282
iTrader: (1)

Crap, I uninstalled the JB4 and the it keeps vibrating.

I'm putting it back on an deleting everything and see what happens...
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 07:04 PM   #10
PR3CI5N
need4speed
United_States
14

 
PR3CI5N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E90 M 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Coast


Posts: 1,227
iTrader: (15)

Your JB4 is working if you get the yellow screen and your tach/speed are moving. Memorize the steering wheel controls spreadsheet T has on N54tech. Everything you need to know is in that thread too.
__________________
N54
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 07:04 PM   #11
chili36
Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: So.Cal


Posts: 461
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer305 View Post
Crap, I uninstalled the JB4 and the it keeps vibrating.

I'm putting it back on an deleting everything and see what happens...
Try reloading firmware.

Edit: Actually send those codes to BMS they will get you fixed up in no time.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 07:06 PM   #12
PR3CI5N
need4speed
United_States
14

 
PR3CI5N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 E90 M 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: West Coast


Posts: 1,227
iTrader: (15)

First thing you need to do is delete all the codes. Tach 1 speedo 2 then save (down on volume).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer305 View Post
Crap, I uninstalled the JB4 and the it keeps vibrating.

I'm putting it back on an deleting everything and see what happens...
__________________
N54
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 07:19 PM   #13
Bimmer305
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Bimmer305's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami


Posts: 282
iTrader: (1)

Deleted all the codes, started engine, same vibration.

Service Engine Soon wwent away but I stil have the half yellow engine there, and this is the codes that comes up now.

If I take off the JB4 and and drive it around do you guys think it will go back to normal, or do I have to take it for a check up?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 07:23 PM   #14
chili36
Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: So.Cal


Posts: 461
iTrader: (1)

Put it on map 0(bypass) see if it happens.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 07:54 PM   #15
psmitty95
Brigadier General
United_States
87

 
psmitty95's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 335i xDrive
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greenwich, CT/ Dallas, TX


Posts: 3,650
iTrader: (8)

The other codes seemed like they made sense since you had mixed up the connectors in a while. I did that once and got a bunch of codes but once cleared and restarted got only the regular ones (exhaust fume flap, etc..). I just did a quick google on that code and this is what came up:

http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12329
__________________
< Click picture for photoshoot
E90 335i xDrive 6spd, Nav, Prem, Cold Weather, & Sports package - Msport Conversion
Mods: FBO + Meth JB4 ISO, BB flash, VRSF DP/FMIC, ER CP, Stett, SteveAZ LPFP & more
More Pictures: Build Thread /// Shop I use: Aci Dynamix 408AWHP/ 483AWTQ Uncorrected Mustang Dyno
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 08:13 PM   #16
Bimmer305
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Bimmer305's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami


Posts: 282
iTrader: (1)

I deleted all the codes, unistalled the JB4, putted everything back to normal except the angel eye lights and the CAI.
Started the engine and Service Engine Soon came back on, car vibrates as if it working only on 3 pistons.
I;m thinking it may be some wire that got lose/broken or something, I don't really know.
I'm really frustrated right now so I'm calling it a day, I'll deal with it tomorrow.

Thank you guys for all your help..
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 08:45 PM   #17
chili36
Lieutenant
4

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: So.Cal


Posts: 461
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmer305 View Post
I deleted all the codes, unistalled the JB4, putted everything back to normal except the angel eye lights and the CAI.
Started the engine and Service Engine Soon came back on, car vibrates as if it working only on 3 pistons.
I;m thinking it may be some wire that got lose/broken or something, I don't really know.
I'm really frustrated right now so I'm calling it a day, I'll deal with it tomorrow.

Thank you guys for all your help..
I'm starting to think it has something to do with that CAI install. Make sure you installed the tmap sensor correctly.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 10:35 PM   #18
Bimmer335i07
BK Employee of the month! / Moderator
United_States
230

 
Bimmer335i07's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ...


Posts: 15,801
iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by chili36 View Post
I'm starting to think it has something to do with that CAI install. Make sure you installed the tmap sensor correctly.
+1

It sounds more like something to do with the CAI install. Can you take pics of the CAIs?
__________________

Sponsored by: Pics of the ---> Barbera Beast <---
Martino Auto Concepts (Like them on Facebook MAC) Factory Trained & Authorized by BMW of North America

Matt@Camber-Toe (Like them on Facebook Camber-Toe)
LuxAngelEyes (Like them on Facebook LuxAngelEyes)
LTBMW (Like them on Facebook LTBMW)
OEMconcepts (Like them on Facebook OEMconcepts)
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 11:55 PM   #19
boostaholic786
Lieutenant
5

 
boostaholic786's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 JB4 G5 ISO RB's FBO+40%E85
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: irving tx


Posts: 559
iTrader: (0)

Yea you installed the JB4 in right, judging by your connectors shown and your getting into command mode when it lights up yellow. I would def check your install in your CAI. What CAI is it? Im def thinking its something with the intake and as another member said, your TMAP sensor. Make sure everything is seated and connected including sensors. If those sensors arent connected properly, then the car isnt going to run right. This is properly with your CAI install so double check that. I dont think it has anything to do with your angel eyes haha
__________________
A/W E92 335i M-sport with JB4 G5 ISO/ E40 WEDGE PERFORMANCE BACKEND FLASH, Alpina TCU flash for AT/Switch-tronic +AR Downpipes, Stett gen 1 intake, Wagner-Tuning FMIC+RB Turbo setup/ RB PCV Valve+ Akro exhaust+60% E85/93 mix,+ HRE P40S wheels, KW coilovers, M3 sways,+BMW performance CF Mirrors, BMW Performance CF deck lid spoiler,+ CF interior trim, p3 vent boost gauge,+ LUX angel eyes (11.73@119mph on street tires) NO METH!
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2012, 12:30 AM   #20
xxx_mina
Outlaw
United_States
7

 
Drives: 2010 135i JB3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Miami


Posts: 164
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2010 135I  [0.00]
2007 335i  [0.00]
hey, I live in North Miami and I might be able to help..... pm me
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2012, 10:02 AM   #21
Bimmer305
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Bimmer305's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami


Posts: 282
iTrader: (1)

This morning i checked the TMAP sensor ( i dont know which one is it but i looked at evrry sensor i could see) and they are all connected. CAI is the dual cone from Burger Motors. Which i didnt need to unplug any sensor.


Quote:
Originally Posted by xxx_mina View Post
hey, I live in North Miami and I might be able to help..... pm me
Thank you, but i left Las Olas for the weekend so I'll deal with on Monday.

https://photos-6.dropbox.com/si/xl/m...707_090130.jpg

Last edited by Bimmer305; 07-07-2012 at 10:13 AM.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2012, 02:04 PM   #22
Bimmer305
Second Lieutenant
3

 
Bimmer305's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami


Posts: 282
iTrader: (1)

I found the problem

Turns out it was an ECU pin that got pushed in somehow. (see picture) I pulled it out with some pliers and the magic finally happened.

I'm going for a test drive now. Thank you all for your help.

Edit: Error 2E31
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Bimmer305; 12-06-2012 at 11:29 AM.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST